What oil u using in ur diesel van?

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

Re: What oil u using in ur diesel van?

Postby black start » January 29th, 2015, 2:07 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Which frontier you has?

Has? Has? Has?

Nerve i am disappoint!

Details

Postby Details » January 29th, 2015, 2:45 pm

D22 4x4 zd30 engine

Postby nervewrecker » January 29th, 2015, 6:09 pm

black start wrote:

Has? Has? Has?

Nerve i am disappoint!

I izza Trini.

Anyhew, I'll see if I find out how much I need.

Best place to buy?

Massy said they used the castrol in them. Any other brands I should look at?

Details

Postby Details » January 29th, 2015, 9:37 pm

That's what I used
1422581828977.jpg

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » January 29th, 2015, 9:51 pm

black start wrote:

Has? Has? Has?

Nerve i am disappoint!

I izza Trini.

Anyhew, I'll see if I find out how much I need.

Best place to buy?

Massy said they used the castrol in them. Any other brands I should look at?

Massy is tracmac... They deal castrol. ... :smile:

Postby nervewrecker » January 29th, 2015, 10:11 pm

Thanks details.

Kam, well they did say I open to other options :lol: Used castrol engine oil in my car once upon a time.

liquimolytt

Postby liquimolytt » February 2nd, 2015, 10:54 am

CHECK THIS OUT

FIND THE CORRECT OIL FOR YOUR VEHICLE, visit http://www.liquimolytt.com and use our oil guide.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » February 10th, 2015, 11:30 am

got two gallons of liquid moly oil for the van as a gift Christmas. I have noticed since I change doil 2 weeks ago that on start up white smoke has all but disappeared and scientific measuring of black smoke on pull off by checking rearview mirror at nights with vehicles behind me with lights on shows almost no smoke

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » February 10th, 2015, 6:23 pm

Crix what oil you change from?
What oil you are using now?

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » February 11th, 2015, 10:56 am

was using Valvoline from the blue bucket. doh get me wrong eh the Valvoline worked well with very little burn off during the 5000k timeframe. I am monitoring the liquid moly (grey gallon bottle) to compare.
as long as I doh hadda top up during the month I going with that oil. oil and water is something I never check between services and I believe you never should have to. if you have to then yuh engine eh working properly and you should fix it.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » February 11th, 2015, 12:55 pm

So far comparing with different types of diesel vehicles there is always need to top up oil after a month of everyday use. Then again it depends on what level you want to keep the oil at, I try to keep it on the top of the dip stick mark.

Also depends on how you checking the oil level, cold on mornings or hot.
Different manufactures ask different method. Kia says hot engine let oil settled for 5 mins, but if you heck it cold it's above the top mark...if you check ithow they asks its bellow.
Water you should not have to top up between oil change.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 11th, 2015, 2:11 pm

I put a little more than the full mark on the dipstick. ... the oil filter and the oil passageways in the engine and the turbo all need to fill with oil when the engine is started and running. I believe the full mark on the stick is an indicator so that you don't put so much oil that the crank seals and the crank shaft are not in constant contact with the oil.
My manual recommends 6.9 quarts which actually puts the oil level above the full mark. ...6 quarts will just be at the full mark

rx30

Postby rx30 » February 11th, 2015, 9:16 pm

Hmmm interesting,have a 4x4 BT50 a little over a year old doing 70,000kms usually on the road all day as my job entails a lot of driving,check oil about 3 times a week, due to the fact that the van usually visits a lot of quarries on a weekly basis, I dont want any failures. I use the Gulf Fleetforce 10W-40 fully synthetic run it about 10,000 kms between service with no noticable decrease in oil level. It really stands up well considering our crappy diesel & harsh conditions that the vehicle endures.

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » February 11th, 2015, 9:49 pm

rx30 wrote:Hmmm interesting,have a 4x4 BT50 a little over a year old doing 70,000kms usually on the road all day as my job entails a lot of driving,check oil about 3 times a week, due to the fact that the van usually visits a lot of quarries on a weekly basis, I dont want any failures. I use the Gulf Fleetforce 10W-40 fully synthetic run it about 10,000 kms between service with no noticable decrease in oil level. It really stands up well considering our crappy diesel & harsh conditions that the vehicle endures.

70,000kms in just over a year? I thought I was bad but 50,000km a year looking minor now.

I'm using the Chevron Delo 15W40 from pricesmart with sakura filter for 5000km. My van takes 9 quarts so I have a gallon I usually take a quart from. When thats done I'm switching to the LiquiMoly 15W40 and original filter up to 10,000km.

rx30

Postby rx30 » February 11th, 2015, 9:57 pm

That mileage does not reflect the amount of idling that the van does sometimes. In essence the engine usually runs for about 5-8 hours per day!!! Just hope i dont run into any problems with the head cracking as it is the model with the WL Turbo!!!!

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » February 11th, 2015, 10:28 pm

rx30 wrote:That mileage does not reflect the amount of idling that the van does sometimes. In essence the engine usually runs for about 5-8 hours per day!!! Just hope i dont run into any problems with the head cracking as it is the model with the WL Turbo!!!!

I got some experience with those. Dad's got a B2500 doing over 250.000kms and although he had to change the head at 210,000 it was his slackness. It was overheating and he keot driving it, blaming it on the vehicle's age. It was only after rebuilding and still overheating that he decided to check the rad, which was in bad shape. He just repaired and running like first time, idling for long periods as well. Moral of my story here is keep an eye on ur temp guage like it ur baby. Install a Murphy Unit if tou want. Just keeo thet temp down and you will be ok wrt to the head.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 20th, 2015, 1:42 am

Back to using the chevron Delo 400LE 15W40

@Toyopet
What van do you have that requires 9 quarts of oil.

NR8

Postby NR8 » April 20th, 2015, 9:26 am

How much is the Delo now?

Postby Team Loco » April 20th, 2015, 11:22 am

MadCrix wrote:was using Valvoline from the blue bucket. doh get me wrong eh the Valvoline worked well with very little burn off during the 5000k timeframe. I am monitoring the liquid moly (grey gallon bottle) to compare.
as long as I doh hadda top up during the month I going with that oil. oil and water is something I never check between services and I believe you never should have to. if you have to then yuh engine eh working properly and you should fix it.

thats what we use.
at 500,000kms, yes half a million, i would say valvoline is the best

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » April 20th, 2015, 12:06 pm

Valvoline is a damn good oil so u good to go with it

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 20th, 2015, 11:04 pm

NR8 wrote:How much is the Delo now?

I think it was $130 a gallon

Engine is definitely quieter from the Total quartz 9000 for now...will observe it over the oil change interval. Have used it before....its still among the best oils for the price

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » June 8th, 2015, 9:19 pm

Amsoil all the way

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » June 9th, 2015, 2:41 pm

Team Loco wrote:
MadCrix wrote:was using Valvoline from the blue bucket. doh get me wrong eh the Valvoline worked well with very little burn off during the 5000k timeframe. I am monitoring the liquid moly (grey gallon bottle) to compare.

thats what we use.

Is this the synthetic or non synthetic one?

Thinking about switching to Valvoline

Ultra Lubricants

Postby Ultra Lubricants » July 28th, 2015, 2:08 pm

Try our Ultra Duty 15W-40 API CJ-4/SN, with OEM Approvals from Mack, Cummins, Detroit Diesel, Volvo, Renault and MTU (engines used by the Water Taxi Service).

Also available Ultra Diesel Tec 5W-40 100% Fully Synthetic Heavy Duty Diesel Engine Oil.

Available at NP Service Stations and Spare Part Outlets Nationwide.

Postby Team Loco » July 28th, 2015, 3:31 pm

PariaMan wrote:
Team Loco wrote:

thats what we use.

Is this the synthetic or non synthetic one?

Thinking about switching to Valvoline

non synthetic

liquimolytt

Postby liquimolytt » July 29th, 2015, 11:25 am

Do you know how long Motor Oil takes to pump through your engine on start up?

https://www.facebook.com/liquimolytt/videos/vb.292385317465588/882371351800312/?type=2&theater

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » July 29th, 2015, 9:49 pm

That video is misleading. ... It doesn't even take that long for 20w50 to pump through your engine when cool on startup. A good working engine will have everything pumped within the first 10 secs... even with 20w50.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 2nd, 2015, 10:49 pm

Giving the Shell helix Ultra 5W40 a try. (Probably my most expensive oil change to date)
Purolator is my filter of choice
Also drained and refilled 1 Gallon mobil ATF.

Since the change I have noticed that my oil indicator light on the dashboard takes longer to come off than when i was using the Delo 400LE 15W40.

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » August 3rd, 2015, 8:34 am

kamakazi wrote:Since the change I have noticed that my oil indicator light on the dashboard takes longer to come off than when i was using the Delo 400LE 15W40.

What does this indicate?

Postby DVSTT » August 3rd, 2015, 9:24 am

That's the liqui moly 20w-50 with the MOS2 additive?
They actually sell the additive separately for around $55.00. Always said I'd try it but I never got around to it.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”