What oil u using in ur diesel van?

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Havoc

Re: What oil u using in ur diesel van?

Postby Havoc » October 5th, 2016, 10:19 pm

Btw what u running it in right nw??

Re: RE: Re: What oil u using in ur diesel van?

Postby nervewrecker » October 5th, 2016, 10:21 pm

Calor wrote:Thanks for all the info..i ended up buying a pail of shell R4 by gayah's for $725(think the truck uses 3.5 gallons and a gallon retail was $180)....will definitely call the Valvoline folks Monday..

Doesn't the oil need to be mixed as additives settle out in it? Hence buying a pail and using from it without mixing it up means you not using the full composition?
I don't know, I'm asking.

Always wanted to buy a pail instead of running around helter skelter looking for oil every time I need.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 6th, 2016, 1:24 am

@havoc
Toyota hilux 2.5

@nervewrecker
I have a quart of Mobil one extended performance that took about 8 years before it broke down (well it changed color from Honey to red) so unless you plan on storing it for that long I don't think a whole lot is going to settle out

Havoc

Postby Havoc » October 6th, 2016, 3:23 pm

The previous keg of Gulf I bought 3yrs ago already started separating last I checked so u really hv to give it a gd shake up before using jus to be sure ur getting all the additives in the proper concentrations
A minor inconvenience considering hw much ur saving

Postby nervewrecker » October 9th, 2016, 12:38 pm

Best I buy a pail yes.

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » October 9th, 2016, 1:22 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Best I buy a pail yes.

by purchasing a pail i saved $175 :shock: (or buying 4gals and 1 free)

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » November 16th, 2016, 10:31 pm

Havoc wrote:
pjfred wrote:Amsoil all the way up!!

To each his own

What is the cost of amsoil 15W-40?(premium heavy duty diesel & marine?)

pjfred

Postby pjfred » November 16th, 2016, 10:35 pm

I paid $267 per gallon

pjfred

Postby pjfred » November 16th, 2016, 10:36 pm

I just changed my oil filter at 5000 km

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » November 16th, 2016, 10:54 pm

pjfred wrote:I paid $267 per gallon

where?

Rastajorge

Postby Rastajorge » November 17th, 2016, 12:07 am

schaeffer's 15w 40 is the thing u need,15000km change interval, it's a gas/diesel oil,handles temperature in excess of 150-250 degrees F because of its basestock on 100% pure paraffin rather than mineral oil from the others.guarenteed satisfaction

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » November 17th, 2016, 6:15 am

Rastajorge wrote:schaeffer's 15w 40 is the thing u need,15000km change interval, it's a gas/diesel oil,handles temperature in excess of 150-250 degrees F because of its basestock on 100% pure paraffin rather than mineral oil from the others.guarenteed satisfaction

The fackery in this post is great....

pjfred

Postby pjfred » November 17th, 2016, 6:32 am

There is a guy on Facebook selling amsoil

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » November 17th, 2016, 6:57 am

Lemme translate what Big Z is really trying to say in a diplomatic way :).

Gents, I've seen several of you quoting oil change intervals at every 15 thousand etc. PLEASE understand something, these companies will market their products as such. When referencing mtce intervals, stick to what your vehicle manual says.

I service my truck, cars on point with the manual guidelines and to date have never had any issues.

Your oil is your lifeline.

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » November 17th, 2016, 10:20 am

^^^ You only dealt with one fackery....

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » November 17th, 2016, 10:23 am

Lol

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » November 17th, 2016, 5:36 pm

pjfred wrote:There is a guy on Facebook selling amsoil

can i have the contact info...much thanks

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 18th, 2016, 11:41 am

Rastajorge wrote:schaeffer's 15w 40 is the thing u need,15000km change interval, it's a gas/diesel oil,handles temperature in excess of 150-250 degrees F because of its basestock on 100% pure paraffin rather than mineral oil from the others.guarenteed satisfaction

Almost all properly specced engine oils can handle the range of temps you stated ...even in excess.

Besides the oil... There are other factors that have to be taken into account when extending drain intervals.
Such as
Type of emissions control systems
Type of fuel being burned
Type of driving being done
How much distance covered daily
Type of filtration systems being utilized

So while the oil itself as one component of this system allows for extended drain intervals... Without analysis of the other factors listed... You could potentially harm your engine.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » November 19th, 2016, 7:21 am

Just change oil and components every 5 k and stop trying to extend oil life beyond dat. Having own several vehicles from normal to racing to 4x4 mud hoes...never once have I had to do any repairs on any engine. Your oil is your engines blood.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » November 19th, 2016, 7:22 am

Yall want to save money on de wrong things. Instead of drinking a Friday save dat money for the oil change lol

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » November 19th, 2016, 7:22 am

MadCrix wrote:Just change oil and components every 5 k and stop trying to extend oil life beyond dat. Having own several vehicles from normal to racing to 4x4 mud hoes...never once have I had to do any repairs on any engine. Your oil is your engines blood.

I'm trying to tell these chirren this....

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » November 19th, 2016, 7:24 am

Boy in de evo I change oil before a solo dex event and the day after the event. Mileage done on oil. ... 100k. Doh be cheap engine way more expensive to fix

Havoc

Postby Havoc » November 19th, 2016, 8:52 am

Most oils nwadays, even conventional, can safely be run for more than 5k kms but most ppl change at tht interval because of the other factors kamakazi outlined earlier

I knw a guy who changes the oil in a church panel van every 3-4k kms using fully synthetic oil costing $620/2gal... considering they only do highway running he's def wasting the church's $$$ while slowly killing the environment

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » January 29th, 2017, 11:37 pm

So new API diesel Oil Spec on its way.
PC11 (which covers API CK-4 and API FA-4)

Not sure when we will see it locally...but waiting to give it a go

djvapz

Postby djvapz » March 1st, 2017, 3:46 pm

good day guys I have a kia k2700 I recently decided to stop the company service what engine oil would you recommend to be used?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » March 3rd, 2017, 9:21 pm

If you have a Pricesmart membership... Chevron Delo 400... Whose price keeps increasing... Now at $140 a gallon
If price is not really a problem Shell Rimula R6 synthetic for about 320 a gallon by Laughlin toolstore.
Last edited by kamakazi on March 3rd, 2017, 9:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nervewrecker » March 3rd, 2017, 9:23 pm

Valvoline max life.

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » March 4th, 2017, 6:21 am

kamakazi wrote:@calor
679-0500 is the number I have for the business that I believe are the distributors for Valvoline...I can't remember the name but they are located on the old southern main road. About 5-10 mins heading north from by the heliport in Couva

@shotta and havoc
Still have the Delo, still planning on using it in the future... It's just that the Gulf synthetic was available at a good price
Delo 15w40 in Smartprice has gone up to $130 a US gallon
The Gulf Fleet Force Synth 10w40 works out to $165 a US gallon , which is not that much more for a synthetic. The 20 litre pail was purchased for 860 I think.
It isn't easy to pour from though and the specification is API CF,
which is outdated according to API but is what Toyota (owners manual) recommends.

For almost half the price of what amsoil, shell and Castrol synthetics go for, i can have a synthetic, albeit in a pail.
The gulf appears to pump a bit faster than the Delo and that is all I can really say as I have only run it for 1000km so far.

Did some math... If I extend my drain intervals from 5000km, which I did on Delo, to 6500km on the gulf... It will cost the same...

How is the Gulf oil compared to the delo now?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » March 4th, 2017, 7:16 am

Where you get the gulf

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » March 4th, 2017, 9:36 am

Gulf Fleet Force Synth works pretty well. I can't complain about it except that to get it for that price you have to buy a difficult to pour from pail container. I have since poured all of what remains into gallon containers (from previous oil changes).

The Delo being the cheapest option I have found, will still get my recommendation, but if you find yourself doing a lot of short trips with a lot of starting and you can deal with the container and the oil meets the specs recommended in your owners manual, the fleet Force Synth is a decent option.

I must let you know that the 2.5l engine in the hilux that I use these oils in, is easier on it than other engines; No Particulate filter, no EGR, no catalytic converter and low power output affords me the option of most engine oils.

If you have an EGR or particulate filter STEER CLEAR of the fleet Force Synth. The Delo LE is better suited and other low emission oils are what you should be looking at.

I purchased mine from the Lange in chaguanas but upon request it can be made available at another Lange Branch.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”