AH GOING AN TRY IT!!!

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
HondaHo de 1st

AH GOING AN TRY IT!!!

Postby HondaHo de 1st » December 10th, 2008, 11:31 am

http://www.dieselperformanceproducts.com/

http://www.tonnocover.com/propane_kits/R110B1140CS.html

http://www.fourwheeler.com/techarticles ... index.html

http://www.dieselpro.net/propane_injection.php

Propane isnÂ’t just for camping stoves anymore. Sure, gas engines have been converted to run on propane for a long time, but now kits for turbo diesels are also available. Unlike the gasoline conversion, where the motor runs on LPG only, the setups for diesels inject only a percentage of propane into the air intake tract, leaving the diesel fuel as the staple diet for the motor. Also in contrast to the gas-engine conversions, which are less efficient than when run on gasoline, an LPG-injected diesel produces much more power and gets better mileage. Two kits are now on the market for propane injection.

So what makes a diesel run so much better with some propane mixed into the air? Perhaps the simplest answer is to compare it to nitrous in gas engines. In both cases, the added gas (nitrous/propane) promotes a better burn in the combustion chamber, and both are added only as needed. As Advanced Turbo Systems (ATS) puts it, “Propane acts as a diesel catalyst during combustion. This in turn creates a more complete [burn] of the diesel fuel.”

While playing with nitrous can be a highly volatile game, complete with spectacular engine explosions and more common, boring meltdowns, propane injection in diesels appears to be harmless. Still, the instructions for Bully Dog EngineeringÂ’s kit include pages of warnings, largely pertaining to the rules and regulations of having LPG on board. Yes, propane is certainly a flammable gas, but a properly installed injection kit used in conjunction with common sense is probably a whole lot less dangerous than driving on public roads, no matter what the fuel.

According to ATS, when using a 15 to 20 percent propane mix, mileage can increase by 30 to 40 percent, with overall increases of 15 to 20 percent. Longer distances between diesel fill-ups is therefore a given, but how often the LPG tank needs to be filled obviously depends on its size. It can be bed- or frame-mounted or even take the place of the spare tire.

When Bully Dog tested an early kit on a Bob JenningsÂ’ dyno, we saw significant increases in power. Baseline was a modest 192 hp to the rear tires of a Â’99 PowerStroke, but with the flick of a switch, the output exceeded the capabilities of the dyno. While tire slip fouled the numbers, an impressive 280 hp resulted between 2,200 and 2,700 rpm. Peak torque, as best as we could measure it, was a healthy 668 lb-ft, and there was more in the engine.

Unlike nitrous, propane has some soothing effects on the engine too. ATS’s Torque Pro 2000 kit claims to keep the oil cleaner, produce cooler exhaust gas temperatures (by 5 to 10 percent at identical power levels), and reduce emissions. Similar statements appear in the Bully Dog literature. ATS also says, “…and in most cases, engine life increases significantly due to increased efficiency and reduced engine wear with lower internal engine stresses.”

Installing an LPG injection kit is quite simple, with the possible exception of placing the tank, and certainly seems to have several advantages. At least, as of this writing, we donÂ’t know of any disadvantages, although, depending on whatÂ’s downstream of the engine, some transmission improvements may be in order to match the extra power.

venum

Postby venum » December 10th, 2008, 11:59 am

sweeet

go strong :!:

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » December 10th, 2008, 12:07 pm

Buy one for me too! :twisted: :mrgreen:

Postby Greypatch » December 10th, 2008, 12:15 pm

mave a vid of it as well

HondaHo de 1st

Postby HondaHo de 1st » December 10th, 2008, 12:43 pm

killerhyundai-DET wrote:Buy one for me too! :twisted: :mrgreen:

wait wait wait...................who yuh feel we using as de guinea pig LOLOL

boy we going an try this ting................. *firetruck warranty yes*

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » December 10th, 2008, 2:25 pm

what does a kit cost?

ent the govt say something abt subsidizin "CNG" kits? Does this fall in that bracket?

HondaHo de 1st

Postby HondaHo de 1st » December 10th, 2008, 2:40 pm

Stuckindmud wrote:what does a kit cost?

ent the govt say something abt subsidizin "CNG" kits? Does this fall in that bracket?

OH firetruck AH DUCK RUNNING!!! IT DOES FALL IN THIS BRACKET!!!!

BREDS YUH IS AH BOSS HOSS

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » December 10th, 2008, 3:20 pm

venum wrote:sweeet

go strong :!:

X2 8-)

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » December 10th, 2008, 3:24 pm

HondaHo de 1st wrote:

You mean your warranty! My van isa tbw hoss! I don't have no stinking warranty! Lol

HondaHo de 1st

Postby HondaHo de 1st » December 10th, 2008, 3:47 pm

killerhyundai-DET wrote:
HondaHo de 1st wrote:

You mean your warranty! My van isa tbw hoss! I don't have no stinking warranty! Lol

oho...........so dah mean I is the guinea pig then

*flips thru warranty book about engine exploding from propane injection*

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » December 10th, 2008, 4:04 pm

Nah man I going strong...I was planning to do the intake, exhaust, and intercooler first though.

Postby Team Loco » December 11th, 2008, 6:09 am

Actually I wuz d fuss guinea pig here. But go strong brudda

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » December 18th, 2008, 8:28 am

Where meh propane kit hoss!!!!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Ronnie203

Postby Ronnie203 » December 19th, 2008, 9:05 am

Team Loco wrote:Actually I wuz d fuss guinea pig here. But go strong brudda

so it wuk ???

Re: AH GOING AN TRY IT!!!

Postby nervewrecker » January 23rd, 2015, 8:56 am

So what ever come of this?

stingray316

Postby stingray316 » September 4th, 2016, 2:53 am

Like this chat gone dead? I want to try this now as i have my first diesel vehicle and could do with a lil extra pep.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » September 26th, 2016, 2:10 am

Wes, ive been considering this for quite some time now! im willing to try it!!

stingray316

Postby stingray316 » September 30th, 2016, 5:26 am

First thing i going to have to do is get a boost gauge installed and a boost switch installed on the same tapping point.
Budget is going to be the deciding factor today. (If the diesel subsidy cut.) Its 5.25am, I'm off to work.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”