meh b2500 feelin rell sluggish

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
mrboxman

meh b2500 feelin rell sluggish

Postby mrboxman » January 22nd, 2009, 7:17 pm

i have a b2500 turbo 2.5l

i dont have a boost gauge installed but it feels like boost comes in at about 2500 to 3000 rpm

but to get to that rpm takes forever

the acceleration is very slow and top end is non existant i prolly reach about 130 on a really long stretch

any ideas to what may be the cause of this?

i service fairly regularly and use cetane etc
oh the engine is under 70000 kms

thanks

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » January 22nd, 2009, 8:02 pm

fuel filter , and fuel pump strainer , clean it .. or so i hear from the WL guru`s around :wink:

dlion

Postby dlion » January 22nd, 2009, 8:11 pm

Well,
1. you have to be in the right gear
2. you have to press the accleratr
3. Check your air filter. Diesel needs plenty air
4. Check fuel filter - drain, if lots of water / dregs - replace
5. Water in fuel, emulsion. Drain some liquid from fuel tank to check quality of fuel.
6. Injectors may be plugged - check / clean
7. Carbon on valve seats - loss of comprsn
8. Low fuel pressure - Fuel pump seals leaky / pressure relief valve faulty
9. Any noise? worn or broken rings? Excessive blowby, loss of comprsn in cylinders

bt50

Postby bt50 » January 23rd, 2009, 7:44 am

start by changing fuel /air filters and cleaning strainer. I hope you not adding cetane boost more than the required amount plus i put 2-3 ounces every 2 fill ups.

if you find alot of water in fuel filter as dlion said check fuel tank as well.

mrboxman

Postby mrboxman » January 23rd, 2009, 8:20 am

i changed fuel filter about 2 weeks ago
i put cetane every 3/4 fillups about 2 oz per tank
when i checked the strainer there was no strainer :?

at what rpm is boost supposed to come in ?

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » January 23rd, 2009, 4:41 pm

are u getting any louder-than-normal whistling/hissing sound while accelerating? If so could be an intake leak or blown turbo

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » January 23rd, 2009, 8:24 pm

Mr Boxman, 3stagevtec had some trouble finding the strainer too, start with eliminating the simple stuff first.

he also had agood post on what he did when he was having similar problem,

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... highlight=

3stage - whey yuh !!

mrboxman

Postby mrboxman » January 23rd, 2009, 9:18 pm

no abnormal sounds from the turbo

i checked that post but there definately isnt anything in there i dont know if the previous owner had it cleaned and lost :?

i have had the van for approx 1 3/4 years

i recheked the vaccuum hoses and changed the air filter
i got a little better performance but still sluggish imho

mazdaspeed

Postby mazdaspeed » January 24th, 2009, 12:05 am

how are the injectors for this van cleaned like how dey normally service a fuel injected car? mine is a little sluggish as well but more during the day in d nite it like a tief i guess the weather is a factor there.. :mrgreen:

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » January 24th, 2009, 9:41 am

man say press accelerator yes :rofl:

but seriously, check fuel system thoroughly

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » January 24th, 2009, 12:30 pm

Your fuel pump strainer is clogged. If you dont have a good mechanic who knows about it or where it is, PM me.

4X4 Trinidad

Postby 4X4 Trinidad » January 24th, 2009, 10:13 pm

bleeding freak you are correct .

mrboxman , you can get this problem resolve at our service stations as we specialize in servicing diesel vehicles .

Postby 3stagevtec » January 24th, 2009, 11:29 pm

when my pops bought his own, it was pretty sluggish as well.. got a huge improvement in performance when i changed the fuel filter and even more when i washed out the air filter..

i ran 2 bottles of Cyclo injector cleaner (one after the other) through it as well..

i was never able to find the 2nd strainer though.. seems as though the previous owner didn't want it there.. :?

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » January 25th, 2009, 11:38 pm

3stagevtec wrote:when my pops bought his own, it was pretty sluggish as well.. got a huge improvement in performance when i changed the fuel filter and even more when i washed out the air filter..

i ran 2 bottles of Cyclo injector cleaner (one after the other) through it as well..

i was never able to find the 2nd strainer though.. seems as though the previous owner didn't want it there.. :?

if i ever meet allyuh i will show you where it is...

kinda hard to describe

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » January 26th, 2009, 7:07 pm

In my engine the strainer is in the inlet to the pump, if you remove the hose and fitting you will not even know there is a strainer there, it has a spring keeping it down and you have to use a screwdriver with a magnetic tip to take it out, it can easily be missed.
CD 17 engine.

Sabot

Postby Sabot » January 27th, 2009, 5:43 pm

bleedingfreak wrote:Your fuel pump strainer is clogged. If you dont have a good mechanic who knows about it or where it is, PM me.

What he said ^^^^^^^

mrboxman

Postby mrboxman » March 26th, 2009, 7:56 am

k it wasnt the strainer cuz there wasnt any
took the van to sookhais
rebuilt the fuel pump and replaced the injector tips
van running like new :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » March 26th, 2009, 8:20 am

glad you got sorted then :wink:

Postby 3stagevtec » March 27th, 2009, 2:09 am

mrboxman wrote:k it wasnt the strainer cuz there wasnt any
took the van to sookhais
rebuilt the fuel pump and replaced the injector tips
van running like new :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

you can rebuild those pumps? interesting..

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » March 27th, 2009, 3:17 am

3stagevtec, apparently they have all the internal parts there (brand new, OEM parts). also, the are certified to do the refurb.

Postby equipped2ripp » March 27th, 2009, 3:48 am

they change internal parts like pistons and so on... the pistons wear out after time.

mrboxman, how much did it cost you?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”