Tech Thread - Ford Ranger

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
zaria

Re: Tech Thread - Ford Ranger

Postby zaria » November 21st, 2014, 10:15 am

want to clean my intake on a 2012 ranger doing 30,000km
Any advise?

mariox

Postby mariox » November 21st, 2014, 12:10 pm

rmrunner wrote:
Nixin wrote:Guys what's the recommended fluid for the transfer case and how much is required?
2010 ford ranger 2.5 tdci engine, automatic transmission. Thanks

MERCON V is recommended. You can Use Amsoil ATF(which meets this requirement).

1.3Quarts as stated in the manual.

Hey guys,
How often are you supposed to change this fluid.

TT_CAM

Postby TT_CAM » November 25th, 2014, 11:24 am

tr1ad wrote:Raptor and ranger are two different vehicles, what the user believes he's seeing is the ranger with the similar grill to the raptor.
AFAIK there's only one Raptor here, full factory conversion to RHD and its for sale.(as posted above)
If you've ever seen a Raptor in person, you'd know it's not the same

Ok so its just the grill. Figured as much, thanks for the info.

4CupMan

Postby 4CupMan » December 3rd, 2014, 3:02 pm

Good day guys. I have a 2005 ranger XLT 2.5 and want to do a body lift. Who does this and what will be the cost. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » December 3rd, 2014, 4:08 pm

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » December 5th, 2014, 12:19 pm

contact droppa on this forum

4CupMan

Postby 4CupMan » March 3rd, 2015, 2:41 am

Anyone knows where I can get 4x4 accessories for 2006 ranger?

Postby DVSTT » March 3rd, 2015, 5:41 am

4CupMan wrote:Anyone knows where I can get 4x4 accessories for 2006 ranger?

LV Marketing.

Stark Auto Rentals

Postby Stark Auto Rentals » March 28th, 2015, 8:47 am

Hi guys - 2004 ranger 4x4 WL Engine. Any idea on what gearbox oil to use?

Sabot

Postby Sabot » May 1st, 2015, 8:57 am

Folks the instrument cluster on my 2004 ranger just stopped working. No gauges work whatsoever. Electrician said its fried. Where can I start to look for one of these. Of course the firm is rediculous. They are out of stock and its costing 5500 plus vat plus 4000 to ship it in. Don't know if thats a whole plane they hiring to ship it down or what but that doesn't make no sense. Any options to repair or anywhere I can check for same? ROC and all the places in the bamboo I called seems clueless about this.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » May 1st, 2015, 9:11 am

try fu places
call scrap yards for used ones
good luck hoss

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » May 1st, 2015, 1:14 pm

try ebay yuh might get lucky

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » May 12th, 2015, 9:12 pm

you have to search ebay.co.uk

flesh645

Postby flesh645 » June 13th, 2015, 8:27 pm

Hey guys I'm new here I bought b2500 n hav sum gearbox issues I need to change a synchro washer I was told n wanna giv it a tune up...I'm from south so lookin for somewhere to get it done or some advice

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » June 16th, 2015, 1:17 pm

Oodie couva 678 3880

Postby Team Loco » June 17th, 2015, 6:26 am

I have high quality usa made turbo cartridges for the wl in stock. If anyone interested $3900

flesh645

Postby flesh645 » June 17th, 2015, 10:02 pm

Thanks mad crix will giv him a call n team loco I'll let you know if I need ur help my turbo isn't boosting but trying to get it sorted out

carman12

Postby carman12 » July 1st, 2015, 10:57 pm

Guys, has anyone experienced an increase in engine noise from their 2012 2.2 Ford Ranger XLT. I did my third service in April, after driving occasionally and adding about 4000 km I noticed the engine noise has increased significantly. This was noticed before servicing and immediately after when I collected the van from the firm the van was quieter, smoother and powerful. Now I noticed it's not as powerful and the engine noise is significantly loud. My dad has a Sportero he purchased in 2010 and his van runs quieter than mine and doing over 100,000 km. Any advice or anyone experience anything similar, called the service manager and he told me to come in for a check and they'll determine if anything is wrong but want some advice before I go in.

4CupMan

Postby 4CupMan » July 1st, 2015, 11:08 pm

I have a 2006 ranger.I recently changed my velocity joints because I was hearing the cracking noise in front when turning when the 4 by 4 was engaged. This solved that problem. Now when 4 by 4 engaged and reversing and turning I heard a loud noise not the same as before. I disengaged the 4 by 4 and no noise. This only happens when reversing and is difficult to reverse without hearing that noise. Any thoughts on what I should check?

Thanks tuners.

4CupMan

Postby 4CupMan » July 5th, 2015, 8:41 am

Anyone selling skyjacker shocks for a 2006 ranger?

R. Hertz33

Postby R. Hertz33 » July 31st, 2015, 9:37 pm

Hey guys, I have a 2012 ranger, and I changed by rims again, however I seem to need hub centric rings. The bore on the rim is 108mm and the hub is 93.1mm. Where can I get these to buy. Has anyone here out fuel rims on a 2012? if so where you got it, if you have it at all. The lugs im using are acorn type 60 degree taper. I am not getting any vibration issues but with the combined weight of rim and tyre, I would not like to believe that it is resting solely on the studs. Any help would be greatly appreciated...ASAP.

Call me 384-6916

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » August 3rd, 2015, 12:49 pm

My glow plug relay starting to play the fool, so i'm trying to locate a new one. can anyone guide me as to where i can get one thanks. Its for a 2004/2005 ranger

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » August 4th, 2015, 9:04 am

either the firm or maroods(sp) in marabella

Postby Team Loco » August 4th, 2015, 9:38 am

Marud

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » August 4th, 2015, 9:43 am

yea that lol

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » August 4th, 2015, 3:02 pm

Thanks lol , trying to avoid the firm , will call maruds

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » August 5th, 2015, 3:34 pm

Faiz has it $750

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » August 6th, 2015, 9:45 am

the firm actually very reasonable for most older ranger/b2500 parts
I tend to spend the slight extra and buy original as the price not that much more

Postby Team Loco » August 6th, 2015, 6:48 pm

Anyone knows the price of an oem turbocharger from the firm?

Cooper

Postby Cooper » August 17th, 2015, 8:24 am

Hi Guys, haven't posted in a while but I thought I'd share this with you. I've always purchased my filters from the stealership but decided to change to aftermarket filters for my next oil change. I decided to go with Sakura because they are affordable but was a little concerned when the parts dealer told me that the oil filter cost only $18.00....so I decided to cut it open and compare it to the original Ford/Motocraft filter I get at the stealership.

From what I could see the pleats on the Ford filter was glued together and not crimped like the Sakura, the Ford filter was smaller (had less filter media) than the Sakura and even though the box for the Ford filter stated that there is a 'pressure relief valve' I couldn't find any on the top of the ford filter. (please correct me if I'm wrong on that last one)

One other thing, when I cut open the Sakura it flew apart because of the pressure the main spring at the top of the filter kept on the seal at the bottom....the Ford filter had to be pulled open.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”