Tech Thread - Ford Ranger

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
civic minded

Re: Tech Thread - Ford Ranger

Postby civic minded » March 23rd, 2012, 4:49 pm

^^you get them to come home by u????? impressive!!

i am pretty sure they need to tighten the drain plug - i really don't understand why they keep forgetting to tighten this....

Smurfy1

Postby Smurfy1 » March 23rd, 2012, 5:17 pm

well they came and they took her away from me! he couldnt tell where the oil was coming from so they took it to the service department.

spydafrog

Postby spydafrog » March 24th, 2012, 2:22 pm

Driving 2010 3L Auto:

Are these the Oils in use? Any benefits over the higher priced Amsoil vs the Total that the firm is using?

TOTAL:
http://i41.tinypic.com/1zv93ja.jpg

AMSOIL:
http://i41.tinypic.com/34s57ox.jpg

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » March 26th, 2012, 4:14 pm

I've used both - can't really tell a difference.

What you have to do is your own reading etc, and see after significant mileage what oil holds up.
When I did that 2 years ago, Amsoil seemed to have always been infront of any other, so I've been using that ever since.

The firm made the switch from Amsoil to Total in 2009/10 I think and they used it twice in my Ranger before I started carrying the Amsoil.

My Ranger approaching 50,000Km and it pulls just as the day I bought it. Doesnt smoke at all.
Amsoil 15w40 - Your van should take around 7 - 8 quarts.
If you buy by the case, you have half (4 quarts) for your next change.

mariox

Postby mariox » March 26th, 2012, 4:31 pm

Hey guys,
Who are the agents for amsoil. i have to take my baby in for her service
next week.
thanks

mariox

Postby mariox » March 26th, 2012, 4:32 pm

Hey guys,
next week.
thanks

civic minded

Postby civic minded » March 26th, 2012, 5:30 pm

you can get amsoil almost anywhere - in south i know most of the places on cipero st.

in chaguanas- there is a tuner that has his place on montrose upstairs Priyas.

in POS i think you can get at car boutique in st james

mariox

Postby mariox » March 26th, 2012, 5:40 pm

Thanks c/minded

dark_lightning108

Postby dark_lightning108 » March 26th, 2012, 11:50 pm

hey i got a 2001 ranger 2wd and im gonna change the gearbox oil and diff oil but im unsure about what weight oil to use and also the amount. any help will be much appreciated. also allyuh know where i cud get pressure plate, r/bearing and clutch disc minus the buss pocket price???

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » March 27th, 2012, 12:26 am

manual transmission oil gl-4 or gl-5 75w90 or 80w90 2.8L (2.9 quarts)
diff oil if is with lsd gl-6 (sae 90) without lsd gl-5 (sae 90) 1.4 L (1.4 quarts)
if you up north check Jurawan Auto Spare Parts Four Rds D/Martin
868-637-3324

Cooper

Postby Cooper » March 27th, 2012, 7:35 am

mariox wrote:Hey guys,
next week.
thanks

You can also call ProLube Ltd.
663-6110

...just tell them what area you live in and they will direct you to the nearest dealer.

mariox

Postby mariox » March 27th, 2012, 7:46 am

Great. thanks Cooper

spydafrog

Postby spydafrog » March 27th, 2012, 11:48 am

Cheers.

mariox

Postby mariox » March 28th, 2012, 11:45 am

Cooper wrote:
next week.
thanks

You can also call ProLube Ltd.
663-6110

...just tell them what area you live in and they will direct you to the nearest dealer.

Hey,
I spoke to Tony at Pro lube, he told me Mc Enearney has amsoil, all you have to do is request it. He seemed reluctant to sell to me directly but gave me the name of a dealer in my area. he also mentioned that he has an amsoil filter which will last the life of the oil, 20,000km. has anyone used the amsoil filter, any feedback.

thanks

dark_lightning108

Postby dark_lightning108 » March 28th, 2012, 1:50 pm

trinibajan34 wrote:manual transmission oil gl-4 or gl-5 75w90 or 80w90 2.8L (2.9 quarts)
diff oil if is with lsd gl-6 (sae 90) without lsd gl-5 (sae 90) 1.4 L (1.4 quarts)
if you up north check Jurawan Auto Spare Parts Four Rds D/Martin
868-637-3324

thanks for the info man. gonna change those oils, piston and rubbers for clutch master and slave cylinder and possibly clutch disc, r/bearing and pressure plate. i'll decide on changing all the suspension bushings when im under the van and see what they looking like.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » March 28th, 2012, 2:04 pm

no scene

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 2nd, 2012, 5:00 pm

just heard that you need a Heavy T licence if you want to buy the new RANGER!

spydafrog

Postby spydafrog » April 2nd, 2012, 9:00 pm

yeah that makes sense...

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » April 2nd, 2012, 9:36 pm

next week.
thanks

You can get Amsoil from me in Princes Town, at State of the Art Automotive in Chaguanas or via delivery... I'm in POS alot.

mariox

Postby mariox » April 3rd, 2012, 6:58 am

Big Z wrote:
next week.
thanks

You can get Amsoil from me in Princes Town, at State of the Art Automotive in Chaguanas or via delivery... I'm in POS alot.

Thanks Big Z, whats the cost per gallon, I believe I need 2 gallons.
Do you also have the amsoil filter for the 2011 ranger.
I am in Curepe and will be servicing van in POS
thanks.

Mario
310-2023

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » April 3rd, 2012, 8:02 am

Please click here for pricing
I'm hoping to have stock of Amsoil filters this week. The Royal Purple filter is available though.

civic minded

Tech Thread - Ford Ranger

Postby civic minded » April 4th, 2012, 8:59 am

So -I am in the firm right now - was getting a vibration and noise from the rear axles , my van is doing 68k and got scared that the differentials need changing. Thankgod it was the cross needed changing and the diff is fine .
When you van does 30k you need to change the diff oil, forget what anyone says , change the oil!!
I am making them do this. The service manage told me that the diff is still under warranty and I shouldn't worry.

---
I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=10.278879,-61.454894

eyeballz

Postby eyeballz » April 13th, 2012, 11:24 pm

fellas, ah looking for ah exhaust manifold for the 2007 ranger (turbo). meh fingers crossed thaz all that mash up.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 14th, 2012, 9:31 am

how u mash up a manifold dan?

eyeballz

Postby eyeballz » April 14th, 2012, 10:35 am

Idk nah, is meh brother that really looking for that. he press this morning and say the head gasket gone too. But parts beeatch. So he might need rings etc.

bas

Postby bas » April 14th, 2012, 7:56 pm

how to install power locks in the 2008 ranger

medalist

Postby medalist » April 15th, 2012, 7:10 pm

bas wrote:how to install power locks in the 2008 ranger

simple alarm install should do the trick.

bas

Postby bas » April 15th, 2012, 8:27 pm

It has an alarm but no power lock motor

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 15th, 2012, 11:02 pm

go to sound and security experience in Valpark.. they selll the entire door lock actuator kit... its universal... they will install it for you and all.. i paid $500 for it when i bought mine.. i installed myself.. but its pretty complicated.. so have them install it for u...

spydafrog

Postby spydafrog » April 16th, 2012, 11:30 pm

Amsoil 15W-40 Premium Heavy Duty Diesel & MARINE....

can we use that in our trucks? what defines a marine oil! ?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”