Tech Thread - Nissan Frontier, Navara, Pathfinder.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 25th, 2009, 7:42 am

^ who did it/ and the cost and the time taken to do it
pm me the number please

Postby Greypatch » May 25th, 2009, 11:29 am

so as for the alge-X is only biggy running it...

ray, aaron and junki how much miles alluh have on dem van now ?

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 25th, 2009, 11:36 am

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » May 25th, 2009, 3:59 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:^ who did it/ and the cost and the time taken to do it
pm me the number please

my personal mechanic did it; cost was small money. took all of 2 hours to do

Vijay 752-3667 or 682-0020

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 25th, 2009, 4:17 pm

where is he located? he work on sundays?lol

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » May 25th, 2009, 4:36 pm

he is from Palmyra. dunno bout the Sundays bit. call him and say Adrian referred you to him (not your bro eh LOL)

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 25th, 2009, 4:48 pm

haha scene u had me wondering...

Amit

Postby Amit » May 25th, 2009, 8:09 pm

no squeaking on mines yet

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » May 26th, 2009, 7:37 am

as at this am... 26,473km and no more squeeking since. :)

Postby Greypatch » May 26th, 2009, 7:52 am

and no alge x

will have to do the grease and locktite

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » May 26th, 2009, 10:20 am

no i never used that alge x... no special reason.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » May 26th, 2009, 1:54 pm

ray786 wrote:no i never used that alge x... no special reason.

and pray that it stays that way :neutral:

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » May 27th, 2009, 7:49 am

^^ LOL we will c how it goes... :)

bredder78

Postby bredder78 » May 29th, 2009, 5:46 pm

Hey Nav guys, my old man just bought his very basic 2-dr(4x2) Nav and he wants to put on some bigger tyres(will also want to change the rims too but not necessarily bigger ones though, he's not into 20" and 22" he just wants the bigger tyres look :D ), you guys have any suggestions or tips. This will be highly appreciated and all info will be welcomed. Thanks in advance.

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 30th, 2009, 10:26 am

^ i have a set of the 4x4 rims and tires for sale..brand new..as soon as the van came out the showroom it went to mileage mack to change... 7998800 or 6818272

bredder78

Tech thread Navara specific

Postby bredder78 » May 31st, 2009, 12:06 pm

Aaron 2NR: PM sent.

Anyone else has any advice to offer?

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 1st, 2009, 9:19 am

just an update...

went in massy on friday and spoke to the service manager about the squeaking problem....i have an appointment for tomorrow for them to locktight...re-grease and check over entire suspension and all bolt on under carriage of vehicle....

they had similar problems with a couple in the past week....ill give an update tomorrow afternoon when i collect the vehicle.....

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » June 1st, 2009, 9:55 am

^^ i will be curious to know the cost of that service, Aaron.

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 1st, 2009, 10:01 am

told its under warranty and it would be done for free....i carried in the van last couple months for a noise i was getting and it was done for free

Postby Greypatch » June 1st, 2009, 11:00 am

why dem checking the suspension..dais not the source of the problem...

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » June 1st, 2009, 2:28 pm

^^ to give the average joe the impression is 'real wuck' involved but we know better, doh worry they will at least look at it.... :)

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » June 1st, 2009, 2:29 pm

Also the first thing ppl quick to say when they hear a complaint abt 'squeeking noises' is suspension...

:? :?

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 1st, 2009, 2:43 pm

ray786, well i spoke to the service manager who i know personally.....
the fella at the desk was telling me some crap about i need to underwash @ least once a mth and that should fix the noise..then i asked for the manager

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » June 2nd, 2009, 7:48 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:ray786, well i spoke to the service manager who i know personally.....
the fella at the desk was telling me some crap about i need to underwash @ least once a mth and that should fix the noise..then i asked for the manager

u c what i talkin about!! but is good u have a personal contact, that i found to be the only way to get exactly what u want done.

:wink:

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 2nd, 2009, 8:13 am

okay just spoke to the service manager, the back squeaking noise is the spring insulators, that prevent the springs from meeting each other, and they have none in stock, so i have to wait 4-6 weeks for that to be changed...
the front noise is still being diagnosed.....

Postby Greypatch » June 2nd, 2009, 8:37 am

aaron

this is what ray had to say

Also the 'leaf springs' at the back and front end's between each 'lift' is a piece of 'plastic' i suggest you go in a machine shop, and get teflon ones made... you will need 4 for each side... and replace the plastic one the van came with, this will reduce/eliminate most of the suspension noise you may/may not be hearing...

The teflon should be tapered to one end, it should be a square, 3" x 2" tapered from abt 2" to one end, the non tapered end should be 5mm thick and the tapered end should be abt 3mm.

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 2nd, 2009, 9:13 am

yea i saw that....let massy change it since it under warranty lol...if the noise return ill do it then...

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 3rd, 2009, 7:04 am

Got back the truck last night....no noise up to this morning..lol...the service guy told me the noise may return until the insulators are changed and that should be in july sometime....if i could get a sample of what the insulators look like i would get them made outta teflon....

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » June 4th, 2009, 9:18 am

^^ If you up in de east ne time give me a holla and i will direct you to the machine shop that made mine.

If you perfer to wait till the warranty is up, in the mean time as a 'quick fix' you can under wash and shock oil spray, however with the current amounts fo rain, i am not sure how long that will alleviate the noise.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » June 4th, 2009, 1:56 pm

ray786, how far east bro :?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”