Tech Thread - Nissan Frontier, Navara, Pathfinder.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
cornfused

Re: Tech Thread - Nissan Frontier, Navara, Pathfinder.

Postby cornfused » February 12th, 2017, 2:44 pm

Immobilizer issue was determined by Neal and Massey .

Postby Kenjo » April 9th, 2017, 12:38 am

Anyone changed out their radiator and where did you get a replacement ? Have a small crack near where the overflow bottle piping connects to the main radiator

Postby sMASH » April 9th, 2017, 1:42 pm

Is it plastic or metal?
If is metal let them fellas brass it back.
If is plastic, go by any reputable radiator shop and fit a 3 core.

Postby Kenjo » April 10th, 2017, 9:29 am

Plastic , any suggestions for radiator shops ?

Postby Ted_v2 » April 10th, 2017, 2:23 pm

Google it. I kid you not. Got 3 numbers recently in south. All prices were more or less same. If automatic go with a external oil cooler one time. Hayden makes a good cooler for cheap.
B&m for pips

Postby Kenjo » May 7th, 2017, 1:48 pm

Got a radiator installed by my mechanic at a decent priced. Plastic sourced from the place on the box. This will help anyone else who may be trying to source

shivadm

Postby shivadm » June 8th, 2017, 4:02 pm

Hey all, I would appreciate some assistance if possible.
I bought my nav from maska in 2012. It worked fine until started smoking a lot. Thanks to this and other websites, I put in the egr blanking plate. This was in 2015, the vehicle was working perfectly since.
On Saturday after driving about for an hour or so, my vehicle just lost all power. I reset the ecu as this used to help when I was getting the egr problems. It did not help this time. The vehicle was idling fine, however, whenever I tried accelerating there was no power and lots of white smoke. After calling my mechanic, he recommended that I drain the fuel filter, this also did not help.
I drove the vehicle at about 35km/hr to my mechanic, barely making it over Chaguanas flyover. Under the assumption of poor fuel, he emptied and cleaned the tank, changed the filter and ran the liquimoly treatment through the system. He also checked the turbo, maf sensor etc for any problems.
Now, he took the vehicle for a run, between 1000-2500 rpm there was still little to no power until the turbo kicked in. Also, there was lots of black smoke ( no longer white). A diagnostic was run on the vehicle with no error code. The diagnostic guy raised and lowered the fuel pressure (I think) and they noticed a knocking along with the other problems mentioned. It was then suggested that I get the injectors serviced. I collected the injectors from the guys who serviced them (close to morvant junction), only to be told that the injectors are good. I am therefore assuming that when my mechanic puts them back in this evening that the problems will still persist.
Any suggestions are welcomed.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » June 8th, 2017, 4:34 pm

Could it be the suction control valve on the pump... BTW...I am guessing out my arse but I am reading similar symptoms.

Postby Kenjo » June 11th, 2017, 2:52 pm

Did they check your transmission also ? Look up the different causes of limp mode in the Navara

Preludeman1

Postby Preludeman1 » June 13th, 2017, 10:53 pm

Hey fellas,

I was under the D40 Nav today and saw what looked like some shoddy welding where the back of the leaf spring is connected to the chassis. Two questions:

1) does anyonewith a nav remember seeing this connection? (leaf spring to chassis)
2) do these welds look even safe?? Van is 2 years old but am contemplating going in to massy tomorrow.
IMG_6739.JPG
IMG_6738.JPG

Preludeman1

Postby Preludeman1 » June 16th, 2017, 10:28 am

Went to massy and they said that some of the 4X2 models have the welded bracket to hold the rear support for the springs. They even showed me two 4X2's that had the exact same. So all good!

Cheddar

Postby Cheddar » July 15th, 2017, 8:52 am

Looking for some recommendations for front disc pads for Nissan Navara D40. What you all using and where has good prices. Thanks.

basudai

Postby basudai » July 18th, 2017, 2:47 pm

Guys,

Need some assistance.

I have a 2008 automatic 4x4 navara. The problem i am getting is that the fifth gear will not engage. The code read is P0744 A/T TCC S/V FNCTN. I had a transmission specialist (Jai) check the TCM and the solenoids. He even switch the valve body and the issue is still there. Can anyone help me figure this out??? :cry:

ADONI

Postby ADONI » July 21st, 2017, 2:55 pm

Wah Jai say after you still having problems? Yuh google the error or?
What Jai did there, maybe be a simple troubleshoot. After this you may have to do a tear down and rebuild.

K_Ali

Postby K_Ali » September 15th, 2017, 11:39 pm

Does anyone know if a D22 Frontier YD25 2 Wheel Drive Gearbox will mount unto a ZD30 Engine ?

grmmjow6

Postby grmmjow6 » September 26th, 2017, 12:10 pm

My Clutch pedal return spring broke.. anyone know where i can get this

Avinash094

Postby Avinash094 » January 8th, 2018, 6:07 pm

What can be causing navara d40 turbo hot pipe to melt from inside the piece before the silicone piping
I recently bought the van and decided to check the piping and saw this
Van works good btwImageImage
Last edited by Avinash094 on January 8th, 2018, 6:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Ted_v2 » January 8th, 2018, 7:04 pm

Yikes

BUSHMASTER

Tech Thread - Nissan Frontier, Navara, Pathfinder.

Postby BUSHMASTER » January 29th, 2018, 11:11 pm

Goodnight by chance any1 know where I cud get the drive (bendix)for the starter for a qd32

Postby Ted_v2 » January 30th, 2018, 3:08 pm

Check any reputable starter repair persons. I know one of the best in south. 5 mins off golconda

BUSHMASTER

Postby BUSHMASTER » January 30th, 2018, 9:22 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Check any reputable starter repair persons. I know one of the best in south. 5 mins off golconda

U know of the prices

Postby Ted_v2 » January 31st, 2018, 10:10 am

Should be around 200. Not much.

BUSHMASTER

Postby BUSHMASTER » January 31st, 2018, 11:52 am

Ted_v2 wrote:Should be around 200. Not much.

Oki tnx man
By which part in golconda

Postby DVSTT » February 3rd, 2018, 7:15 pm

My apologies for hijacking the post guys
I have a pair of led projector fog lights woth DRL for sale that fit bolt on for the Navara, Vitara, swift and swift sport.

$1200 a pair

466-2025

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=721124&p=9688226#p9688226

Postby streetbeastINC. » February 6th, 2018, 10:10 pm

New navara owner doing 90,000km.....auto

Postby Ted_v2 » February 7th, 2018, 3:13 pm

Brace for a 100,000km service. Thermostat. Two belts and possibly the alternator clutch. Usually the clutches go around that milage. Trans service should be done at 80k.

Postby streetbeastINC. » February 11th, 2018, 11:32 am

Belts in good order changing engine tranny oil and checking all diff and cases on monday...........lol why you say brace???? Once the engine doesn't have an annoying timing fkn belt or two....i am happppppy

Postby Ted_v2 » February 12th, 2018, 9:16 am

Nuh really a expensive thing but you need to spend a bit of money.

navaras are excellent vehicles, i have seen problems range from turbo failures, alternator clutches, blower motor failures all are easily fixed. great vehicle vs a used bt50/ranger.

Postby streetbeastINC. » February 13th, 2018, 11:30 pm

.alternator clutch where do i get that to purchse

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » February 14th, 2018, 3:18 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Nuh really a expensive thing but you need to spend a bit of money.

navaras are excellent vehicles, i have seen problems range from turbo failures, alternator clutches, blower motor failures all are easily fixed. great vehicle vs a used bt50/ranger.

U know anyone who could do a scan and check my injector flow rates for me?? Got some bad diesel and the van hasn't been the same since

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”