TECH Thread - MITSUBISHI L200, Sportero, Triton.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
ingenic89

Re: TECH Thread - MITSUBISHI L200, Sportero, Triton.

Postby ingenic89 » September 9th, 2012, 12:41 am

Hey guys, i recently bought myself my 1st vehicle a k74 L200- TBO series, the van is in immaculate condition 4 being 9 years old. My major issue is a hard start every morning, and was told it was the glow plugs, I called DM and the price they quoted was $687 for one glow plug!... I then proceeded to call Simpson Motors in Barbados, the price they quoted was 90 BDS for one (approx. 288 TTD). It really shows how ridculous DM prices can sometimes be! but my question is.... is it wise to buy from simpson motors? what method of shipment should i use? i was asked by the CSR if i wanted Liat quik pak, DHL or Fedex... what is best? and would it really be cost effective in the end after shipment & duties etc?

Postby DVSTT » September 9th, 2012, 9:15 am

DVSTT wrote:Venum, the fog light switch in a 3.2 Sportero doesn't work properly, sometimes it does, sometimes it doesn't. Any idea what this could be?

venum

Postby venum » September 10th, 2012, 7:22 pm

ingenic89 wrote:but my question is.... is it wise to buy from simpson motors?

I usually buy my parts from Simpson

check FilterzPro as well as he has some good parts

and thaz teh best model L200 eva

DVSTT wrote:
DVSTT wrote:Venum, the fog light switch in a 3.2 Sportero doesn't work properly, sometimes it does, sometimes it doesn't. Any idea what this could be?

Yes, the switch uses ground-switching for teh relays and sometimes the very thin wiring inside teh steering column gets slack

call Anil Sooknanan
737-2330 | 396-1036
he sorted out mine

Postby DVSTT » September 10th, 2012, 10:04 pm

venum wrote:
ingenic89 wrote:but my question is.... is it wise to buy from simpson motors?

I usually buy my parts from Simpson

check FilterzPro as well as he has some good parts

and thaz teh best model L200 eva

DVSTT wrote:

Yes, the switch uses ground-switching for teh relays and sometimes the very thin wiring inside teh steering column gets slack

call Anil Sooknanan
737-2330 | 396-1036
he sorted out mine

Ok, thanks dude! will check it out

venum

Postby venum » September 17th, 2012, 9:00 pm

guys, anyone know of anyone who did a 4M40T on a 2.5L gearbox :?:

i had teh pleasure of seeing one of teh rare and discreet K77 locally (specially ordered for customer by DM)

it had a 4m40 N/A with the gearbox

i am wondering if the pajero 4M40T would fit on a K74 turbo or n/a geabox

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » September 17th, 2012, 10:25 pm

pics of K77?? :D

venum

Postby venum » September 18th, 2012, 11:58 pm

sorry, was at nite

but it looked exactly like a n/a K74

u can't tell any difference from the xterior

owned by company wife works for

a field vehicle that does field work

lsd front and rear

it sees it's fair share of off-road

does sooo well offroad they have it on 20" crims and street tyres . . . in the mud and rivver etc

Postby 0001 » September 22nd, 2012, 9:27 pm

guys u kno any good ac places south? my sportero like the ac freezin up.........

1 min it working normal ..........nex min hot air..........when i take it off for a 2mins and put it bac on it working normal

i need someone to check it out for me...........so if u guys kno any good / reasonable places

venum

Postby venum » September 23rd, 2012, 12:13 am

KING KOOL

Postby 0001 » September 23rd, 2012, 10:48 pm

u said king kool but that is in north.....any branch in south? or is there any other place?

Postby DVSTT » September 24th, 2012, 7:40 am

0001 wrote:u said king kool but that is in north.....any branch in south? or is there any other place?

DM has a technician that checks them but he only works during the week, if you go by anyone else you risk voiding the warranty

venum

Postby venum » September 24th, 2012, 7:02 pm

DVSTT wrote:
0001 wrote:u said king kool but that is in north.....any branch in south? or is there any other place?

DM has a technician that checks them but he only works during the week, if you go by anyone else you risk voiding the warranty

if it on warranty then take it back to DM

i interpreted your request as if u didn't have any warranty left, cuz why elase would u be looking around for someone other than DM

i am from south, but i don't know nay good A/C guys in south. i am sure there are, but I just done't know them

King Kool is in barataria and worth the drive up

Postby 0001 » September 25th, 2012, 12:11 pm

nope the van is not on warranty.........

i will take the drive up ....but can anyone give me some directions so i will be familiar about where i am going?

Postby ronsin1 » September 25th, 2012, 5:47 pm

Temp Tec on Drayton street in San Fernando and there is a Guy in Whiteland I think it is Cool Cars

venum

Postby venum » September 25th, 2012, 7:26 pm

0001 wrote:nope the van is not on warranty.........

i will take the drive up ....but can anyone give me some directions so i will be familiar about where i am going?

dude, open the telephone directory and call them for directions

or just call Jason @ 674-3653
Last edited by venum on October 10th, 2012, 11:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

bagoking

Postby bagoking » September 27th, 2012, 3:09 pm

Hey guys. I need the complete AC system for my K64 excluding the blower. I cant afford to buy it brand new so second hand or foreign used is what im aiming for. Know anyone?

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » September 28th, 2012, 11:07 am

Does anyone have a K14 4d56 gearbox 2wd lying around for sale?

Or can point me in the direction where has one.

Or rebuild kit for the 4x2 gearbox.

Or complete transmission conversion?

thanks a lot

venum

Postby venum » October 5th, 2012, 12:42 am

been to the firm yesterday to get some parts for my wife's car and i checked out some of the new fully loaded 4x2 high rider long beds

looked ok

won't trade my '07 for one though

4x2 auto and the interior is the new interior with the basic A/C controls

Val

Postby Val » October 6th, 2012, 9:28 am

Just thought I'd share some part prices:

ROC in Bamboo:

OEM Mitsubishi 3.2 Sportero parts (VAT Exclusive):

123A046 Oil Filter - $135.00
15001098 Air Filter- $175.00
4605A284 T Brake Pad pair - $795.00
MN102276 T Front brake rotor (each) - $1150.00

From Mitsubishi Motors Thailand.

Currently paying $300 per gallon of Amsoil Heavy Duty 15W40, if anyone knows where I can get it cheaper, let me know.

venum

Postby venum » October 6th, 2012, 12:45 pm

^^^ good info

Val wrote:Currently paying $300 per gallon of Amsoil Heavy Duty 15W40, if anyone knows where I can get it cheaper, let me know.

that is teh same price i pay for it

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » October 6th, 2012, 4:08 pm

Val wrote:Currently paying $300 per gallon of Amsoil Heavy Duty 15W40, if anyone knows where I can get it cheaper, let me know.

Check here

acmilan11

Postby acmilan11 » October 6th, 2012, 8:16 pm

venum wrote:been to the firm yesterday to get some parts for my wife's car and i checked out some of the new fully loaded 4x2 high rider long beds

looked ok

Did you manage to see the new high power 2.5 4x4 tip tronic automatic with 17" wheels..goes for $269k

venum

Postby venum » October 6th, 2012, 10:39 pm

^^^ yes i did

saw that last time i was there

those are still the nicer ones

teh long bed i think is high output as well, but in 4x2

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » October 7th, 2012, 3:20 pm

acmilan11 wrote:
venum wrote:been to the firm yesterday to get some parts for my wife's car and i checked out some of the new fully loaded 4x2 high rider long beds

looked ok

Did you manage to see the new high power 2.5 4x4 tip tronic automatic with 17" wheels..goes for $269k

I got one of these parked in the driveway (the new high power 2.5 4x4 tip tronic automatic with 17" wheels). Its the moms vehicle but I borrow it ever so often. IMO its the best truck out right now.
What was the reason for discontinuing the sunroof though?

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » October 7th, 2012, 5:44 pm

Toyopet wrote:
acmilan11 wrote:

looked ok

I got one of these parked in the driveway (the new high power 2.5 4x4 tip tronic automatic with 17" wheels). Its the moms vehicle but I borrow it ever so often. IMO its the best truck out right now.

because we're in a "take wha yuh get and like it" market :x :lol: That's gone and in its place is the power window in the rear glass like the old 3.2L. I'm sure we'll get a sunroof model when this generation L200 is getting ready to come to an end. A sunroof is a weird thing for me though, it's one of those things I seldom use, but yet when I jump in a vehicle without it, I miss it :? :lol: Oh, and I too was also told that the longer tray model only comes in 4x2 :x
In more pressing news, I've noticed with our sportero that the steering feels strangely notchy; even when parked and switched off, there's slight play. I'll have have it looked at soon, but could anyone at least let me know what to expect to change/ repair :?:

Postby DVSTT » October 7th, 2012, 6:00 pm

tourniquet wrote:
Toyopet wrote:
acmilan11 wrote:

looked ok

because we're in a "take wha yuh get and like it" market :x :lol: That's gone and in its place is the power window in the rear glass like the old 3.2L. I'm sure we'll get a sunroof model when this generation L200 is getting ready to come to an end. A sunroof is a weird thing for me though, it's one of those things I seldom use, but yet when I jump in a vehicle without it, I miss it :? :lol: Oh, and I too was also told that the longer tray model only comes in 4x2 :x
In more pressing news, I've noticed with our sportero that the steering feels strangely notchy; even when parked and switched off, there's slight play. I'll have have it looked at soon, but could anyone at least let me know what to expect to change/ repair :?:

The 3.2l has sunroof and the back glass goes down. What's the power increase over the 3.2 though?

venum

Postby venum » October 7th, 2012, 6:30 pm

I hate that rear windshield window

it robs storage space behind the rear seatback

I don't have it thank God

I have a sub box with 2 x 8" Kickers, my wheel spanner and jack, a bag of cargo straps, a mag light and a 2 foot DC work light in mine

i think they stop bringing the 3.2L

sorry guys but I won't buy a new long bed over the 4x4 short bed

i like my sunroof, great fro evening and early morning drives

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » October 7th, 2012, 9:02 pm

venum wrote:I hate that rear windshield window

I have a sub box with 2 x 8" Kickers, my wheel spanner and jack, a bag of cargo straps, a mag light and a 2 foot DC work light in mine

I don't mind the rear windshield window, its kind of convenient when you have a cooler in the tray.

I don't see my old lady putting in a box there, the only change to the truck may be some rims and MT tyres. I was really looking forward to the sunroof though :x

I've never driven the 3.2L so I can't compare the power but if anyone has the numbers feel free to share here plz. They did stop bringing the 3.2 in DM, although I don't know if any of the roro places still have the Triton

Postby ronsin1 » October 8th, 2012, 6:14 am

Toyopet wrote:
venum wrote:I hate that rear windshield window

I don't mind the rear windshield window, its kind of convenient when you have a cooler in the tray.

I don't see my old lady putting in a box there, the only change to the truck may be some rims and MT tyres. I was really looking forward to the sunroof though :x

I've never driven the 3.2L so I can't compare the power but if anyone has the numbers feel free to share here plz. They did stop bringing the 3.2 in DM, although I don't know if any of the roro places still have the Triton

Mine has the rear window and I don't use it I could really do with the little extra space

bagoking

Postby bagoking » October 10th, 2012, 6:55 pm

Hey guys. I need the complete AC system for my K64 excluding the blower. I have a 4D56 aspirated engine and the rain is really killing me guys. I cant afford to buy it brand new so second hand or foreign used is what im aiming for. Know anyone? Pleasee help me.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”