TECH Thread - MITSUBISHI L200, Sportero, Triton.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
nismaniac

Re: TECH Thread - MITSUBISHI L200, Sportero, Triton.

Postby nismaniac » January 18th, 2016, 4:39 pm

I have a 2011 model and was thinking to change just belts and tensioner this time and Im thinking 4k is a lot for these belts. I'll be checking around for parts tomorrow.

Postby ronsin1 » January 19th, 2016, 6:02 am

nismaniac wrote:I have a 2011 model and was thinking to change just belts and tensioner this time and Im thinking 4k is a lot for these belts. I'll be checking around for parts tomorrow.

you need to change the balancer belt and pulley as well

if you don't you will end up with that belt slipping and hitting the Timing belt and its bye bye engine

buy the entire timing kit check ROC in the Bamboo or Maruds in Marabella.

nismaniac

Postby nismaniac » January 19th, 2016, 7:01 am

ok Ill be heading to Maruds first

nismaniac

Postby nismaniac » January 19th, 2016, 10:40 am

update ,no one sells a kit. ansa parts 6774.65 plus 2520.00 labour + vat. Faiz toyo timing belt 150.00 and orig balancer belt 620.00 2 tensioners 1175 and 740.00 and 4 seals t/cover 300.00.
Maruds
timing belt 600.00
balance shaft belt(gates) 150.00
idle tensioner 395.00 x 3
hydraulic tensioner 1195.00
balance shaft tensioner 195.00
various seals 500.00
everything original except balance shaft belt

any comments on the toyo timing belt for 150 from faiz will be appreciated otherwise ill be buying from Maruds

Postby ronsin1 » January 20th, 2016, 4:12 am

WTF that raised by 2K in less than two years

Postby DVSTT » January 20th, 2016, 8:40 am

That's exactly why I ,don't go to the firm for parts.

nismaniac

Postby nismaniac » January 20th, 2016, 8:11 pm

update...bought all my parts by Maruds and used them.....however even though they stated their stuff was original I dont believe anything was original mitsubushi isnt spelt mitsuboshi like on the original belts they sell. this is commonplace in Trinidad and I just hope the parts last for the next 100k. The packaging is mitsubushi but the stuff inside is not.

Postby DVSTT » January 20th, 2016, 9:46 pm

nismaniac wrote:update...bought all my parts by Maruds and used them.....however even though they stated their stuff was original I dont believe anything was original mitsubushi isnt spelt mitsuboshi like on the original belts they sell. this is commonplace in Trinidad and I just hope the parts last for the next 100k. The packaging is mitsubushi but the stuff inside is not.

The belts I got were genuine though.
Sorry you got fakes. Hopefully it works as well, for all we know both the original and the fakes getting made in the same factory.

tjaiscott

Postby tjaiscott » January 20th, 2016, 9:50 pm

Serviced my van at dm and my fuel economy decreased before it use to be. 10.4L/100km. Can anyone tell me what's wrong. I am also hearing the injector pump more.
I did an injector cleaning, intake manifold and egr. Changed oil and all filters.
1453340912017.jpg

Postby 0001 » January 27th, 2016, 11:42 am

tjaiscott wrote:Serviced my van at dm and my fuel economy decreased before it use to be. 10.4L/100km. Can anyone tell me what's wrong. I am also hearing the injector pump more.
I did an injector cleaning, intake manifold and egr. Changed oil and all filters.

It just reset. Doesn't mean that it will stay like that.

That is an average based on your driving style. Give it a while and it will come back down unless you drive hard.

scoobert_doo

Postby scoobert_doo » February 2nd, 2016, 7:47 pm

anyone know where i can go to get an estimate on doing a height lift on my k74t l200?
average cost? and a good shop that can do it.

Postby DVSTT » February 2nd, 2016, 8:02 pm

0001 wrote:
tjaiscott wrote:Serviced my van at dm and my fuel economy decreased before it use to be. 10.4L/100km. Can anyone tell me what's wrong. I am also hearing the injector pump more.

It just reset. Doesn't mean that it will stay like that.

That is an average based on your driving style. Give it a while and it will come back down unless you drive hard.

Bro I think you're best calculating your fuel economy manually. Those computers aren't always accurate.

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 6th, 2016, 5:48 pm

Just did a nice extensive service on my sportero, aside from the normal mtce stuff - egr clean, intake mani scrap out and clean, man the truck feels really good on the powerband now.
Purring like a kitten.
Know what I loved? Even with a badly clogged egr and intake, she never smoked. Ever. and was still getting ~600 km/tank

These trucks are awesome.

Cen-Serv Ltd

Postby Cen-Serv Ltd » February 13th, 2016, 11:24 am

Yo having problems with my steering on 2008 l200 4x4 pick up. When I pass through any rough road I am heading a knocking sound coming from the steering colum. Any ideas?

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » February 14th, 2016, 10:51 pm

Could be the coupling or the column itself, which is a collapsible column

Cen-Serv Ltd

Postby Cen-Serv Ltd » February 15th, 2016, 4:25 pm

Thanks Do you any technical information on the steering system that I can use ?

Postby *KRONIK* » February 23rd, 2016, 4:35 pm

Anbody knows where to get engine mounta for the l300?

4d56 n/a

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » February 24th, 2016, 3:55 pm

genboyz wrote:Thanks Do you any technical information on the steering system that I can use ?

Sorry, I'll be welding mine

scoobert_doo

Postby scoobert_doo » February 27th, 2016, 7:29 am

looking for a 4d56t head and block, my crank shaft bearing and #4 piston gone.....dont have time to take to machine shop.....anyone have a good one to sell?

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » February 28th, 2016, 12:11 pm

Toyopet wrote:
genboyz wrote:Thanks Do you any technical information on the steering system that I can use ?

Isn't the column designed to collapse in the event of a crash? Wouldn't welding it be a bit risky in that case? Just asking eh, when ours became too annoying, we just replaced it because we didn't have the patience nor time to look into a better solution.

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » February 28th, 2016, 1:52 pm

tourniquet wrote:
Toyopet wrote:

Isn't the column designed to collapse in the event of a crash? Wouldn't welding it be a bit risky in that case? Just asking eh, when ours became too annoying, we just replaced it because we didn't have the patience nor time to look into a better solution.

I was informed of the risks but financial constraints force me to weld it until better can be done.

theevilonereborn

Postby theevilonereborn » March 1st, 2016, 10:38 am

I have a L200 sportero 2008 4wd manual transmission. I have owned the vehicle for about 2 years and one day the 3rd and 4th gear sychronizer hub stripped out and I wasn't getting 3rd and 4th gear. I ordered the part from Diamond motors and replaced it, it lasted three weeks and stripped again. My mechanic is at a lost and so am I. Thousands have been spent. The gearbox functioned perfectly up to that point when it failed. The quest for a solution continues...

Cen-Serv Ltd

Postby Cen-Serv Ltd » March 1st, 2016, 10:51 am

TOYOPET
Where did you weld your steering colum?

theevilonereborn

Postby theevilonereborn » March 9th, 2016, 4:30 pm

Looking for a used gearbox for a Sportero 4wd 2008 model to buy?!

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » March 9th, 2016, 5:14 pm

Fastrac ‪678-5511‬

brandonology1

Postby brandonology1 » March 10th, 2016, 12:46 am

Fellas.... looking for some insight. I have a 4d56 that i does interfere with a lot. The engine working good but i am getting some blow by via the pcv vent due to increased boost... Hence i installed a catch can. The vehicle began smoking with the catch can installed. I taught it was because the catch can was not baffled. So i installed a baffle within the catch can n then reinstalled it. Same problem, lots of smoke. I decided to install the catch can n let the outlet vent to atmosphere.... same problem...
lastly, i disconnected the catch can n then let the pcv line vent to atmosphere.... LOTS and LOTs of smoke. i taught the engine failed how bad it was. i even saw spots of oil on the side of the tray (side mounted exhaust) and oil itself on the end of the exhaust.
i then removed the catch can and connected the pcv directly to the intake and back to normal... not the slightest wiff of smoke and the van operates normal again.... any ideas what may cause this?

theevilonereborn

Postby theevilonereborn » March 11th, 2016, 10:50 am

Thanks for the number for fastrac... Ah called and the price not bad but what ah wondering will allyuh recommend that u buy a foreign used gearbox or repair my present one?

Cen-Serv Ltd

Postby Cen-Serv Ltd » March 12th, 2016, 10:25 pm

LF KB4T BUCKET SEAT (LEFT SIDE )

Cen-Serv Ltd

Postby Cen-Serv Ltd » March 18th, 2016, 11:05 am

LF oxygen sensor for 3.2 Sportero

crock101

Postby crock101 » March 23rd, 2016, 11:35 pm

where to get glow plugs for the 2007 sportero?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”