TECH Thread - MITSUBISHI L200, Sportero, Triton.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
speedaholic

Re: TECH Thread - MITSUBISHI L200, Sportero, Triton.

Postby speedaholic » June 22nd, 2010, 10:36 am

still gettin engine trouble with my L200... no power.. black smokin ecsessively while driving.. any advice ppl??? used amsoil desiel concentrate prior to this happening..

lexx

Postby lexx » June 29th, 2010, 9:02 pm

guys, today while driving on the highway in my sportero the SRS/AIRBAG LIGHT just came on all of a sudden... i pulled on the shoulder, switched of the engine and turned it back on but it din't go off... i drove down to DM in south and had them run a diagnostic test where they go an error code telling them that some part connecting the airbag in my steering wheel to the brain box is bad so the brain is not getting a signal from the driver side airbag..... can't remember the exact name of the part.... it's some C.... Spring.... Has anyone ever had this problem??? because they said they dont have the part in stock and only getting it at the end of july and i really dont want the airbag blowing up in my face... even tho they said that cannot happen.... what do you guys think...

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » June 29th, 2010, 10:29 pm

have them disconect the air big just for the while...

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » June 30th, 2010, 8:08 pm

speedaholic, hope you did not use too much diesel concentrate at any one time. Is the vehicle still smoking?

venum

Postby venum » June 30th, 2010, 8:48 pm

lexx

common problem with air bags, not just on MITSU vehicles

i believe that you refering to the clock spring

the sir bags wouldn't deploy due to bad clock spring

once the sensors inside the front bumper\chassis not triggered you suppose to be safe

actually with a bad clock spring the air bag may not deploy even if the sensors are triggered

so that is the opposite thing to worry about :D

sweeks

Postby sweeks » June 30th, 2010, 9:55 pm

That's right Lexx ... Venum is correct.

Happened when I had my Sportero in December, happened to my neighbours Sportero last month... both TCC models ... if you're covered by the warranty it should be no cost to you.

Clock Spring issues seemed to be a common/manufacturer's defect. I also had to wait a few days for them to get it.

Did you check DM in POS?

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » July 1st, 2010, 11:25 am

kriticalkase wrote:speedaholic, hope you did not use too much diesel concentrate at any one time. Is the vehicle still smoking?

well i used a whole bottle of the concentrate to a full tank.. ($85 diesel) and yes my van is still smoking excessively! :\

RNR66

Postby RNR66 » July 9th, 2010, 8:21 pm

L200 owners - anyone one here has had issues with the slave cylinder ( Clutch). Have had to change the piston/ rubber on mine 3 times in the past 2 years - The cylinder itself seems fine - no sign of wear etc, but the replacement kits ( Siekens) just don't seem to hold out.

venum

Postby venum » July 9th, 2010, 11:42 pm

buy original then

RNR66

Postby RNR66 » July 10th, 2010, 12:04 am

Diamond didn't have last time I checked.

Had to change the speedo cable recently - had an irritating noise that no one could locate - mechanics telling me was my axle and noise inside my Cv joint etc. Disconnected the speedo and noise disappeared . Got that, the Centre / drive shaft bearing and set of hanger bushings (8) at DM. With the 40% discount everything came up to $1001.00.

venum

Postby venum » July 10th, 2010, 8:06 am

I changed shackle bushings last year

that center bushing expensive, cuz I paid ~ $400.00 for the shackle bushings

Did you change the big bushing for the lift bundle :?:

sweeks

Postby sweeks » July 17th, 2010, 5:43 pm

speedaholic wrote:
kriticalkase wrote:speedaholic, hope you did not use too much diesel concentrate at any one time. Is the vehicle still smoking?

well i used a whole bottle of the concentrate to a full tank.. ($85 diesel) and yes my van is still smoking excessively! :\

Providing all your filters are clean and your mileage is over 260 000km, perhaps it's time to service the fuel pump.

lexx

Postby lexx » July 17th, 2010, 10:00 pm

thanks for the good info venum and sweeks... mine is also a TCC so i it looks like its a common thing, and yes i checked DM in pos also... i even got them to check tobago but they have none in stock... they said they are getting 100 of these clock springs on the 30th of july... so i'm just holding on...

on another note... my pick up doing 77xxx now and i have never used any fuel additives... i see you all talking a lot so if someone can fill me is breafly on weather or not to start using something or not... and what are the best ones on the market that would help also... i also find the pump sounds kinda ruff (its a kind of rattle/knocking sound) at low rpm before the engine goes into boost... is that normal??

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 18th, 2010, 12:46 am

^^^ Lexx,

most of the guys here swear by Amsoil Cetane Booster. Do a forum search for it.

Here's some Amsoil dealer contacts:

Parts Solution Ltd 655 6922

Pro Lube Ltd, 633-6110

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » July 18th, 2010, 12:38 pm

sweeks wrote:
speedaholic wrote:

Providing all your filters are clean and your mileage is over 260 000km, perhaps it's time to service the fuel pump.

problem solved.... used some pitch oil in deh tank $20 pitch oil to $60 diesel... for two fill ups.. and i also found a piece of cloth in my air filter housing which was restricting air flow... engine working like a charm now... no smoking and i'm lovin the acceleration on it.. for a n/a engine.. i'm satisfied.. btw. i just crossed 260000km.. like a few days ago.. dont think fuel pump shud be givin me any probs anytime soon.. beside is almost $3000.00 to service tht sheitt!! so it better hads not!! thanks for ur help anyways man...

sweeks

Postby sweeks » July 19th, 2010, 4:05 pm

Speedaholic ... there ya go. Cloth in the air filter problem!

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » July 19th, 2010, 8:06 pm

yea yeaa! :) i have no idea how tht reach in there tho! i was stumped when i found it..!

Val

Postby Val » July 20th, 2010, 5:22 pm

owners,

What have been your general experiences with this van in the long term?

Are they reliable? I've been reading many poor reviews on the engine/ecu and would like some local clarity on this.

How are they in terms of maintenance cost/frequency?

Would you recommend this van to others?

If you know, how do they fare against comparably priced pickups?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 20th, 2010, 9:54 pm

Guys,

My dad runs an L200 2.5TD K34model. Yesterday the orange light on the dash that indicates the 4wd is active came on and won't turn off. He tried switching to 4H and then back to 2WD, as well as 4L > 2wd. Light still won't turn off. Not really sure if the rear diff is engaged though, will have to check that in the morning.

Any advice or info? Would greatly appreciate you guy's expertise.

Peace out.

venum

Postby venum » July 20th, 2010, 10:22 pm

check the lever by the shifter

there is supposed to be a solenoid there that sticks sometimes

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » July 27th, 2010, 9:56 pm

will there be a big differance if a K&n filter is used in an N/A engine?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 28th, 2010, 5:41 am

Probably not as much as with a turbo-engine. You might get better response in throttle but overall HP may remain the same.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » July 28th, 2010, 9:42 am

what about fuel economy?

Val

Postby Val » August 2nd, 2010, 12:27 am

venum

Postby venum » August 2nd, 2010, 9:30 am

Lexx,

AMSOIL is the way to go

Cetane Boost additive gives good results in common rail systems

I use the diesel concentrate with better results in my direct injection

Check Larry (Trinirider) 678-7080 for wholesale prices

Do not use kerosene please

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » August 2nd, 2010, 6:28 pm

dude kerosene works!!

venum

Postby venum » August 2nd, 2010, 7:23 pm

speedaholic I agree with you

but lexx is running a DiD engine,

given teh sensitivity and tolerances on common rail is less than the direct injection engines, I would not advise use of kerosene

I gonna use some kerosene in my tank, but I not running DiD

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » August 3rd, 2010, 1:53 am

i kno ur not.. and yes i wud not recommend the kerosene in the DiD engines either... thought u was refering to me there.. sorry... but it really did make a huge difference in my engine and i wud recommend it to any1 whose is non common rail.. i cant believe how much cleaner my engine is burning diesel now.. its amazing even on hard acceleration there is not visible smoking anymore and my engine is performing at its peake.. i'm very happy with the way its working. oil change due soon tho.. also gearbox an diff oil.. wanna make it a DIY.. will post pics this time. :P

venum

Postby venum » August 3rd, 2010, 10:18 pm

I waiting till my tank drop low, so next fill up - a $60 diesel and $20 kero

or is that a bad mix :?:

less kero :?:

RNR66

Postby RNR66 » August 3rd, 2010, 11:09 pm

I use $15 Kerosene to a full tank and get good results...

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”