TECH Thread - MITSUBISHI L200, Sportero, Triton.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

Re: TECH Thread - MITSUBISHI L200, Sportero, Triton.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 27th, 2018, 9:38 am

50k on a diesel is nothing, once properly maintained.
had mine for 5 years - going on 207k and works really good.
given my driving patterns and location, I change oil (amsoil full synth), oil filter, air filter and fuel filter every 10k.
It's a lovely vehicle tbh

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » March 27th, 2018, 9:42 am

Thanks man but I doubting I go can't make that venture..but will keep that in mind

blousing

Postby blousing » April 3rd, 2018, 12:01 am

I have mine no issues whatsoever

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 5th, 2018, 7:49 pm

everyone i talked too , telling me the same thing - buying a L200 - parts hard to find, and expensive. But tell me if i am wrong but isnt the L200 parts more accessible in the bamboo cause its japanese??When i had my ranger i bought the oem parts from Roc and i always saw advertised the Sportero..is it that the Sportero parts different to the L200 - parts i am reffering to are like Clutch plate, bushings, sensors and oil change stuff like filters etc.??

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 5th, 2018, 7:51 pm

My mind is really torn between the L200 and the NP300 - i think the L200 is superior in terms of ruggedness and durability but i could be wrong

blousing

Postby blousing » April 6th, 2018, 12:18 am

To tell you the truth if you buying it new you won't even have to worry about parts so soon at all in the l200 sportero. But for the Nissan i had a padna missed one service on his Np which cost him 20k to fix. What i dont understand is resale value.

Postby ronsin1 » April 6th, 2018, 5:39 am

civic minded wrote:everyone i talked too , telling me the same thing - buying a L200 - parts hard to find, and expensive. But tell me if i am wrong but isnt the L200 parts more accessible in the bamboo cause its japanese??When i had my ranger i bought the oem parts from Roc and i always saw advertised the Sportero..is it that the Sportero parts different to the L200 - parts i am reffering to are like Clutch plate, bushings, sensors and oil change stuff like filters etc.??
Parts are readily available for the L200 not that it's really needed I've had my Sportero for 7 years and so far no major issues I have only done normal servicing and changed recommended based on the service manual. To date suspension has no issues even though I do minor off roading with it. Only issue so far is the paint on the trim of the door handles inside have worn out.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 7th, 2018, 2:34 pm

Thanks for the feedback guys

Bluesportero

Postby Bluesportero » April 12th, 2018, 6:14 pm

Hi guys. Looking for a power steering line for my sportero. Its d 4m41 engine 3.2 L 749-9522 tanks

GA16

Postby GA16 » April 16th, 2018, 10:24 am

Good day all, I am in need of the Solenoid for the egr valve for my sportero, 4D56 engine TCC model, does anyone know if I can get one locally and who sells them, thanks.

Postby Ted_v2 » April 21st, 2018, 7:37 am

the only bad thing is the timing belt and the balance shaft in these other than that, slap on a trans cooler on the earlier models, the new ones come with them already. excellent vehicle.

Postby Ted_v2 » April 21st, 2018, 7:38 am

m and r imports wrote:Morning folks where Can I get the two flexible brake lines for the rear of the L200 sportero, they are about 15inches each with two female ends

carry it trinidad hose and they would do it over for ya. custom thing, steel braided. or eswil

brandon dk

Postby brandon dk » May 3rd, 2018, 10:05 am

Any 4m40 parts guys?

Avion

Postby Avion » May 9th, 2018, 3:00 pm

Last edited by Avion on May 16th, 2018, 11:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

venum

Postby venum » May 15th, 2018, 9:48 am

Avion wrote:Anyone with a suction control valve for the 4m41?

call 305-9900 he can service it, sometimes its just the o ring seal on it that needs to change
he would also be able to change it for you if it is the valve needs to change

i did both, change and repair the repair holding out real good. 50,000km and more so far

Postby Ted_v2 » May 31st, 2018, 7:09 am

i does service it outside the van, have two 5mm allen holding it on the van, service it in some atf ez

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » June 11th, 2018, 10:39 pm

Anyone know the paint code for the l200 Sportero 2009 fender flares? It is a metallic grey.

crock101

Postby crock101 » August 2nd, 2018, 1:52 pm

does anyone know where i can get a headlight and wiper switch for the 2007 sportero?

venum

Postby venum » August 27th, 2018, 11:52 am

update on my side, switched to Schaeffers full synthetic oil and van was smoking badly after about 8000km on the oil

switched back to the Amsoil 15W-40 full synthetic

Also, was getting low voltages on my external voltmeter and battery light and fuel filter light flickering when driving. there was no performance difference in the vehicle.

cleaned and tightened battery pole clamps and issues solved

supernedd

Postby supernedd » September 15th, 2018, 2:37 pm

civic minded wrote:My mind is really torn between the L200 and the NP300 - i think the L200 is superior in terms of ruggedness and durability but i could be wrong
it ugly.. the l200 jus ugly.. but i aint see anyone say if it have any faults

supernedd

Postby supernedd » September 15th, 2018, 2:43 pm

dyne wrote:Some of you Sportero Owners should take a read if you have not already had this problem.

http://www.caradvice.com.au/253604/mits ... eat-fault/
ansa gonna say . not our models

supernedd

Postby supernedd » September 15th, 2018, 2:44 pm

venum wrote:
streetbeastINC. wrote:Nah bamboo marketing has non...always wanted to know if a qd32 would line upmwith 4wd juat in case..lol

Dude, diesel cheap eh, imma hadda come up grande and put 2 tap on you for them kinda thoughts

tr1ad wrote:@venum, any advice for Trouble Code P6028?

sorry, I never came across that code in mine.

305-9900 call the Dr.
diesel not cheap again

supernedd

Postby supernedd » October 9th, 2018, 4:17 am

brandonology1 wrote:hey guys, so i swapped out the stock air filter on my n/a 4d56 in my k34 to a k&n double cone filter... It gave a noticeable increase in power and sounds much heavier :D ... however, i have been getting mixed views about this mod... ne1 will to share some valuable insight?
i used to have that in my mazda bt50 09 model.. better throttle response n sound for sure

supernedd

Postby supernedd » October 16th, 2018, 2:56 am

AllTrac wrote:did my bimonthly fuel filter change today, took some pics, here is the write up for those interested. Took me roughly about 15-20mins.
Make sure vehicle is off, get a 12 socket, flat head and filter wrench.
1) Remove both rubber fuel hoses

expect some diesel spillage, keep a cloth close by.

2) Unplug the water sensor clips. The first white clip in the pic, i use a small flat head and gently press it down and pull the plug out, for the second black clip in the pics, its a lift type, so i gently lift the lever up and pull the plug out, dont lift or press to hard as they break easily.

3) Get your 12 socket or spanner and crack those 2 nuts on the housing the holds down the pump, then lift it out, the pump and the filter should come out completely.

4)Now those that are not refilling the new filter to the top with the Amsoil diesel concentrate, you should have a clean container to pour out the diesel fuel from the old filter to reuse in the new filter, I normally refill to the top with red line so i just tilt the return line a bit and drain out the old diesel fuel stored in the filter. When thats done, here comes the pain in the ass part. If you dont have a vice grip or something sturdy to hold the pump or filter you gonna catch royal ass to open the water seperator cover at the bottom and to unscrew the fuel filter from the fuel pump. First time with my first diesel vehicle, I didnt have a vice grip so I got my brother to hold on to it while i tried to unscrew it, we cursed and cried and ripped our skin and swore never to do this without the right tools, we finally got it open lol. My dad ran a flat head straight through the old filter and we unscrewed it like opening a tap lol. Its only difficult because mechanics use tools to tighten it and dont add oil plus most people change their diesel filters every 6 to 8 months so it kindda seizes. Anyway a month after I got a vice grip and it was smooth from there on out. Or do like my neighbor and screw it back down to a work bench and crack it open.

5) Now unscrew the filter from the fuel pump

6) new filter time, pic below is the filter i have been using and some of the tools I use to unscrew the water separator and the fuel filter

7) The new filter comes with a new replacement rubber ring for the water separator, remove the old one and replace with new, and screw it back into the new filter, hand tighten, put some muscle into it.

8) Next, my own procedure, no need to follow. I full it right up with only the best diesel concentrate money can buy, Amsoil baby :) others might prefer to refill with the diesel fuel you drained earlier from the old filter.

9) Add some oil to the rubber ring seal, NOT A LOT, just a slight skim over the entire rubber. I just put like 2 drops from the cover and use my index finger to rub it around

10) Finally screw on back the fuel pump (hand tighten), reinstall (2 12 nuts, white clip, black clip and 2 rubber hoses).
They start priming the pump (pumping, see second pic), I pump it till it gets hard, normally a little over 100 pumps, dont worry, it goes by quickly. Then start her up, might need to hold a slightly higher rev for a bit, no need to rev it out. Once the idle settles in, check your install for leaks. Thats it.

Changing the Fuel filter on the triton is pretty easy and straight forward. Changing the filter on my hilux sr5 was a pain in the ass, so doing it bi monthly on the triton is barely a hassle for me.
a trick i learn from the mechanics .well mine is mazda bt50. but from watching your pics .it should work . empty d filter..leave it on d bracket. flip it over n screw back upside down with one screw n then loosen the filter ..that way . no one has to hold it for u

supernedd

Postby supernedd » October 16th, 2018, 2:58 am

my new idea is .. i installed a backup inline filter.. d mazda have a strainer in d pump . i removed it for more free flow ..plus it does be a pain to take out n put back .. so i get double d protection for my injectors n pump

Krystal Car Part Imports

Postby Krystal Car Part Imports » December 8th, 2018, 4:35 pm

chote wrote:Need some advise..
My L200(K74) have a high pitch noise on 5th gear, and when the clucth is pressed the noise disappears.
Anyone have ever experience this
Clutch release bearing is failing.

Postby Ted_v2 » December 9th, 2018, 1:17 pm

Good talk. Check out that

bignog

Postby bignog » December 13th, 2018, 10:12 am

3 inch Sportero suspension lift kit forsale ......$2400 ............. 369-3773 whatsapp for pics ........

525isport

Postby 525isport » January 27th, 2019, 8:29 am

Looking for a ecu for a kb4t sportero like this one in the pic 7846278
20190127_082605.jpeg

Postby SmokeyGTi » March 18th, 2019, 3:31 pm

venum wrote:
ronsin1 wrote:anyone ever had problems with the Motor for the back rest of the driver seat mine is giving some problem it works sometimes then sometimes it does not

replaced my seat controller switch

it goes bad in a lot of Sporteros

I had the exact prob you had which worsened till it was only sending the seat down, and not back up

had to swap around the motor to get the seat back up

should be replaced under warranty

Hey guys, recent Sportero owner here. My case is related - apparently with the old owner the switch got stuck, the motor burnt and melted some of the plastic bracket. Any one know where I can get the motor and bracket replaced? The seat is currently at a 90 degree angle and its kinda uncomfortable.

Trying not to go to the firm because i know they will kill me wit price.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”