TECH Thread - MITSUBISHI L200, Sportero, Triton.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
venum

Postby venum » December 12th, 2009, 2:14 pm

Sweeky L200 available in 3.2L in UK as well

Several ppl in the L200 Owners Club have them and in manual too

The early chips, although dealer and mitsu sanctioned used to cause head problems

Hope those newer ones hold out better, since they are mitsu made

Wonder if local dealer would honour warranty with those installed

With the current crap diesel - doh even bother

sweeks

Postby sweeks » December 12th, 2009, 2:20 pm

venum wrote:With the current crap diesel - doh even bother

For real ...

I wonder how much additional wear and tear it puts on the engine.

BTW I'm looking for a site that shows the parts with part #s for the L200/Sporteros ...

lexx

Postby lexx » December 12th, 2009, 2:38 pm

One of my friends got a chip for his 2.5 Sportero... it was not mitsu made... it worked quite well... for a week or 2 and then he ran into all types of problems... Van kept going into limp mode... most of it was electrical as far as i can remember... His ecu blow and was changed by DM...

sweeks

Postby sweeks » December 12th, 2009, 9:12 pm

I saw a couple of them on www.ebay.co.uk.

I guess something like this you should probably buy OEM.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » December 20th, 2009, 8:57 am

sweeks wrote:[quote="venum]2007 KB4T PARTS

2007 KB4T Brake Parts

FRONT BRAKE PADS
OEM MR389511

I take it the brakes pads for the 2.5 and 3.2 are the same.

I did a search online and came across the following: "Part number MR389511 was superseded by part number MZ690000."

[/quote]

I'm thinking about ordering some disc pads - MZ690000. It should cost about $800 landed here. If anyone is interested in getting a set, PM me. It should get here at the end of February.

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » January 30th, 2010, 8:39 pm

Guys, PLEASE BE AWARE!!!!

My friend has 2 sportero's both from DM (TCH & TCJ)

Both vehicles are in almost perfect condition. TCJ is doing 15,000kms and went in for a service in south. withing one week of the service, the front disc pads are completely worn out and started to rub on the rotors.

Is this normal? Ths vehicle is not even doing 17,000kms. When the worn out pads were removed, the serial numbers did not corespond to each other. DM has so far been giving run arounds and does not wish to claim responsibility since in my honest opinion the pads were switched during the last service.

The guy who last serviced the vehicle no longer works there however. As a result of this i checked the status of my disc pads as I am doing almost 25,000kms and as expected the pads have over 60% life left.

This got me pissed as we already spending lots $$$$$$ to have our vehicles serviced at the firm in order to maintain a warranty.

I would carry my amsoil engine oil to DM when a service is due, now I have to ensure that this is being used in my vehicle. This is ridiculous!!!!!1

lexx

Postby lexx » January 30th, 2010, 8:43 pm

^^^ I marked mine with some spray paint and took some pics... so i have evidence... :twisted:

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » January 30th, 2010, 9:54 pm

seems like this is what we will have to resort to now.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » January 31st, 2010, 12:42 am

This is not the 1st time I'm hearing this happening at Diamond Motors.

acmilan11

Postby acmilan11 » February 1st, 2010, 9:20 am

hey I got a question, what is the best diesel treatment that u all would recommend to put in the Sportero 2.5 for overall effectiveness like lower engine noise and better performance etc? Mine is doing about 40k's now and I never put in any as yet, so let me know wat u all recommend thanks

venum

Postby venum » February 1st, 2010, 11:04 am

kriticalkase wrote:Guys, PLEASE BE AWARE!!!!

TCJ is doing 15,000kms and went in for a service in south. withing one week of the service, the front disc pads are completely worn out and started to rub on the rotors.

Is this normal? Ths vehicle is not even doing 17,000kms. When the worn out pads were removed, the serial numbers did not corespond to each other.

DEFINATELY NOT NORMAL

I draw teh same conclusion - the parts were swapped

DM has so far been giving run arounds and does not wish to claim responsibility . . .

. . . As a result of this i checked the status of my disc pads as I am doing almost 25,000kms and as expected the pads have over 60% life left.

Typical of them and there is your proof on yours

This got me pissed as we already spending lots $$$$$$ to have our vehicles serviced at the firm in order to maintain a warranty.

I would carry my amsoil engine oil to DM when a service is due, now I have to ensure that this is being used in my vehicle. This is ridiculous!!!!!1

This has ME pissed and I do not service by them

shows that they out to just rape ppl pocket

you have to see them pour that oil in the engine yourself to know that is your oil being used and not some other oil that they use after stealing yours

I don't blame DM service Dept for these things as it is mostly the workers who do it

they prob realize that the tech used to do those kinda things and fired his @$$, but still unwilling to make up for teh damage he did

apparently you stand teh same risks of leaving your vehicle there to service as anywhere else - parts stealing, abuse of vehicle etc

poor standards for the Dealer

yet another reason that I would go by Achievors and buy the loaded KB8T Triton over them and service myself with my own parts - I know exactly what going on

sigh . . .

acmilan11, Amsoil Diesel Concentrate works well in my 4D56T direct injection, expect it to work well in teh 4D56T DiD

lexx, that is what you have to do with any vehicle being serviced by teh dealer - mark every-fcuking-thing with metal marker

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » February 1st, 2010, 11:24 am

venum wrote:acmilan11, Amsoil Diesel Concentrate works well in my 4D56T direct injection, expect it to work well in teh 4D56T DiD

what about the redline 85plus??

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » February 1st, 2010, 12:11 pm

Venum, imagine they telling him that it is normal in some instances for the pads to wear down so quickly as it sometimes happen with NGC or other long term lease vehicles. The way you and I would drive our vehicles cant be compared to some company owned vehicles.

I honestly going to invest in a metal marker.

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » February 1st, 2010, 12:18 pm

Guys, what is the difference between cetane boost & diesel concentrate?

acmilan11

Postby acmilan11 » February 1st, 2010, 1:17 pm

k thanks man venum but can I get this in any parts place around the area? and do u throw in the entire contents or half of it?

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » February 1st, 2010, 4:05 pm

you have to follow the instructions on the label.. ^^^

sweeks

Postby sweeks » February 1st, 2010, 6:39 pm

Concentrate lubricates the pump etc. (Use in small amounts because this is real potent).

Cetane boost increases the cetane level in the diesel and that add to the performance.

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » February 1st, 2010, 7:56 pm

sweeks, is it recommended to use both cetane boost and diesel concentrate? At what mileage would you recommend the diesel concentrate. I have been using the cetane boost since 12,000kms. Would there be any drawbacks?

venum

Postby venum » February 1st, 2010, 8:00 pm

sweeks wrote:Concentrate lubricates the pump etc. (Use in small amounts because this is real potent).

Cetane boost increases the cetane level in the diesel and that add to the performance.

pretty much sums it up there

and as speedaholic say - follow instructions on bottle

as to where to get it

most bigger parts places have it

usually goes for $75 - $90 per bottle (16oz)

I used Redline already, works well

second to Amsoil and all the other stuff I used (Penray, Cyclo, some other craps in a small bottle)

believe it or not, a lot of the NGC vans are well taken care of from what I see around Pt. Lisas

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » February 2nd, 2010, 8:32 am

Venum it is true about the NGC vans. I heard that the employees are given first preference in purchasing the vehicles after the lease period prior to returning to the firm. Now they have an incentive to maintain vehicles properly.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » February 2nd, 2010, 9:14 am

KKase it's true. 10% of the original value.

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » February 10th, 2010, 7:48 pm

Guys with respect to the sportero with the disc pad issue this is how it ended.

After weeks of talking to DM in south and only getting a run around, my friend went to the POS branch and insisted he talk to the head man there.

After hearing his complaint, hte big man in DM instantly call south and instruct them to install a new set of disc pads at no cost and even issued an apology for this sort of action.

Customer service is not dead after all but you def need to be proactive. Commendation to DM in north though.

lexx

Postby lexx » February 10th, 2010, 8:16 pm

^^^ Yea i must say that the head man in POS is a good fellow... But if i was your friend i would write a complaint and send it to Thailand... :twisted:

venum

Postby venum » February 10th, 2010, 9:38 pm

lexx, you encouraging other ppl in your bad habits

allyuh gonna wear out that one by time I ready to deal with them

more parts on the first pg (all K74)

KB4 and KB8 ppl send more part numbers my way

I'm looking for some 15" rims (cheap) for mine if anyone has

wanna get some mud tyres for off-roading

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » February 12th, 2010, 1:36 am

buh venum, dem rims u have dey gud..! buh u does get trouble to get mud tyres in 16" ent?

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » February 12th, 2010, 8:58 am

venum, i saw someone on the forum who selling 15" for $2300 but i doh know if the rim have the big hole in the center for the hub lock to fit.

contemplating the same thing to have road tyres and offroading tyres on two different
sets of rims but i did not know what size to use! give me some advice on that if you can please

venum

Postby venum » February 12th, 2010, 12:41 pm

madman2961

speedaholic wrote:buh venum, dem rims u have dey gud..! buh u does get trouble to get mud tyres in 16" ent?

that is exactly why I want to get teh 15"

mud tyres hard to find in 16" and when you do is BFG and Kumho and other expensive stuff

there are cheaper alternatives (Firestone, Sumitomo, etc) but only in 15"

31 x 10.5 specifically

realistically, I am not gonna be doing serious off-roading (like James and teh TTORC ppl) to warrant those expensive M/T tyres

actually, overall i find it is easier to get tyres for 4x4 pick in 15"

teh 16" TOYO A/T that I have on now work well for everyday driving and still gives me the option for all terrain (tarmac, beach sand, slight mud, gravel)

if just when I need to tackle the heavy stuff I want the M/T

so steel rims good for me for teh M/T

no way I spending more than $1000.00 on thos rims alone

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » February 13th, 2010, 1:13 am

yup yup! tru dat..!

l200

Postby l200 » February 15th, 2010, 10:20 pm

Hi guys, found a little treat for all you l200 DIY people. the 1997-2002 workshop manual and the 2007 manual ........ :arrow: :arrow: http://www.sendspace.com/file/196ubb :arrow: :arrow: http://www.sendspace.com/file/n2ca39 These links were found on www.mitsubishi-forums.com/t25547-workshop-manual.htm

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » February 26th, 2010, 4:24 pm

ppl i lookign for a l200 head invavle..

anybody know where i can get one?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”