Inspecting your Truck in Licensing Office

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
topshotta20

Re: Inspecting your Truck in Licensing Office

Postby topshotta20 » July 21st, 2011, 6:54 pm

GUPPY in El socorro
$85 for d under wash
$20 for the worker for spraying the engine n blowing it out
after
$30 for shock oil
$25 to spray the oil
my bad $160

imagine is 85 to shock oil
costing 55 with my oil

venum

Postby venum » September 28th, 2011, 9:50 am

I observed this when I went for inspection last year and again yesterday

The Licensing Officers there kinda old-timed and measure the effectiveness of the brakes by the screech of the tyres when asked to do the foot-handbrake test - last part of inspection.

Unless they hear the screech of the tyres when the brakes lock up, then they fail the vehicle for defective\inefficient brakes. owners are asked to rectify and return

I noticed that the inspection officer on separate occasions, when he asked the driver to this test, didn't even look at the vehicle as the driver was doing it, he was purely listening.

If the vehicle has ABS the wheels won't lock up and as far as they concerned - brakes not working.

This in fact is not so. The very function of ABS is to stop the vehicle without locking up the wheels.

What the Officers supposed to do is check that the vehicle is stopping within predefined\measured space, but they don't do that

So I just worked with their flawed logic and advise anyone who wants to get their vehicle passed to do the same.

ABS usually doesn't kick in for speeds under 20km\h

what I did with the auto tranny and ABS was:

1. accelerate out from the pit, not to hard, just at this speed (20km\h) or a bit under

2. touch foot brakes to slow down the vehicle (under 20km\h) so ABS will not engage and then mash down harder on the foot brakes while pulling the hand brake hard to get rear wheels to lock up and screech

With manual what you can do is:

1. accelerate out from the pit, not to hard in 1st gear

2. change to 2nd gear and pop the clutch to get the rear wheels to lock up while touching the brake pedal (so brake light comes on) and pull handbrake

Lic office was very lax with new pickups when I went yesterday

officers never even went under or even rocked teh steering

for older vehicles and company vehicles however . . . tears

they were checking everything

new vehicles with pretty lights - fail instantly

NOTE TO BLING-BOYS

the Officers are failing your truck if it has all those pretty lights, esp Navara, Hilux and Tritons with those blue LED's around the factory fogs

they don't care if you bought the truck with those lights and if it was licensed with them - they are still illegal lights

you can get away with factory fog lights, when asked to put on your lights you just don't switch on the fogs

but those blue LED's are NOT factory, but in fact aftermarket that are installed by the Singapore\Thailand dealer

even if they were installed by the factory in Thailand - they are illegal in Trinidad

since they are wired to the factory park lights, save yourself the return trip to the inspection pit - disconnect their power or install a separate switch before going for inspection so when asked to put on your lights, they do not come on

I saw a blinged-out Navara fail yesterday for this only

also if you have HID's - fail

if you have coloured park lights - fail

if you have ultra white headlamp bulbs that have a coloured bulb - fail

I have PIAA Supler Plasma GTX headlamp bulbs that give off white light, but the bulb is coloured purple - I was asked to remove them and return. once the headlamp bulbs are not white\clear then you stand a chance of failing\asked to return even though the officer saw them giving white light when turned on

some clarity - when you make your appointment, you have to go to License Office AFTER the date given

I went 4 months after the date (date = May) i went in September and got No issues

venum

Postby venum » September 28th, 2011, 10:20 am

first page updated with procedure

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 28th, 2011, 4:38 pm

take a bump there - my navarararar's first yearly inspection coming up in a lil' over a month.

Venum, what about off-road fog lights that are always covered with plastic caps?
Any issues? I have a pair on my rollbar that are covered by NIssan caps.

venum

Postby venum » September 28th, 2011, 5:23 pm

lighthammer wrote:Venum, what about off-road fog lights that are always covered with plastic caps?
Any issues? I have a pair on my rollbar that are covered by NIssan caps.

take a chance if you like and come back and let us know

I removed all that I had on Elle when I was going, just to be safe

it would be good to know for sure if they can stay as it would be nice to NOT have to remove them unecesarily

I think you need permission to have even those covered ones though

just remove the lamps themselves, leave the wiring etc

up to you

try . . . most they would do is fail you and say come back when you removed them - walk with a spanner set and remove them in teh car park then circle back to the pit

sureshot_james

Postby sureshot_james » September 28th, 2011, 8:56 pm

run some teflon tape on it make sure it is not affected by oil though not the plumbing kind....

Postby 0001 » October 25th, 2011, 9:09 pm

guys i have a sportero......the van was recently tinted with 35% rite through except for the windscreen which has a 15% strip on it.

would i pass with that or fail? everything else stock on the vehicle

venum

Postby venum » October 26th, 2011, 11:27 am

I have that same tint on my sportero and passed easily

they didn't check tint

like i mentioned in my post above, once your van new and doesn't have any obvious illegal stuff like coloured lights you pretty much safe

Postby 0001 » November 7th, 2011, 4:27 pm

i have to go tom to inspect but can someone tell me where the engine number is on a sportero?

venum

Postby venum » November 7th, 2011, 9:34 pm

2.5L Sportero - Bottom left of starter, middle of block

3.2L Sportero - top right of starter closer to firewall

dpubt that you will need it

improvednewbie

Postby improvednewbie » February 5th, 2012, 10:53 am

Last edited by improvednewbie on February 14th, 2012, 3:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

venum

Postby venum » February 5th, 2012, 7:03 pm

^^^^ First page updated to answer your questions

jpec

Postby jpec » February 5th, 2012, 10:41 pm

so what about painted/darkened tail lights? would they fail you for painting your tail lights?

droppa

Postby droppa » February 6th, 2012, 11:29 am

u askin dat boy?

dey WILL fail u and its either u strip it, or borrow some padna lights and come back....

jpec

Postby jpec » February 7th, 2012, 12:34 am

well yeh just making sure! lol....also is it illegal? like if i was to go through a road block would i get a ticket for having them painted? ... i not really 100% sure on this nuh so i just asking, sorry if i lookin like a fool now

Smeed

Postby Smeed » February 8th, 2012, 7:58 pm

Took my hilux today for 1st inspection at south office. Procedure is just as described previously. I got there at 7:40 am, there was one ranger in front of me. Inspection guys got started at 8:05am. I rolled over the pit, guy jus walked around the van, asked me to blow the horn, then accelerate and apply brakes (hand and foot) and then handbrakes alone.

Surprisingly it was that easy.... He then told me to pass back in a couple hours to collect the paperwork. I was like.....Thanks!! Some other guys got a more thorough run thru, I think one ranger had issues because of dark tint. All in all, it wasn't bad at all .

rmrunner

Postby rmrunner » February 9th, 2012, 10:59 am

Just to clarify for me....for an automatic pickup with ABS, when dey tell u mash the brakes(you must pull hand brake and mash 2gether???) and then they ask for a handbrake one after?

venum

Postby venum » February 9th, 2012, 12:16 pm

Automatic vehicle or manual vehicle is the same test

1 test only with both brakes teh same time

rmrunner

Postby rmrunner » February 9th, 2012, 12:46 pm

ok thanks for the info

Postby ronsin1 » February 9th, 2012, 4:59 pm

Mazda due for Inspection in July and the L200 due for inspection in April.

Smeed

Postby Smeed » February 9th, 2012, 6:59 pm

2 tests ... Foot and hand brakes, then handbrakes only

rmrunner

Postby rmrunner » February 9th, 2012, 8:46 pm

Smeed wrote:2 tests ... Foot and hand brakes, then handbrakes only

so in other words the tyres must make a screech for them to be satisfied?

And another question....i purchased my van from someone who paid for the inspection but did not do it and gave me the chit. Can i use back this chit since the vehicle is on my name now or do i have to do a clean request.

Smeed

Postby Smeed » February 9th, 2012, 10:28 pm

rmrunner wrote:
Smeed wrote:2 tests ... Foot and hand brakes, then handbrakes only

so in other words the tyres must make a screech for them to be satisfied?

And another question....i purchased my van from someone who paid for the inspection but did not do it and gave me the chit. Can i use back this chit since the vehicle is on my name now or do i have to do a clean request.

i screeched on the first...... didn't screech on the handbrakes only.... still passed

newto4x4

Postby newto4x4 » February 14th, 2012, 2:04 pm

So I went Today (14/02/12) and got an appointment for the 21/03/12.
But I asked the person who was giving the appointment date about RORO
(P vehicles) and she said, very rudely, that it is from the date the vehicle was made.
So while liming outside I asked the Licencing Officer and he said it's from the date of registration.
?????????????

venum

Postby venum » February 14th, 2012, 7:09 pm

saw this in License Office today

Postby 3stagevtec » February 14th, 2012, 11:15 pm

Gotta go get inspected! *I hope meh ole van would pass*

venum

Postby venum » February 17th, 2012, 12:02 am

^ ^ ^ u licened as P so u safe

Go by a private garage, them fellas will be fascinated by the prepped out Vit they will pass yuh one time

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » February 17th, 2012, 5:32 pm

jpec wrote:well yeh just making sure! lol....also is it illegal? like if i was to go through a road block would i get a ticket for having them painted? ... i not really 100% sure on this nuh so i just asking, sorry if i lookin like a fool now

Basically anything that will not allow you to pass inspection you can get a ticket for.

I have my inspection on Feb 24 2012 so i will let you know how it goes.

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » February 22nd, 2012, 9:03 am

Chapter 48:50
Part V

INSPECTION OF MOTOR VEHICLES
27. (1) A registered owner of a public service motor vehicle,
rental car, goods vehicle, omnibus, tractor or trailer shall produce
it for inspection by a Transport Officer, annually as the Licensing
Authority may direct and shall, at the same time, furnish him with
such information as may be required including the following:
(a) the name of the manufacturer of the chassis;
(b) model;
(c) engine number and number of cylinders;
(d) year manufactured;
(e) factory number of chassis, body number or VIN number;
(f) maximum gross weight in kilogrammes;
(g) type of body.

so, however, that a registered owner of a private motor vehicle or
motorcycle where such motor vehicle or motorcycle is five years
old or more, shall produce it for inspection by an examiner
biennially, at such premises designated for that purpose as the
Licensing Authority may direct.

(11) A registered owner of a private motor vehicle or
motorcycle, public service motor vehicle, rental car, goods vehicle,
omnibus or trailer who fails to produce the vehicle for inspection or
drives the vehicle without obtaining an inspection sticker and
certificate in accordance with these Regulations commits an offence
and is liable, on summary conviction, to a fine of five thousand dollars

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » February 23rd, 2012, 8:54 pm

does the 5 yr period apply to T vehicles as well?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”