Inspecting your Truck in Licensing Office

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
l200

Postby l200 » October 1st, 2009, 10:28 am

Hi venum, was the crush washer closely fitted to the threading of the drain plug?
if not, that could be the cause. I had changed mines and it didn't work until I got one to fit tightly on the bolt. My mechanic told me that the first washer has too much play, and could have shifted, and cause the leak, hope the info was helpful.

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » October 1st, 2009, 10:31 am

if you want you could weld a nut onto the sump pan and use that if the leak persists.

venum

Postby venum » October 1st, 2009, 2:34 pm

l200, I will have to check, hoping that it is something taht simple

topshotta20

Re: Inspecting your Truck in Licensing Office

Postby topshotta20 » January 21st, 2011, 7:16 pm

BUMP for info

venum

Postby venum » January 21st, 2011, 10:18 pm

hey - my old thread :!:

well I eventually went for the inspection and passed

under washed and engine washed, no shock oil

used silicone on the sump bolt

removed the auxillary lights and replaced the original yellow bulbs in the headlights

the process was relativley simple

lined up and let the inspection officer verify engine and chassis number

drove over the pit and let the officers check under the steering (rocked steering side to side while engine was off

tested lights, horn, wipers and brakes

and then thr hand and foot brake tes

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » January 21st, 2011, 10:31 pm

I trying to go but licencing saying that my vehicle not on the system. :shock:
So I driving an imaginary pickup...good thing I got a contact who can help me get the certified copy sorted out.
I am going to try and sort everything out in a week or two..hopefully.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » January 22nd, 2011, 8:15 am

venum wrote:hey - my old thread :!:

well I eventually went for the inspection and passed

under washed and engine washed, no shock oil

used silicone on the sump bolt

removed the auxillary lights and replaced the original yellow bulbs in the headlights

the process was relativley simple

lined up and let the inspection officer verify engine and chassis number

drove over the pit and let the officers check under the steering (rocked steering side to side while engine was off

tested lights, horn, wipers and brakes

and then thr hand and foot brake tes

Nothing about the tint, tyre sizes, etc?

venum

Postby venum » January 22nd, 2011, 11:51 am

I had no tint

tyres were the standard 265\70\16

if you have HID or coloured bulbs in your head\park lights they will not pass your vehicle

they sent me away to remove the PIAA headlamp bulbs and come back when I was done

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » January 22nd, 2011, 4:40 pm

^^ ahh i see.
Did u have to show them the letter from the company stating that your foglights in the front bumper are stock?

When I bought my Nav my salesrep gave me the letter from the transport minister giving permission for the front foglamps.

vharripersad

Postby vharripersad » January 22nd, 2011, 7:11 pm

Ford Rangers that have the factory Hurricane and Thunder stickers, how do they deal with that?

venum

Postby venum » January 23rd, 2011, 1:00 am

lighthammer wrote:^^ ahh i see.
Did u have to show them the letter from the company stating that your foglights in the front bumper are stock?

that was when I had Elle

and I removed all teh auxillary lights before going for inspection

vharripersad wrote:Ford Rangers that have the factory Hurricane and Thunder stickers, how do they deal with that?

ammm I do not believe that they deal with stickers as an issue

my L200 had the factory stripes along teh side + all my decals on teh doors, and tailgate

they never even considered it, so you safe

badart

Postby badart » January 23rd, 2011, 7:35 pm

i saw a navara had HID;s n the inspection officer didnt say anythin

Re:

Postby SmokeyGTi » January 24th, 2011, 7:52 am

ZD30DDT wrote:
would they give trouble for projectors n tint?

Tint - Yes. Unless 20% or lighter.

Foglights - Yes. But manufacturer gives you letter of ok from Transport Commisioner. So present upon Inspection and you're Ok.

Shock Oil - ???

my van is a local used that came with stock foglights. i don't have that letter. will it still pose a problem?

venum

Postby venum » January 24th, 2011, 1:28 pm

inspection like every otger thing depends on the License officer that you get on the day that you go

shock oil is a definate NO

they send u away to underwash if the vehicle has shock oil on it

just underwash, engine wash and go like that

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » January 24th, 2011, 5:36 pm

venum wrote:
lighthammer wrote:^^ ahh i see.

that was when I had Elle

and I removed all teh auxillary lights before going for inspection

vharripersad wrote:Ford Rangers that have the factory Hurricane and Thunder stickers, how do they deal with that?

ammm I do not believe that they deal with stickers as an issue

my L200 had the factory stripes along teh side + all my decals on teh doors, and tailgate

they never even considered it, so you safe

I think once you don't have any stickers obscuring your front windshield (you're really only allowed to have the inspection sticker on there alone) or the rear windshield, you should be fine. You could dress up the car in rainbow stickers all over and that would be ok.

As for HID's, a friend of mine said that once your HID temperature is less than 6000K, you should be ok. IF they don't pass you, then just revert back to stock and you have the option to put it back in later on I guess... though that's still illegal.

venum

Postby venum » January 24th, 2011, 6:35 pm

^ ^ ^ again

That is all dependant on the License officer

How they gonna tell the difference between 4000K, 6000K, 8000K and 10,000K intensity :?:

They do NOT have a lightmeter

So they essentially guessing based on how it looks

And 6000K or 8000K may look accepatble to one officer, but be too bright for another

it's really a chance that you will be taking that they won't ask u to come back after removing the HID's

Just disconnect the HID from the stock harness and replace the bulbs with the stock

So it's up to you

Postby wagon r » January 30th, 2011, 10:01 pm

i haven't done one in 2 yrs going on 3....

venum

Postby venum » January 30th, 2011, 10:48 pm

wagon r wrote:i haven't done one in 2 yrs going on 3....

I had teh same perspective

except i got caught in a roadblock and the police asked for the inspection certificate, off course I didn't have it and had to wiggle out with some smooth words

them popo get dotish now, iz TT$1000.00 and $2000.00 ticket for everything, so the $300.00 that I would have paid in License office to get her inspected is more economical

gonna inspect the new van too, soon as I get teh cert copy

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » March 16th, 2011, 1:27 pm

Venum, can you elaborate the "no lowering blocks on spring lifts"?

these blocks can be used to lower or raise a pickup with spring lifts. why would dey not pass with these blocks? wot about pickups that have been modified for offroading and stuff... i kno some are "P" but what about the "T" pickups that are modified.
they have failed me for tires wider than the wheel well and no mud guards... tires sprayed water on the side of the van on my way to POS.
i washed the morning of inspection and coming from grande to POS, rain fall on the valencia stretch... the lisensing occifer say "i have no respect for him" or sumting so lol...
and he gone under and look for all kinda ting to write up..
he ended up writing a list of bout 7 faults.

this is bout 3 yrs ago.. it jus ridiculous there yes.

2 days after i spoke to the doubles man, and 1 week later my inspection cert was in my glove box.
and every year after that i've been "buying doubles from that vendor".

but on a serious note, elaborate on the lowering blocks...

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » March 16th, 2011, 9:56 pm

so how much for those doubles....

venum

Postby venum » March 17th, 2011, 4:00 pm

cutthroatInt wrote:Venum, can you elaborate the "no lowering blocks on spring lifts"?

these blocks can be used to lower or raise a pickup with spring lifts. why would dey not pass with these blocks?

dude what u talking bout :?:

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » March 17th, 2011, 7:07 pm

btw guys, can u pass inspection wit a cracked windshield?? rite nw daz d only ting stoppin meh frm goin

venum

Postby venum » March 17th, 2011, 9:29 pm

^^^ i know ppl that have

I don't think they specifically check the windshield

but you never know if you get a spiteful officer on the day

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » March 24th, 2011, 9:38 am

Nice read Shawn...

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » March 24th, 2011, 2:42 pm

Location of the doubles man

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » July 18th, 2011, 5:24 pm

If u miss your appointment date could you reschedule

roti102

Postby roti102 » July 18th, 2011, 6:32 pm

Use some plumbing thread seal on the bolt

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 20th, 2011, 3:56 pm

so wait - police can stop you in a road block and charge you if your inspection isn't up to date? I never got stopped in any road block before. Even when i was stopped with the 2006 ranger - they never asked me for the inspection.
The 2006 ranger hasn't been inspected since it was bought, also the 2010....

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » July 20th, 2011, 6:07 pm

OK i went and get an under-wash
and went for the inspection
one problem the officer say i had
my back right wheel needed adjusting for braking
within an hour i would have gotten it but dam licensing office had a bomb scare just before i was to collect my documents
good thing i stick around and collected it about 2 hrs later

by the way i see a vehicle wasn't under-washed and he got his certificate
i cud have saved $200

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 20th, 2011, 8:26 pm

you pay 200 dollars for a underwash? where you went to wash it??
it cost 80dollars for the most for a underwash a normal pickup. unless you driving a 10 tonne

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”