Inspecting your Truck in Licensing Office

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
siner69

Re: Inspecting your Truck in Licensing Office

Postby siner69 » October 21st, 2014, 9:50 am

Well seeing that they going to start re-enforcing these things, I need to get my inspection up to par. Quick question though, does the person whose name is on the Certified Copy need to be there? Or anyone can do and do the inspection process?

Do they ask for ID to confirm that you are the owner of the vehicle?

Postby 0001 » October 21st, 2014, 11:08 pm

siner69 wrote:Well seeing that they going to start re-enforcing these things, I need to get my inspection up to par. Quick question though, does the person whose name is on the Certified Copy need to be there? Or anyone can do and do the inspection process?

Do they ask for ID to confirm that you are the owner of the vehicle?

Any one can do the inspection . They dont ask for ID etc

Postby Team Loco » October 22nd, 2014, 7:12 am

Yesterday in south a direct tv panel van with Coloured wrapping was on the pit. Licence officer asked the colour of the van. That was it for theday. Owner was told cert copy must list all colours

Wolla

Postby Wolla » September 29th, 2015, 10:17 am

Good info here. Where is the chassis numbers for the 2007 BT50?

Thanks

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » September 29th, 2015, 1:04 pm

Firewall by the brake master / clutch area... sun too hot to go check exactly where but somewhere there afaik.

Wolla

Postby Wolla » September 30th, 2015, 10:17 am

Sorry I meant the engine number, where is it? I did some looking but don't see it. Heard it is not in the easiest spot to see.

Thanks

fadil

Postby fadil » September 30th, 2015, 10:42 am

What about "smoked" tail lights?

Postby nervewrecker » October 3rd, 2015, 11:28 pm

They ever get stickers?

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » October 4th, 2015, 7:19 am

Nope.... I just got my own done, cert. copy with a new inspection sheet attached to the back to keep in your vehicle if licensing/police stop you.

Smoked tail lights should be banned all together, been driving behind ppl with them during the day and can't see anything, at night the lights are hardly visible.

Postby nervewrecker » October 4th, 2015, 9:14 am

Was going to tell him darker the better for smoked lights when you going lo. Let him learn that way.

Been years I haven't gotten a sticker.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

Wolla

Postby Wolla » October 6th, 2015, 1:15 pm

Thought I would share my inspection experience for my van (2007 BT50) this morning.

Got there for 7:50am, I was 4th inline, not long after 8am they started inspecting. The first two vehicles took about 10 mins each. They then called the guy in front me to come forward as well as myself. The guy in front me went in the inspection bay (over the pit area), I rolled up behind him. The inspector guy (not dressed in licencing officer uniform) took his info checked his lights etc. Then came to me, politely asked for certified copy and receipt with inspection appointment. He asked a few basic questions like if I changed the engine or any modifications, then said to wait there along with the guy in front me until the the other licencing officer reached. We waited for about 45 mins in the inspection bay doing nothing. Then he spoke to the guy in front me and he drove off, I rolled over the pit and he asked:

"Did your brakes work this morning on the way down here?" I laughed a bit and said yes.
"Press your horn please" done
"Let me see your wipers" done

Then he said he giving me a bligh since he had me sitting there so long, so just go park up and come back for my inspection certificate.

So I guess it really depends on who you get on the morning, or in my case who I did not get.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » October 6th, 2015, 8:38 pm

if it's one thing you can count on over there, it's inconsistency :lol:
on another note, for those of you with proper steel bull bars (ARB, IronMan, et al) have you been harassed/ questioned about it in LO?

medalist

Postby medalist » May 1st, 2016, 7:23 pm

Can an inspection be done the same day as payment? Also does the certified copy need to be recent?

tunerboss1

Postby tunerboss1 » June 24th, 2016, 5:04 pm

Bump

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » December 11th, 2016, 7:04 pm

Does LO give trouble for aftermarket lights?

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 3rd, 2017, 2:32 pm

topshotta20 wrote:Does LO give trouble for aftermarket lights?

it's not legal without written approval from LO.
They usually don't but once in a while when things heating up they can ticket you

rmrunner

Postby rmrunner » January 3rd, 2017, 3:39 pm

What about Projector with HID? Do they give trouble for this?

I know for fogs, you just have to tell them it disconnected. A LO once told me if its ON its illegal Light but its OFF , then its a lamp, which is not illegal.

rum-like-water

Postby rum-like-water » January 4th, 2017, 7:26 pm

Whats the approx wait time for appointment these days? same day?

topshotta20

Re: RE: Re: Inspecting your Truck in Licensing Office

Postby topshotta20 » January 7th, 2017, 9:35 pm

rum-like-water wrote:Whats the approx wait time for appointment these days? same day?

Went Thursday and got month end

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » January 7th, 2017, 9:36 pm

rum-like-water wrote:Whats the approx wait time for appointment these days? same day?

Went Thursday and got month end. You can get within 1 to 2 weeks

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » January 7th, 2017, 9:36 pm

Went Thursday and got month end. You can get within 1 to 2 weeks

jpec

Postby jpec » January 9th, 2017, 10:19 pm

Can anyone tell me if the MGW and TARE sign that is usually painted on all "T" vehicles can be a decal instead of paint?

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » January 10th, 2017, 12:36 am

jpec wrote:Can anyone tell me if the MGW and TARE sign that is usually painted on all "T" vehicles can be a decal instead of paint?

It should be painted and depends on how the officer feeling at the time if it's sticker.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » January 10th, 2017, 3:43 pm

topshotta20 wrote:
jpec wrote:Can anyone tell me if the MGW and TARE sign that is usually painted on all "T" vehicles can be a decal instead of paint?

It should be painted and depends on how the officer feeling at the time if it's sticker.

I inspect last year, where I had a sticker. They made me go and paint it on, by the guy at the entrance to LO in POS for $150. Did it same time, went back and showed them and I was passed.

topshotta20

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: Inspecting your Truck in Licensing Office

Postby topshotta20 » January 10th, 2017, 3:50 pm

ADONI wrote:
topshotta20 wrote:

I inspect last year, where I had a sticker. They made me go and paint it on, by the guy at the entrance to LO in POS for $150. Did it same time, went back and showed them and I was passed.

This same guy painted mine when I went to get a date one time within minutes

ADONI

Postby ADONI » January 10th, 2017, 3:52 pm

Yuh know, I never noticed him there, until they told me...

jpec

Postby jpec » January 11th, 2017, 5:57 pm

ADONI wrote:
topshotta20 wrote:

where exactly is this guy?

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » January 11th, 2017, 6:28 pm

jpec wrote:
ADONI wrote:
topshotta20 wrote:

East of LO same compound along the wall. I think there may be more than 1 guy.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » January 12th, 2017, 8:27 am

topshotta20 wrote:
jpec wrote:
ADONI wrote:
topshotta20 wrote:

East of LO same compound along the wall. I think there may be more than 1 guy.

Correct, you will also see the wall covered in MWG TARE stickers...

jpec

Postby jpec » January 13th, 2017, 11:33 pm

^^ thanks a lot guys.... appreciate the help!

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”