frontier fuel economy ... QD32 / ZD30T / TD25Ti / TD27

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

frontier fuel economy ... QD32 / ZD30T / TD25Ti / TD27

Postby sliderz1 » April 29th, 2010, 5:54 pm

DIESEL 2NRS waz d fuel economies on these frontier diesel engines.???

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
2001 D-22 Frontier QD32 4x4 145xxx kms no trouble yet
boss of engines

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 29th, 2010, 9:46 pm

Running a 3.0L Turbocharged D22 Frontier - ZD30T - filled up on sunday - so far have half-tank, 343kms on the Odometer. Expecting to reach 600-650KM by end of this tankfull.

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » April 30th, 2010, 8:23 am

I got the QD32 non Turbo I usually get about 600kms on a tank. Under 120kph and AC all the time.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 30th, 2010, 8:49 am

Rutless Tiida, - ditto, mostly under or at 120km/h - one passenger in the front seat, a/c almost always on, unladen payload, tires at 32psi and 30psi front:back.

Postby sliderz1 » April 30th, 2010, 2:18 pm

how dem ZD30T runnin as far as durability concern man .... i personally can vouch for d QD32......thinkin bout doubling up on d frontiers buh i think i wanna go turbo this time ...........for a turbo vs non turbo kms soundin comparable tho it soundin bess....

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 30th, 2010, 7:13 pm

sliderz1, my ZD30T running >100K km on the odo, but we keep it maintained regularly with NM (even though their service sucks). The frontier's engine still have PLENTY powah, no smoke from the tailpipe(until revving beyond 4000 rpm - which is normal for any diesel engine, even turbo'ed), no knocking, no hard starting, oil not burning off. Once you keep the servicing on a regular schedule, these ZD30T engines will serve u well. Also running a factory-installed turbotimer to protect the turbo bearings. Sometimes when driving home late at night, I turn off the radio and just listen to the turbo whistling at me :D :D. Going to install a K&N filter soon. No problem so far about blowback, which some frontier owners complained about, but could easily be solved at NM.

Truck still have plenty powah and torque man, enough to peel off at 1st and 2nd gear, and more than enough to be roaring up lady young road, leaving those puny almeras and corollas far behind in yuh 'zaust. Lots of power for overtaking on the highway too, accelerating from 60-100km/h in 3rd gear to 4th gear comes REAL fast, it'll put a smile on yo' face. But don't speed eh, these frontiers bouncy in the front and I wouldn't trust the stock suspension over 140km/h - not that you should ever be running that speed anyway!!!!! DON'T SPEED!!!! Don't let all the diesel powah go to ur head.

Summary - a ZD30T that's been well taken care of will still have a lot of performance and many years of service left.

Postby sliderz1 » May 1st, 2010, 1:32 pm

kool man......i accustomed to the bouncing now man after 9 yrs my D22 frontier stil riding as it did out d show room. D onli thing until last year it wasnt used for a 3 weeks or so....and since then d QD32 in it startin to burn more diesel.....it not smoking or n e thing but i loss rel power and my fuel economy drop to 450kms on the tank .....was told the injector need servicing, the fuel line choke, the pump strainer choke , beasts build nest in d air intake, pump goin all kinda crap.......i mean is all gud but my best bet would be to service the injectors since d vehicle is 9yrs and never been touched ....buh i don wannna trouble ..trouble ,seein there's no mechanical problem yet, i stil weighing out my options tho.....buh lookin to invest in another frontier as they rel durable deliberating whether turbo an ECU is d way to go......

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 1st, 2010, 2:22 pm

Regarding loss of powah, start with the small stuff and eliminate them as you go, esp. since the truck's been standing so long and maintenance hasn't been regular:

- water in the fuel from condensation
- clogged fuel filter
- dirty and inefficient air filter
- faulty fuel pump
- choked fuel lines
- fuel mixture too rich
- bad timing on the fuel injectors
- clogged fuel fiters
- and so on.

If it burning rich and fuel economy gone down, maybe the fuel pump timing need calibrating, if there's black smoke from the tailpipe at low-mid RPM then either your air-filter is clogged or the fuel mixture too rich.

Try filling the tank and running it without A/C and do some easy-shifting, for a week and see how your mileage goes. Check your tire pressure too. Number one reason for low-mileage is either driving habits or underinflated tires.

The ZD30T engine is very reliable and the D22's are very very durable, haven't seen a rusted one on the road yet.

Postby sliderz1 » May 1st, 2010, 10:28 pm

since regualar servicing is done every 3-4 mnths since purchase in 2001 [on low mileage round every 3500kms] and hasnt made a significant difference on the recent problem....i'm thinkin injectors mite b worth a shot...but i not touchin dat pump any time soon...cuz i not smokin now and dont plan on it......mite b a bit hard headed but yuh know how it is interfering with original setup....

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » May 1st, 2010, 11:08 pm

Question Guys about the Frontier.
On page 5-9 of the owners manual. It basically says that the maximum suggested speed in 2H 5th gear is 125km/h.
I see Frontiers going close to 140km/h. Will this do any damage to anything and if not why is that speed there. Just asking I have no intention of ever going over 120km/h.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 2nd, 2010, 2:43 am

sliderz1, Word. Check on the Navara/Frontier maintenance thread here, for further deets on why your frontier might be losing powah.

Rutless Tiida, - yeah that's the maximum speed at which safe-operation and handling is recommended. Beyond that, you're testing with fate. I will admit that I'd gone above 140km/h on occasion - due to several factors influencing my driving at that time - road rage/being in a hustle/late for meetings, etc. I had a scary experience once going at 140km/h so from now on I would advocate keeping the speed under the recommended limit.

The powah, it's intoxicating :) :) - but stay with the light side of the Force.

Safe a life; your own!

JWT

Postby JWT » May 3rd, 2010, 10:09 am

so question driving the vans around 140km/h everyday will damage it?
is that proven

Postby sliderz1 » May 3rd, 2010, 10:42 am

[quote]JWT Posted: Mon May 03, 2010 10:09 am Post subject:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

is that proven
----------------------------------------------------------
it is wel capabable of 180km/h....did 160km/h on an emergeny run and didnt press out.....
but its more unsafe as the suspension is hard because it caters for load and any minor road imperfections at high speed reduces stability daz why zig zagging thru traffic with a 4x4 is not advisable.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aZF8N9NItHI

However it might reduce ur engine life as d high speed increses RPM
5th Gear
120km/h ---> 3000rpm
140km/h ----> 3500rpm (approx)

My QD32 max out is 4600rpm.....is that d same for all d other engines....ZD30T ,TD 27/ 25T

JWT

Postby JWT » May 3rd, 2010, 10:55 am

thanks makes alot of sense now

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 3rd, 2010, 11:05 am

sliderz1 wrote:
JWT Posted: Mon May 03, 2010 10:09 am Post subject:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

is that proven
----------------------------------------------------------
it is wel capabable of 180km/h....did 160km/h on an emergeny run and didnt press out.....
but its more unsafe as the suspension is hard because it caters for load and any minor road imperfections at high speed reduces stability daz why zig zagging thru traffic with a 4x4 is not advisable.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aZF8N9NItHI

However it might reduce ur engine life as d high speed increses RPM
5th Gear
120km/h ---> 3000rpm
140km/h ----> 3500rpm (approx)

My QD32 max out is 4600rpm.....is that d same for all d other engines....ZD30T ,TD 27/ 25T

Word. 120km = 3000RPM on the ZD30T

Re: frontier fuel economy ... QD32 / ZD30T / TD25Ti / TD27

Postby sliderz1 » May 11th, 2010, 3:28 pm

wuz dis blowback thing about??

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » May 15th, 2010, 1:39 am

sliderz1 wrote:wuz dis blowback thing about??

also called blow-by.

its when compression from the combustion chamber blows by/back into the cylinders.
its basically when your piston rings are going/gone. you start burning oil and exhaust smokes alot. the engine will loose some of its power.

i had the problem on a 4d56 whereby the engine was some how pressuring up and forcing oil through the dipstick.when that happened, i burnt half qrt in 2 days. i was told that was blow back occurring.

i used Gold Eagle SMT oil treatment and it stopped.. now its burning its usual amt.

that is a real rare and strange episode for it to just stop pressuring up. its either gold eagle is a real miracle product or something got stuck in the engine between a valve or sumting and it cleared up itself after a while.

i still dont know but just glad i didnt hav to do a rings job yet!

Postby sliderz1 » May 16th, 2010, 11:15 pm

ok man kool....... is more prevelant with turbos??

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 16th, 2010, 11:55 pm

I just redid my week-long experiment to see what's the avg. mileage with the D22 Frontier over a week. Final result = Approx 700km on a FULL tank (i mean, from empty till it was bubbling up at the resevoir mouth - $95 in diesel); Ran the tank dry over the week, till the fuel light came on and then refueled this afternoon

Had forgotten to reset the Trip Odo to zero though, so I started at 241kms, ended at 935km when I refilled today.

Driving mostly on highway, shifting at around 2800-3000 RPM, avg. speed 100-120km/h, a/c on all the time, one passenger most of the time. 3.0L ZD30T turbocharged, Manual Trans., running on Kumho Roadventures 265/60R16 A/T with 32PSI front, 30PSI rear, plus additional weight with chrome factory bullbars in front, fibreglass factory roll bar on tray and tube sidesteps and tube roof-rails.

All in all, a good experiment, and I'm happy to see that I'm getting almost twice the mileage of my sister's 1.4L LEV auto Honda Civic, for the same price of fuel per tank.

Postby sliderz1 » May 22nd, 2010, 1:01 am

dat soundin rel bess .....700kms highway.......hmmmm

Viiii

Postby Viiii » November 18th, 2017, 1:43 pm

Fellas.. im looking for a qd32 engine and box or a complete yd25 head and block