Increased boost on Mitsubishi 4D56

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
CD4Accord

Increased boost on Mitsubishi 4D56

Postby CD4Accord » May 12th, 2010, 2:24 am

Hi everyone,

My 99 Pajero 2.5T is still in top condition with a strong engine and tranny... At this point, I was thinking of raising the turbo boost just a bit higher than stock...

Have any of you done this before, and if so what were the results?
If I remember right, stock boost was maybe 10 or 11 psi and I don't want to go much higher than this.. maybe an extra 3psi should make a nice upgrade..

Anyway, I understand that if dialing up boost I will have to increase diesel flow.. My mechanic will most likely handle that part of it, just wanted to know the faesibility....

Thanks everyone

madcoolieboy
Location: arkham asylum for the criminally insane..Under the alias: 'SYKO'

Re: Increased boost on Mitsubishi 4D56

Postby madcoolieboy » May 12th, 2010, 6:15 am

i did it on my l200... first, buy a manual boost controller not a 2 stage or anything fancy and NOT the cheap no name ones..secondly make sure your injectors good and let your mechanic increase diesel flow just a little... then install the boost controller,you should also buy a boost gauge to monitor things.. note that on the intake manifold there is a spring type valve....this opens at 15 psi and releases all your extra happy boost. it's a kind of fail safe mechanism so that the engine wouldn't get too much boost in case the wastegate fails to regulate the turbo and crap like that...so set your boost at 13 psi..

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 12th, 2010, 11:44 am

madcoolie, thanks for the advice... I am aware about the wastegate, and im not willing to exceed the 15psi, so 13 or 14psi will definitely do me fine...
When you increased yours, what sort of power gain did you have? Enough to justify it?

Also, where did you get your boost controller/gauge.. I havent really been purchasing much in trinidad lately..

droppa

Postby droppa » May 12th, 2010, 1:30 pm

does raising the boost on the 4D56 affect the reliability of the engine/

also with more boost/fuel, is the black smoke feature increased too?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 12th, 2010, 3:15 pm

Black smoke wont be an issue unless you are running rich...
Once you match air/fuel you should not have any issues...,

Regards reliability, its a bit of a risk but if your engine is in good shape and you keep up with oil changes and have a good cooling system... shouldnt be a problem

madcoolieboy

Postby madcoolieboy » May 12th, 2010, 4:57 pm

yeah increasing the boost was worth it...well in my application i did a cold air intake and also the boost controller...plus when you do this, remember to make sure your oil good, oil levels good and your filters and thing in ah order...i recommend getting a k and n drop in or if you decide to make a CAI get a good sized filter cuz diesels need lots of air so a big filter is necessary...you'll notice the improved acceleration, you'll feel more torque and you'll get a few more km/h on your top end....

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 12th, 2010, 5:07 pm

I would consider a CAI but it wont really fit with my plans for the vehicle...

Firstly, I would be worried about heat soak issues with that hot diesel engine, and secondly without additional fabrication I wouldnt want to take it through flood for fear of hydrolock..

I run Castrol Hypuron Semi-Syn oil on regular changes and all my filters etc been recently done..
Basically im hoping to up the boost on stock set up otherwise..

I would do a K + N drop in but I doubt there is one for this engine.. especially in the odd turbine design filter..

madcoolieboy

Postby madcoolieboy » May 12th, 2010, 5:37 pm

there is a filter for the 4d56 as well ad a cold air intake system manufactured by k&n.. the CAI is for the l200 so i don't know how it'll work on a pajero.. at the time of my mods i was using mobil 1 delvac 15w40 full synth.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 12th, 2010, 8:59 pm

madcoolie, your right... There is a K + N drop in for about $80 US
Unless it has some truly special gains, that is A LOT of money to throw just for an air filter....

It has to make for a significant difference to justify it... Maybe when I have some spare cash I will give it a run... I do notice a significantly different design than the original though, which has those odd platic fins around it

madcoolieboy

Postby madcoolieboy » May 12th, 2010, 10:06 pm

dude once you buy a k and n you don't ever need to replace it...ever!! just clean and re oil and go again...and besides allowing for more airflow, they're better overall than the paper ones with the lil 'fins'..plus the filter alone should give you about 5 hp...

venum

Postby venum » May 12th, 2010, 10:50 pm

I wanna try this too

But when I have extra $ for another engine

I have a K&N drop in - fits in the stock airbox

Works well - increase in power from the very minute of install

But gets dirty quickly

madcoolieboy

Postby madcoolieboy » May 12th, 2010, 10:56 pm

you know if you buy the non turbo 4d56 and slap on all the turbo components, it'll real get on... i did this with my first l200 after killing an engine...

Mech Mines

Postby Mech Mines » May 12th, 2010, 11:10 pm

LOOKING 4 A HEAD 4 THE 4D56

madcoolieboy

Postby madcoolieboy » May 12th, 2010, 11:34 pm

lol...thaz the first thing that does go.....i have a bottom block minus the crank if anyone's interested...you hadda chek di bamboo..

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » May 14th, 2010, 8:49 pm

madcoolieboy wrote:you know if you buy the non turbo 4d56 and slap on all the turbo components, it'll real get on... i did this with my first l200 after killing an engine...

did you use the stock 4d56 non turbo head and block?

Im seeing from a workshop manual i have on the turbo models the compression ratio is 21.
I cant find the compression ratio of the non turbo model.

also, wrt fuel, you just turn up the fuel pump and used back the stock injectors?

turboing the engine in the van crossed my mind a few times already.

madcoolieboy

Postby madcoolieboy » May 15th, 2010, 8:01 am

well what happened, we couldn't get the turbo engine so the mechanic bought the n/a engine and just used things like injectors and stuff from the turbo engine this is cuz i melted 2 pistons bent the valves blew the head and scorched the rods so i didn't have much to re-use anyway....but after all even with the high compression and the turbo she lasted until i sold the van.. my second l200 was the one i did the CAI and increase boost on..

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 15th, 2010, 3:24 pm

So i talked to my mech and he said we will start by going up about 2-3 psi.. will use his boost gauge to check out the numbers....

Aditionally, need to get the injectors taken out and serviced...
Any of you know a good place for it? using diesel injector cleaner really doesnt do anything for it

madcoolieboy

Postby madcoolieboy » May 15th, 2010, 7:12 pm

hmmmmm....i saw a post somewhere bout a guy who does injector servicing... can't give the details though..i could link you with someone but is in san fernando thaz the only thing

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 16th, 2010, 12:20 am

Well considering that I from south, that would be quite perfect................

If you have the info, hook me up! thanks
Last edited by CD4Accord on November 16th, 2010, 2:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » May 16th, 2010, 8:11 am

u can contact TC @ 7538345
He located in Chaguanas.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 16th, 2010, 2:11 pm

madcoolieboy wrote:hmmmmm....i saw a post somewhere bout a guy who does injector servicing... can't give the details though..i could link you with someone but is in san fernando thaz the only thing

Mechanic friend of mine recommended Sookhai's Diesel, close to Trac Mac. Said they do good injector servicing there. Never went by them personally though, but I trust the mech and his word is good.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » May 17th, 2010, 12:38 am

compression ratio is the same on both the turbo and non turbo 4D56 engines...

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 21st, 2010, 8:48 pm

madcoolie, still no word on the fella who services diesel injectors? Want to remove my rough idle before increasing boost...

Timeshift

Postby Timeshift » May 26th, 2011, 2:15 pm

hey you guys think this applicable? I see it says for 2001 model as well but i not sure

http://www.knfilters.com/search/product ... d=57A-6031

Timeshift

Postby Timeshift » May 26th, 2011, 2:16 pm

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » May 26th, 2011, 5:28 pm

yeaa i doh see why it wudnt work...!

Timeshift

Postby Timeshift » May 26th, 2011, 6:19 pm

bessness! thanks man!

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » June 5th, 2011, 1:05 am

Timeshift, did you just buy a K+N for a 4D56T?

By chance do you know anywhere that will do a great job servicing the injectors on this engine besides sookhai's?

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » June 5th, 2011, 12:05 pm

zaid mustapha auto parts in el socorro... dey do injector cleaning for alll tyoes of vehicle... think it cost around $600-$700.. which is not bad compared to sookhais...

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » June 5th, 2011, 5:46 pm

^^Can you give directions the this person above? does the prices include changing of tips etc?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”