Mobil Delvac Price Gone Up

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
V2NR 3.0

Mobil Delvac Price Gone Up

Postby V2NR 3.0 » October 16th, 2010, 8:53 am

Its ridiculous now...some word about a middle man being involved hence the reason for the price increase.

What other oil can i use now ? - Been using Mobil forever and ever and ever...sighs

lighthammer

Re: Mobil Delvac Price Gone Up

Postby lighthammer » October 16th, 2010, 6:13 pm

Shell Rimula R6 is now available in Trinidad. It's a fully synthetic oil, and your change intervals would be every 7500-10000KM. It's recommended for newer, high output turbocharged diesel engines, and suitable for diesels with modern exhaust & emission control systems like EGR, etc. It has a higher soot-tolerance than the older Rimula X and Rimula X Super, plus detergents to prevent sludge buildup.

Approx $230 per gallon, your truck would take 1 gallon & 3 quarts approx of oil.
I saw it in Laughlin & Degannes for $230 per gallon.
Auto Village have it for $225 per gallon.

I switched from Rimula Super 15w40 to Rimula R4 15W40.
http://www-static.shell.com/static/irl/downloads/shell_for_businesses/shell_rimula_guidance_tool.pdf

Frontier running real smooth & lots of power again.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 16th, 2010, 7:38 pm

How much did it go up to? Last price I paid in Couva at Teach was $245 per gallon.

It is about to be phased out and replaced with Gulf oil. Might be a good idea to find a replacement. I may go with either Shell or Valvoline on the 1kzte.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 16th, 2010, 8:41 pm

I read on the bottle that Shell Rimula R6 is the recommended flavour for modern diesel engines, specifically those with EGR's and DPF's. It's formulated to help reduce soot as well, hence giving cleaner emissions. Since it's relatively new on the market, most of the sales ppl I asked didnt know too much about it.

I believe it's ideal for common-rail diesel applications too.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » October 17th, 2010, 8:38 am

400 km to my next oil change.. I feeling the Amsoil though...

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » October 17th, 2010, 9:25 am

who say amsoil
jus approachin 5000 km
5000 km to go or should i run it longer

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » October 17th, 2010, 10:22 am

Been using the amsoil since i got my nav, works great, change it ever 10K
and neal and massey still honors the warranty

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » October 17th, 2010, 12:24 pm

amsoil wrote:Amsoil is the way to go it cost approx $280.00 and i get 15,000kms.Also they are the first to invent an synthetic oil and has been the most advanced since.Works great

But thats almost the price of Mobil. Grhhh

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 17th, 2010, 4:08 pm

I'm tellin you man... Shell Rimula R6 is the way to go :)

Cheaper than Mobil or Amsoil, and just as good.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » October 17th, 2010, 4:14 pm

V2NR 3.0 wrote:
amsoil wrote:Amsoil is the way to go it cost approx $280.00 and i get 15,000kms.Also they are the first to invent an synthetic oil and has been the most advanced since.Works great

But thats almost the price of Mobil. Grhhh

But its.. AMSOIL

bt50

Postby bt50 » October 18th, 2010, 6:42 am

anybody try the gulf? I saw that the boat that won the great race 2010 was powered by gulf oil....

Think i might try it...$458 for 5 gallon pail.

Lighthammer ...is the r6 available in pails or just gallons

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 18th, 2010, 10:25 am

bt50 wrote:anybody try the gulf? I saw that the boat that won the great race 2010 was powered by gulf oil....

Think i might try it...$458 for 5 gallon pail.

Lighthammer ...is the r6 available in pails or just gallons

That's regular mineral oil right? Any synthetic options?

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » October 18th, 2010, 10:50 am

Are there any synthetic oils available in pails? IF so which ones and where can I buy it?

bt50

Postby bt50 » October 18th, 2010, 11:32 am

Ok guys:

Gulf - no synthetic just mineral...a quick browse of their website shows no synthetic options. Plus i called lange who indicated 15W-40 - pail about $460.00 inclusive VAT

Shell R6 - only by gallons at the moment - $210 plus vat - quote from Farfan

NP - Forgive me but i not seeing any synthetic diesel on thier website- i thought they did . Pail $520.00 for the ultra duty 50W.

Total - Straight 40 body (not synthetic) 410 plus vat pail.

Mobil 1 delvac - 5W40 full synthetic - 1408 for a pail.

Fellas long and short - im not gonna use any 50 body oil at this point since i using delvac from the beginning. If i had gotten the shell in Pails I would live with that but the rep said Trinidad region - no pails at this point. The chic I spoke to regarding the total oil seems like she needs some more training in Oil specs....birds must never deal with oil unless its babyoil...so if anyone have a link with total get some info and post up...

No info was obtained regarding Castrol...so you guys can update as well

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » October 18th, 2010, 12:57 pm

Ive been using nothing but Delvac as well. The shell information sounding good.

Good info BT50

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » October 18th, 2010, 1:27 pm

Checked Penny Savers Auto on Aranguez Road. $305 per gallon of Mobil 1 Delvac. That price is hot!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 18th, 2010, 2:36 pm

shell R6 only in gallons for now, I didn't see any pails at Laughlin & Degannes.
The only pails they have is in shell helix.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » October 18th, 2010, 3:47 pm

Rutless Tiida wrote:Checked Penny Savers Auto on Aranguez Road. $305 per gallon of Mobil 1 Delvac. That price is hot!

Nothing about saving pennies this rounds. The price in el scorro is $325 per gallon and elsewhere it varies here and there by a couple of bucks. But overall, the price increase is going to result in some serious customer depletion since many of them, like me, are going to switch.

Im telling ya, this oil looks like the way...

venum

Postby venum » October 18th, 2010, 5:50 pm

shell is teh waay ppl

been using it in different vehicles for years

great stuff at graet price (blended locally)

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 18th, 2010, 7:02 pm

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » October 19th, 2010, 11:55 am

Aye...why you put so much oil on the topic man ??

Reaches for the degreaser now...

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » October 20th, 2010, 12:07 am

How about Castrol Hypuron 15w-40? Its a syn-blend and I was paying about $180 a galon for it at Mathura's St James..
You wont find it cheaper elsewhere I assure you

Also, the reason prices on the market gone kinda strange is that Lange no longer imports Mobil due to some sort of pricing disagreement.. So they switched agencies to Gulf oil...

What happened before was that Mobil corporate would set pricing for lange, but people were going behind Lange's back and bringing in Mobil themselves despite Lange being sole distributors.. This would then undercut Lange's price (as dictated by mobil) and would put them in a bad situation whereby they did the marketing and others reaped the benefits..

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 20th, 2010, 5:55 am

^^ loads of people bringing in the Mobile 1 and Amsoil behind the distributor's back man.
Undercutting the legit local market.

Amsoil isn't really sold on the local market because Amsoil didn't really see a market here in trinidad (for some strange reason) for retail sales, hence they only sell on an industrial level (i.e. to major car dealers and for company use).

Having said that - the official supplier of Amsoil to McEarney Motors is "Prolube", they supply oild for our local rangers and Everest vehicles.

Call Tony at Prolube - 6336110

They only sell Amsoil by the CASE, not by individual gallons. I believe it's somewhere around $650 (prob a little less than that) for a case of 1 gallon bottles x4 per case.
They also sell the Amsoil cetane boost for $65 per 12 oz bottle, and you only need a teaspoon's worth per fillup because it's a concentrated formula (like orchard partymix).

Prolube is based out of Diego Martin, no real "office" or "showroom" that you can visit but they will do drop offs for you (within reasonable distances) once you make arrangements to buy and to pay.

Having said that - SHELL RIMULA R6 people..... i believe it's superior to Castrol Hypuron.

BELIEVE IN SHELL!!
(put in Shell R4 in the Frontier last weekend, truck running awesome, no smoke, no power loss, no problem at all!!!!)

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » October 20th, 2010, 7:18 am

I was doing some research on the Aussies website and alot of persons across there are using
Castrlol RX SUPER. Lots of good reviews on this oil. Is it available down here ?

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » October 20th, 2010, 7:30 pm

switched to RP 15-40 an i can tell u....frontier runnin bess!! $1058 fuh a 5 gallon pail workin out to $211.60 per gallon :D i doubt u findin a full synthetic anyware in trini fuh dat price. bought it in cocoyea btw

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » October 20th, 2010, 8:49 pm

lighthammer thaz 650 a case fro the amsoil!!!! x 4 gallons per case
that price reallll good
ill call dem this week and buy if thaz d case lol
amsoil ftw

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » October 20th, 2010, 10:47 pm

I have a hookup for cost-price Shell Lubricants.. only problem is, I just bought so much Total for the accord and castrol for the pajero that I have oil to last me at least a yr....

Nonetheless, I go try to find out pricing.. Maybe I can start selling shell on de side..

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » October 21st, 2010, 7:26 am

run some information on the link up nah...im feeling the r6

bt50

Postby bt50 » October 21st, 2010, 7:47 am

yeah....run info on the link for the shell r6

V2NR 3.0