Hilux Horn Blowing intermittant problem

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
MonsterPower

Hilux Horn Blowing intermittant problem

Postby MonsterPower » February 3rd, 2011, 10:38 pm

Ok guys i know i dont post much here but i am here regular

now the Hilux is a Jan 08 kun26r model with a 1kd-ftv engine doing 98k with diy servicing.. the warranty has expired and now some problems has been popping up

Thing is a couple of weeks ago the horn when pressed started to blow intermittant and then last week the air-bag light came on . this got me worried, so after some research on the link nigel1977 posted i realised it was the ribbon cable type
with this info i decided to open it up and and either find the problem and try to fix it or think of replacing it .
What i found was the ribbon indeed had a break in the wire so i will now have to face the stealership or look to bring down the part myself.. looking thru the service manual i am seeing the part # as 84306-0k020.

i know its a long read so i posted up some pics of what i did and what i found
102_0463.JPG
my van at work ..
102_0501.JPG
not so clear pic of the break in the ribbon
102_0496.JPG
to cover taken off
102_0495.JPG
close up of the connectors
102_0494.JPG
the steering taken off
102_0493.JPG
the airbag taken off
Last edited by MonsterPower on February 4th, 2011, 6:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

venum

Re: Hilux Horn Blowing intermittant problem

Postby venum » February 3rd, 2011, 11:31 pm

that model Hilux shares the steering wheel with a lot of other model Toyota

the NZE corolla comes to mind

these models have readily available parts in the foreign used market.

maybe you can buy one of these models steering wheels (you may have to buy the entire steering column) and scrap it out to get the part.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 4th, 2011, 1:27 am

^what venum said.

Might be the same connectors as the Nze and later model corollas.

Try bamboo, if u have a pardna there you might get through and not have to buy an entire steering column.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » February 4th, 2011, 6:38 pm

nah guys i already checked all those scenarios the nze carry a diff connector..

called tttl and they said $2200vi and its in stock .. my bro is due to visit thailand next week so i have asked him to check on it .

will try to post some pics of the repair in progress

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » February 4th, 2011, 8:56 pm

Did you recently carry the truck for an alignment. I have heard ppl complain of it breaking during an alignment.

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » February 5th, 2011, 10:34 am

Shouldn't this be covered under the warranty?

venum

Postby venum » February 5th, 2011, 11:26 am

from his original post i don't think the vehicke was serviced by TTTL, so they may void the warranty

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » February 5th, 2011, 7:42 pm

oops... missed that line :mrgreen:

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » February 6th, 2011, 2:16 pm

its a company vehicle so we did the first 50k servicing at tttl then their service dates started to get longer and longer .. sometime we got 2 months waiting time so we just started to buy the filters and do it at work

the the van never did any alignment outside of the ones at tttl ,only other place was at milage mack who just did an inspection .

apparently its a common problem as the guy said they sell quite a few

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 7th, 2011, 12:55 pm

That still park up over there? Clear the bush at least na man :| Allyuh wutless yuhno.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » February 7th, 2011, 8:18 pm

loader has been repaired and put back into work and we looking for a genset for the crusher as i speak..

btw u find the part for me ?

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 7th, 2011, 10:11 pm

Its in malyasia, Im not going to commercial thailand unless i find one in Puckett, Im spending a day on a stop over in malyasia where i wanted to go cheak out the F1 area so if on that run I could hit a dealership Ill see what I could do.

Ill also try finding one in singapore but I suspect it to be expensive.

Postby Team Loco » February 8th, 2011, 8:48 am

ITS A COMMON PROBLEM AND TTTL WILL RAPE YOU!!. we have had to change 3 spirals on one d4d hilux over the past 3 yrs. we have spent over $8000 on airbag repair. guess what! all alignment is done by TTTL. this is a manufacturer's defect. it will not get any better

badart

Postby badart » February 8th, 2011, 3:23 pm

hopefully they fixed this issue with the newer models

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » February 8th, 2011, 6:50 pm

YOUCH DEY LOCO... well of kurpal pull tru i wont have to face dem .. until then i have to contend with a blinking abs light

btw was the problem ever solved on the van ?

venum

Postby venum » February 9th, 2011, 9:34 pm

best yuh tel kurpal to get you 3 one time yes, cuz according to TL it's gonna happen again

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 3rd, 2011, 2:49 pm

Singapore had the thing almost the same as what I was quoted in TTTL and KL wont sell me without a reg number, they said contact my local dealer :|

IDK how but Ill see if after market could contribute.

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 3rd, 2011, 3:26 pm

IDK123

Postby IDK123 » August 29th, 2016, 10:15 pm

Australia and new Zealand have both done recalls for this very same issue as it is a safety threat. The stated cause is when the steering is turned to many times. Besides having no horn the air bag may not deploy.

Because this is trinidad they could do we what they want. My father have the same issue as many of you I tell him go in they tail.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » August 30th, 2016, 10:39 pm

Had same problem. Talk to Toyota who basically said nothing to do with them. Ended up bringing down spiral cable for myself . Way cheaper and going on 4 months and working great

IDK123

Postby IDK123 » September 17th, 2016, 4:12 pm

Spoke with toyota with the same out come. They said the van not on any recall list that they know about.
Pariaman send me the link you used to buy the spiral please

OracleTnT

Postby OracleTnT » November 1st, 2016, 1:26 pm

I got a call from Toyota to replace mine free - recall

IDK123

Postby IDK123 » December 27th, 2017, 11:59 am

guys I can get the replacement for you much cheaper than the firm. also fixed it on the d40 navara as well

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » December 30th, 2017, 12:15 am

What price

IDK123

Postby IDK123 » December 30th, 2017, 11:13 pm

PariaMan wrote:What price

check your inbox