633KM for $86 Diesel..Hilux!

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
PTME

633KM for $86 Diesel..Hilux!

Postby PTME » February 8th, 2011, 11:16 am

This is how much i got with high accelaration.

badart

Re: 633KM for $86 Diesel..Hilux!

Postby badart » February 8th, 2011, 3:20 pm

ent thaz normal lol i get 500km from 3/4 tank takes around $75

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » February 8th, 2011, 3:55 pm

I think being stuck in traffic is what brings it down

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 8th, 2011, 3:58 pm

i use to get that normal in my navara with ac on

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 8th, 2011, 4:13 pm

frontier - 650km from full and then fuel light comes on
Navara - same.

$95 to fill from "E".

A/C always on, moderate-hard driving.

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » February 8th, 2011, 5:32 pm

LH how u get dat?!?! i does ketch ass jus to make 450km on a full tank :(

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 8th, 2011, 5:53 pm

Hmm... considering that ur frontier and mine are similar specc'd, it might have something to do with the fuel system and or injectors.

Perhaps it might be worth flushing out the fuel system, servicing the injectors and calibrating the fuel pump - maybe at the next major service.

When I had the frontier I drove it moderately, sometimes hard. Shifted at around 2700-3000rpm, hardly passed 120-130km/hr, and I used the AC all the time. Also drove with the windows up - I figured it'd help make the vehicle more aerodynamic.

Usually I'd get 600km or so, if I pushed it to E i'd get 650km. I also used the cyclo diesel cleaner from pricesmart regularly.

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » February 8th, 2011, 6:51 pm

will look into dat....i knew 3ltr's were thirstier, but not not dat bad one time

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » February 8th, 2011, 6:57 pm

but d other ting i noticed was dat fuh d whole run sunday i got 210.9km on jus over quarter tank, an was tinkin dat relllll gd

however, tryna keep up wit wagon on da drive bac was no easy task an thats where my economy plummeted......dam u wagon_r!!!

rottedv

Postby rottedv » February 8th, 2011, 9:03 pm

I get 800km on $95 diesel and thats' not from E. AC ocasionally and 120 to 130km/h driving and then some heavy traffic....

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » February 8th, 2011, 9:26 pm

i get 550km 90 with ac on all the time, never comes off
nav

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 8th, 2011, 9:39 pm

rottedV - the 2.5 2KD-FTV hilux engine is quite economical. Not being as powerful as the 3.0 1KD-FTV means it burns less fuel .

The 2.5 4D56 D-1D engine in the lower-spec Sportero is also very economical as well - up to 800km per tank too.

PTME

Postby PTME » February 9th, 2011, 9:52 am

Yeah mines a 2.5 hilux and i get gr8 fuel economy and performance but i'm not an a/c addict i like to appreciate the fresh breeze cause i've been to other countries where rollin down ur window is not even an option, then the recylced air is not always the healthiest ting so i encourage ALL to try it when possible n don't be an A/C addict!!..lol

Postby wagon r » February 9th, 2011, 9:55 am

MrCuddles wrote:however, tryna keep up wit wagon on da drive bac was no easy task an thats where my economy plummeted......dam u wagon_r!!!

...i have no idea of what you speak... :roll:

Peong

Postby Peong » February 9th, 2011, 10:35 am

So what's my flippin problem then?????.... I have the Nav 4x4 LE. I fill up at quarter tank, and have never been able to get more than 330km off the first 3/4.

I don't do any highway or long driving, majority short start and stop trips, so I expect lower mileage, but and I don't drive hard (try to keep the revs below 2500) or use a/c.... crap.... 100 - 200 km's less is ridiculous.

Is there a problem with my van? Oh, and I use Amsoil Cetane boost and have installed the K&N filter.

Does short start and stop trips reduce your mileage that much as opposed to highway driving?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 9th, 2011, 12:26 pm

Peong wrote:So what's my flippin problem then?????.... I have the Nav 4x4 LE. I fill up at quarter tank, and have never been able to get more than 330km off the first 3/4.

I don't do any highway or long driving, majority short start and stop trips,

Does short start and stop trips reduce your mileage that much as opposed to highway driving?

Yeah that's the main culprit there. Start and stop driving, even if it's over short distances can impact your overal fuel economy in a huge way.

Imagine it like this - you use a certain amount of diesel to get your van up to speed, but then a short while after u have to step on the brakes to stop - the energy from all that fuel gets wasted. Picture doing so severl times over for each trip and you can see where all the diesel goes.

On extended trips, less fuel is used because momentum keeps the vehicle moving. Hence it takes less fuel/energy to keep the momentum constant vs. having to constantly rebuild momentum over and over again.

My daily drive is along the east-west corridor, probably more than 75% highway driving. Once u begin to spend more time in start-stop traffic, overall economy takes a big hit.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » February 9th, 2011, 12:27 pm

hmm something wrong there, let massey check and make sure everything workign properly
hearing any strange pusling sounds?

Postby wagon r » February 9th, 2011, 12:30 pm

^ in an word yes.

i got better mileage workin in town and driving to and from chaguanas, than when the office moved to chaguanas.

i have the worst mileage than most people but it's because i have more weight to tote around than all of you....those bars you see on my van are all soild ole iron...!

mileage dropped by 65km when they were all added.

Dunman

Postby Dunman » February 9th, 2011, 12:46 pm

From a previous post of mine:

I've noticed that the biggest factor affecting mileage (for me) is driving style.

For example, when I first got my Nav I drove it basically like I drive my car - HARD!

4000-5000 rpm at takeoff was normal and I would ease up when I got to desired speed (120-140km/hr). On my first 3 tank-fulls (around $95) I got around 400km. Based on what I read on this forum, I knew I should be getting 550-650 for a new Nav so I changed my driving style.

On the next tank-full I got 620km, a woping 220km more!

So now I just cruise, trying to keep my rpm below 2500 (unless some civic interferes with me at the light).

Just sharing my experience.

And yes I know better now, so doh buff meh, Lighthammer set me straight already!

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » February 9th, 2011, 1:00 pm

lighthammer wrote:
Peong wrote:So what's my flippin problem then?????.... I have the Nav 4x4 LE. I fill up at quarter tank, and have never been able to get more than 330km off the first 3/4.

I don't do any highway or long driving, majority short start and stop trips,

Yeah that's the main culprit there. Start and stop driving, even if it's over short distances can impact your overal fuel economy in a huge way.

Imagine it like this - you use a certain amount of diesel to get your van up to speed, but then a short while after u have to step on the brakes to stop - the energy from all that fuel gets wasted. Picture doing so severl times over for each trip and you can see where all the diesel goes.

On extended trips, less fuel is used because momentum keeps the vehicle moving. Hence it takes less fuel/energy to keep the momentum constant vs. having to constantly rebuild momentum over and over again.

My daily drive is along the east-west corridor, probably more than 75% highway driving. Once u begin to spend more time in start-stop traffic, overall economy takes a big hit.

I barely ever get 400 out of a FULL tank with the Ranger..

Its all because of traffic and short distance. Work to home is 17km, and takes more than an hour.

On the long runs, like the run sunday, got 225 for little less than 1/4 tank.
Which seems to be around the same for everyone.

Its traffic and driving style. If you making long runs and still getting real bad ratio, then I would look into it further.

Peong

Postby Peong » February 9th, 2011, 2:06 pm

jhonnieblue, no, no pulsing noise. it's still fairly brand new (not yet 6 months old), so I would hate to think that something is that drastically wrong already.

Thanks people. I feel a little better now, but it's a harsh reality to face. My only consolation is that because I don't do as much driving, i don't fill up as often, so I guess that's where I can count my savings. And in the end, if I ever decide to get rid of it, the mileage will be low.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » February 9th, 2011, 2:14 pm

no well i had mine new too and after 3 months the turbo went thru
manufacturers defect
so keep ure mind open to everything, cause when it went bad i was burning real diesel.

PTME

Postby PTME » February 9th, 2011, 7:47 pm

i wonder if i drive slow how much more i can get out of it...hmmm.

droppa

Postby droppa » February 10th, 2011, 8:37 am

drive hard, drive slow, traffic, highway, i does have to fight up to get over 375km for avg $80 deisel, my engine being alot older than u guys and also not common rail and 3.0, i expect less mileage, on sundays run i did 250k and was between half and 3/4 wen i got home........

does the EGR affect fuel economy?

wen i did my head change recently i ceaned the intake, the old EGR was broken so the inatke was in a mess, now i have almost no black smaoke as compared to before, but i feel a lil power drop.....

Peong

Postby Peong » February 10th, 2011, 8:44 am

Jhonnieblue.... I hear yuh. I was actually prepared to ask them to check everything at next service because mileage was low, but the explanations here seem logical enough. I've not had any drop in performance or power and no weird noises, so i'm inclined to accept my situation for now. I'll still bring it up at next service and see what is said... At the very least I should get a humorous response that could keep us laughing/b!tching here for a while.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 10th, 2011, 6:38 pm

peong & jhonnieblue - any problems with smoking from your Navara's?
I had a smoking problem with mine - Droppa pointed it out on the Blanchi-run, I figured that it was due to me driving the Navara hard from when I first got it 3 weeks prior, as well as our crap diesel.

I did an ECU reset and I noticed the smoke is a bit less now unless under hard acceleration, and the power increased slightly. Prior to the ECU reset I was getting 600km per tank, and then it went up to 630-650km per tank.

Peong

Postby Peong » February 11th, 2011, 9:17 am

I haven't noticed any smoking problem (however, I'm seldom behind my van when I'm driving :D ). I have noticed a bit of white smoke when I kick down hard, but I won't call it a problem as such as I would expect all diesel vehicles to do the same.

WRT the ECU reset. Why would I want to do this and/or when? I know there was a thread about it somewhere. Can someone direct me to it?

PTME

Postby PTME » February 11th, 2011, 11:55 am

ok but mines don't do that at least not enough for me to see.,,,4yr Hilux

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 11th, 2011, 12:01 pm

Nah u don't need to reset the ECU unless u had some trouble with smoke or loss of power.

droppa

Postby droppa » February 11th, 2011, 12:41 pm

Peong wrote:I haven't noticed any smoking problem (however, I'm seldom behind my van when I'm driving :D ). I have noticed a bit of white smoke when I kick down hard, but I won't call it a problem as such as I would expect all diesel vehicles to do the same.

soldier diesel not supposed to smoke white, its supposed to be a fine gray-black smoke, anything other than that is something off,not sure what white smoke means, from what ive read i think its oil burning...get that checked!!

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”