mazda b2500 WLT diesel engine

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

mazda b2500 WLT diesel engine

Postby AllTrac » June 6th, 2011, 9:59 am

guys know where I can get a complete head and block for the 2004 B2500 diesel mazda?

I would use back all my other accessories, I just need a low mileage head and block, I think the ford ranger WLT diesel is the same engine.

Re: mazda b2500 WLT diesel engine

Postby 3stagevtec » June 6th, 2011, 2:16 pm

What happened to the old one? (We have a 2004 B2500 as well)

Gx7

Postby Gx7 » June 6th, 2011, 3:43 pm

in bamboo the road after the temple take a left , the first place on the right has ...... the engines are doin less that 60 xxx km wel lthats wat the the people say !

Postby AllTrac » June 7th, 2011, 10:36 am

3stagevtec wrote:What happened to the old one? (We have a 2004 B2500 as well)

its for my uncles b2500, his one cracked the head, i have a b2500 to and it going strong, but mines doh have de mileage his have tho :lol: I guess its a hit or miss with the WLT.

Postby AllTrac » June 7th, 2011, 10:37 am

sti7 wrote:in bamboo the road after the temple take a left , the first place on the right has ...... the engines are doin less that 60 xxx km wel lthats wat the the people say !

thanks man, i know exactly where you talking about

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » June 7th, 2011, 11:19 am

^ yeah that's Prabhu's.

They have a good range of diesel engines, I saw quite a few nissan diesels and a few 4d56 Mitsu diesels in there.

Not sure if they have the WLT though.
And yeah, the WLT and MZ-DE engines in the Ranger / B2500 are one and the same.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » June 23rd, 2011, 12:36 am

If when you go can you find out if the have the 3.0 mazda bt50 engines complete conversion ?

Postby Team Loco » June 24th, 2011, 9:09 am

i only buy from prabhus. bought a wL three mths ago. best quality engine ever. my mazda RF titan runs an upgraded engine from them 4 yrs now and not a problem. really good stuff. trac, i just gave away a WL head and block, but it needed rings. sorry

eltoro

Postby eltoro » June 24th, 2011, 11:33 am

Team Loco "RF Titan" what upgraded engine are you refering to? I am interested in using an Mazda RF (2.0 turbo) in an upcoming project are these prone to bearing failure (maybe after 8 yrs!) or reliable?
On another note when would someone start the official Anti-Southern Sales thread for bringing into Trinidad thousands of Mazda 12v WL-T pick-ups which by my estimate about 80% have failed head before turning 8years! Well that is the kinda sheit the new car dealers love to push down the government and always complaining that 'the foreing used vehicles causing too much traffic and accidents'. Poor people must suffer here boy. Do the maths, 80% for the Mazdas (not Ford) may be conservative!

Postby Team Loco » June 24th, 2011, 12:10 pm

i will get the correct engine code and post it.
i am not aware of 80% failure in the mazdas pertaining to head problems, but i am aware of the tendency for turbo failures. we have mazdas with wl and they work very well. never had cause to change head. in fact, the last wl engine gave us 12 yrs service.

eltoro

Postby eltoro » June 25th, 2011, 8:00 am

Team Loco...just saying that before my last project..did some research and spoke to mechanics (who all led me to the TD27!) also spoke to over 16 owners of Mazda pick-ups TBK or NEWER and perhaps 10-12 already changed engines or heads! While perhaps the foreign-used WL-T engines do hold out, there is surely a defect in the engines which came with the Southern Supply Mazdas, obviously some folks get lucky and have no issues and the WL-T is indeed a power-house so folks love it...but high risk of cracked head...my pocket too shallow for that risk

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » June 25th, 2011, 10:54 am

plastic radiator head seperates coupled with the smaller core 2core iirc contributes to head failure..

the wl non turbo engine is more sturdy than the wlt but is priced more in the bamboo

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » June 25th, 2011, 1:02 pm

^^ ever tried changing to a larger, aluminum radiator for better cooling?

Most of the guys who I've asked wrt to cracked heads on the wlt had stock radiators and no previous cooling problems, no history of overheating, etc.

telfer

Postby telfer » June 26th, 2011, 5:04 pm

Is it WL-AT engine u are looking for?

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 29th, 2011, 12:40 am

lighthammer wrote:^^ ever tried changing to a larger, aluminum radiator for better cooling?

Most of the guys who I've asked wrt to cracked heads on the wlt had stock radiators and no previous cooling problems, no history of overheating, etc.

When they changed out from n/a they added the alum rad

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » June 29th, 2011, 4:36 pm

did u get through, Alltrac?

cazoid

Postby cazoid » November 25th, 2011, 6:05 pm

hi iam looking for a a b2500 wl non turbo engine i will settle for thge wlt if no non turbo is availible can anybody help me plz

*nightrider*

Postby *nightrider* » November 25th, 2011, 10:38 pm

wat u doin wit d old head an block

cazoid

Postby cazoid » November 28th, 2011, 10:54 am

I will have them for sale if i get another one

seanx

Postby seanx » December 1st, 2011, 6:45 am

I have just joined and I hope I will learn a lot of new information here.
I admire the valuable information you offered in your article. Excellent submission very good post.Keep posting thumbs up.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » December 1st, 2011, 8:32 am

^ Welcome dude...

djbrian868

Postby djbrian868 » June 11th, 2019, 10:55 pm

Not sure if anyone can assist me but can a wl engine from a 1994-98 b2500 work bolt for bolt on a 2004-06 b2500?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”