The new 2012 Toyota Hilux

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
lighthammer

The new 2012 Toyota Hilux

Postby lighthammer » July 14th, 2011, 7:14 pm

The new Hilux recently debuted and it's got a facelift as well as tuned engines, with gains in performance and comfort.

Original article here.

2012 Toyota HiLux facelift image leaked
By Tim Beissmann | June 7th, 2011

The first image of the facelifted 2012 Toyota HiLux has leaked onto the internet ahead of the vehicle’s global debut at the 2011 Australian International Motor Show in Melbourne on July 1.

Toyota Australia’s Mike Breen confirmed the new Toyota HiLux will go on sale around two or three months after its local unveiling, pointing at an Australian launch in either September or October.

Mr Breen confirmed the vehicle in the image above (the HiLux Vigo from Thailand) is “fairly representative” of the facelifted model that will be sold locally. The headlights are bolder and squarer, similar to the LandCruiser 200 Series, while the grille adopts a strong three-bar layout. The design of the lower bumper also appears chunkier, giving the HiLux a solid stance.

Mr Breen confirmed there would not be significant changes to the engines or transmissions offered in the upgraded HiLux range, with the current offerings to be carried over into the new model.

The HiLux range includes three different engines: a 116kW/240Nm 2.7-litre four-cylinder petrol, a 126kW/343Nm 3.0-litre four-cylinder diesel and the benchmark 175kW/376Nm 4.0-litre V6 petrol.

It is expected that all new HiLux models will be equipped with electronic stability control (ESC) as standard, following the lead of the Volkswagen Amarok, although Mr Breen refused to confirm this.

The Toyota HiLux is the most popular light commercial vehicle in Australia, and so far this year is the third most popular vehicle overall behind the Holden Commodore and the Mazda3.

The HiLux has a 24.6 percent share of the 4×2 pick-up/cab-chassis segment and 27.1 percent of the 4×4 pick-up/cab-chassis segment.

And from another website:
http://www.themotorreport.com.au/52103/2012-toyota-hilux-on-sale-in-australia-from-september

2012 TOYOTA HILUX

Toyota's updated 2012 HiLux will hit showrooms in September, bringing a number of styling tweaks and safety upgrades across the range.

On the design front, the top-selling pickup gets a restyled front-end with new headlights, a new grille, updated quarter panels and a new bonnet scoop.

There are also revised bumpers at both ends, along with clear tail-light lenses and a new sports bar. Changes in the cabin are centred around new seat and door trims.

New Workmate variants have been added to the existing entry-level range, and all 4x4 models are now rated with a braked towing capacity of 2.5 tonnes - up from 2.25.

Anti-lock braking has also been adopted across the range as a standard feature, where it was formerly available as an option pack for all but the top-shelf SR5.

Mechanical and engine details are expected to remain unchanged for the 2012 model year.
2012 Toyota HiLux Pricing

More specification details and pricing will be released closer to the 2012 HiLux's September launch.

*Phoenix*

Re: The new 2012 Toyota Hilux

Postby *Phoenix* » July 14th, 2011, 8:36 pm

Looks like a freaking Over-sized Corolla

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » July 14th, 2011, 10:01 pm

it sweet

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 14th, 2011, 10:52 pm

^^ i gonna reserve my judgement until I see one on a trail run....

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » July 15th, 2011, 8:06 am

Its just cosmetic changes. The engine figure are the same since the 2007s

I like how it looks... if it came with a locking rear diff i'd buy one :mrgreen:

droppa

Postby droppa » July 15th, 2011, 8:47 am

*Phoenix* wrote:Looks like a freaking Over-sized Corolla

doh talk so, u kno u wah buy one!!!!!

vickyexp

Postby vickyexp » July 15th, 2011, 10:02 am

I'm waiting to see what it would cost at Toyota Trinidad,
est. $360k+ for the 3.0 auto & leather

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » July 15th, 2011, 2:32 pm

^^^ Correct ^^^ I know someone who is collecting one before the end of this month... Price jump up like WOW!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 15th, 2011, 2:52 pm

^^ nah, that can't be accurate.

Presently it's $269,000 for a fully loaded, 4x4 automatic, leather seats hilux at TTTL.
They can't price the new model so drastically, they'll lose a lot of their market (esp to more affordable options like the Ranger and Navara).

I'd estimate that a fully loaded 4x4 automatic/leather/full powered options 3.0L D4D hilux would top out at around $275,000.

badart

Postby badart » July 16th, 2011, 6:24 am

*Phoenix* wrote:Looks like a freaking Over-sized Corolla

X2 was expecting a complete change over than just a face lift maybe in a few years

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 16th, 2011, 7:32 am

wait till they bring out the Vigo version with the christmas lights and chromes, you will swear you seeing a 'pimp my ride' corrolla....lol

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » July 16th, 2011, 7:57 am

lighthammer wrote:^^ nah, that can't be accurate.

Presently it's $269,000 for a fully loaded, 4x4 automatic, leather seats hilux at TTTL.
They can't price the new model so drastically, they'll lose a lot of their market (esp to more affordable options like the Ranger and Navara).

I'd estimate that a fully loaded 4x4 automatic/leather/full powered options 3.0L D4D hilux would top out at around $275,000.

way over 300k Bro... auto fully loaded with cc etc... i kid you not....

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 16th, 2011, 10:53 am

wow... I can't justify buying a brand new hilux anymore nah... not when there's more affordable options in both new and used market.

Hilux used to be an affordable working man's van... now it might as well be an SUV for soccer moms and grocery getters.

It's still a great truck, no doubt about it and there's surely gonna be a market for bling, but for my own personal tastes, I would hate to bring that pretty machine off-road and throw mud on it.

Ok scratch that.... i would hate to bring MY OWN (if i had one)... maybe someone else's... hehehehhe

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » July 16th, 2011, 11:48 am

lighthammer wrote:wow... I can't justify buying a brand new hilux anymore nah... not when there's more affordable options in both new and used market.

Hilux used to be an affordable working man's van... now it might as well be an SUV for soccer moms and grocery getters.

It's still a great truck, no doubt about it and there's surely gonna be a market for bling, but for my own personal tastes, I would hate to bring that pretty machine off-road and throw mud on it.

Ok scratch that.... i would hate to bring MY OWN (if i had one)... maybe someone else's... hehehehhe

Same thing i was saying....

Postby sliderz1 » July 16th, 2011, 10:29 pm

is it on the same chassis like the NZE's?? :lol: :lol:

lighthammer wrote:I'd estimate that a fully loaded 4x4 automatic/leather/full powered options 3.0L D4D hilux would top out at around $275,000.

a $280k might do it

but current Vigo @ $355 @ Maska....could imagine the price of this model in Vigo std

Postby equipped2ripp » July 17th, 2011, 3:51 am

^ yeah you paying $40K more for 20" rims, wood finish and chrome all over :|

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 17th, 2011, 5:46 am

Even if you took off all the crap it still more expensive than the firm. So buying it from maska really make no sense. And how much warranty he gives u ? 1 year I think for a brand new truck

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 17th, 2011, 8:08 am

M Rampersad gives u a 3-year /100,000km warranty... they supposed to have all the equipment needed to service them trucks.

BUt i not gonna be driving all the way south everytime the hilux would need an oil change.
What if I was living in toco?!!

badart

Postby badart » July 17th, 2011, 6:05 pm

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » July 17th, 2011, 6:20 pm

same ole technology, nothing innovative
bleh
and they will still jack up the price
cars down here cost too much
ill hold onto my van yes...next one go be a diesel euro

Postby sliderz1 » July 17th, 2011, 6:31 pm

2nd facelift on the hilux...........
is the diamond tech commonrail new??

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » July 17th, 2011, 8:03 pm

Fail.
Maybe for 260 - 280. Not for 340+

New Ranger FTW.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 17th, 2011, 9:06 pm

^ wait till y'all see the new navara engine.

240hp/550NM torque 3.0 v6 turbodiesel FTW.

:mrgreen:

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » July 17th, 2011, 9:10 pm

Jeremy Mohd wrote:Fail.
Maybe for 260 - 280. Not for 340+

New Ranger FTW.

I so agree!!!

vickyexp

Postby vickyexp » July 18th, 2011, 7:06 am

I was considering getting a 2.5 mid spec hilux for a replacement early next year,
I guess I'll have to get a nav or ranger because those prices are crazy

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 18th, 2011, 7:17 am

^^ you should choose the truck according to your intended purposes.
Family? Work? Daily driver? Offroader? Bling?

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 18th, 2011, 7:20 am

you cannot makeup your minds from now - wait till all the trucks come out nah bhai, next thing we dont get this model hilux to trinidad or the ranger that comes to trinidad is crap... wait and see

vickyexp

Postby vickyexp » July 18th, 2011, 8:08 am

lighthammer wrote:^^ you should choose the truck according to your intended purposes.
Family? Work? Daily driver? Offroader? Bling?

daily driver + family use, no bling & ability to park
on the beach without getting stuck,

possible repacement for my current diesel 4x4

Postby sliderz1 » July 18th, 2011, 3:25 pm

lighthammer wrote:^ wait till y'all see the new navara engine.

240hp/550NM torque 3.0 v6 turbodiesel FTW.

:mrgreen:

they give a date for the release??

Postby wagon r » July 18th, 2011, 3:30 pm

if i won 1 as a prize i sell it or ask for a refund.

Ranger or nothing...

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”