The new 2012 Toyota Hilux

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Slimklim

Re: The new 2012 Toyota Hilux

Postby Slimklim » June 27th, 2012, 8:06 pm

Tamran Ball i bought mine at TTTL.For tray cover & acc check advance in d bamboo, real good prices, (Bobbys). Thanks sweeks also i find the turbo whistles ah lot, even in idle when u engage R or D with foot on d brakes .Is this normal? The rep at TTTL said that is the increased power in these 2012 engine.

G-DUB

Postby G-DUB » June 28th, 2012, 8:35 am

Hey guys I recently got my 2012 Hilux as well abt 3wks now. Bought it a TTTL, it`s a 3.0L manual 4x4. I`m not new to the diesel world as I have another Hilux LN145 model, but this is my first vehicle with a turbo diesel engine. I read through some of the posts and threads abt maintenance so i got a few tips. I haven`t really driven my truck much it only doin 370km.
I had a Volution turbo timer for the hilux installed last week but i`m not sure if the auto timer is working properly, I took the truck for a drive Tuesday up Toco and back home and the timer always read 0, in manual mode it works perfect, any ideas?
Slimklim my truck does the same thing once the engine start and in idle you hear the turbo, never questioned the rep.

johnn hommes

Postby johnn hommes » June 28th, 2012, 1:24 pm

Why are there so many complaints and issues on these hilux. And these are not limited to us,,,,if you do a search online,,,people worldwide are complaining.
I saw one article...where,Toyota pickups with gas engine was the leaders,,,but they believe toyota got it wrong with diesel (Too many issue, NVH, poor mileage, heavy vibration on low rev, esp after 60,000km). I know people hear complaining about their turbo singing/whistling alot, and this is because of a sensor problem......Are most issues related only to the diesel van?

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » June 28th, 2012, 1:39 pm

Well look who makes an appearance!!

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » June 28th, 2012, 1:41 pm

Well look who makes an appearance!!

tamran ball

Postby tamran ball » June 28th, 2012, 2:12 pm

Slimklim wrote:Tamran Ball i bought mine at TTTL.For tray cover & acc check advance in d bamboo, real good prices, (Bobbys). Thanks sweeks also i find the turbo whistles ah lot, even in idle when u engage R or D with foot on d brakes .Is this normal? The rep at TTTL said that is the increased power in these 2012 engine.

not sure if this is an issue , but i noticed the same with my van too.I had some turbo vehicles back in the day and never heard dem do that...hpe its not a problem...and WTF is up with this CVT tranny ?
i didnt know they came with CVT tranny,but other than that it drives okay.

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 28th, 2012, 2:39 pm

the vn turbo give off that noise...

G-DUB

Postby G-DUB » June 28th, 2012, 4:48 pm

^^ i`m not sure if all the 2012 models come with vn turbo

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » June 29th, 2012, 12:28 am

^ yes they do - the 1kd-FTv and 2KD-FTV engines are both VGT.

G-DUB

Postby G-DUB » June 29th, 2012, 7:30 am

Thanks for clearing that up for me lighthammer, I wasn`t sure if all came vn turbo cause I saw a couple at TTTL which had the "vn turbo" logo as well as some without it including mines.

bt50

Postby bt50 » June 29th, 2012, 8:26 am

Hilux have CVT tranny???

15devils

Postby 15devils » June 29th, 2012, 4:04 pm

^^^ yea hoss, I was like WTF....drove one and it felt like my wife's 07 fielder.It not bad eh,but wasn't expecting it really.

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 29th, 2012, 6:24 pm

cvt tranny??? dude are you a moron?

from my experience cvt transmissions dont have L,2,3,D.......my hilux is a normal automatic tranny.....

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » June 29th, 2012, 7:23 pm

leelad wrote:We expect to get what we paid for, contacted the sales rep and he insisted it has a lockable diff which comes in when the van is placed into 4wd :? talked to a technician same day and he said they aren't equipped with differential locks. Lesson learned sales reps at TTTL specifically the one dad dealt with don't know squat, and are just out to make a quick sale.....

Anyhowwwww the car works great, and dad's happy with his purchase except for that one big missing feature, and looking forward to a long lasting, faithful vehicle.

....and so that's the end of that issue? :?
anyway, here's a spec sheet for the Hilux, taken today from TTTL's site:
http://www.toyota-trinidad.com/dl/hilux ... EATHER.pdf
Anything look familiar? :lol: Anyway, I dunno if the 2012 ones come with it now, but more than likely, it probably doesn't, and others will continue to get shafted :x
As for the highlighted part, I bet you that salesguy thought 4L must mean 4 wheel drive is Locked 0X

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » June 29th, 2012, 9:20 pm

As for the highlighted part, I bet you that salesguy thought 4L must mean 4 wheel drive is Locked 0X

^^ lol, what a coo-coo-looks!!

It comes with LSD in the rear only... not a locking rear differential. Front diff is open/non-locking.

The center diff is what they tawkin' about... the center diff will lock when you engage 4wd... thus transferring power to the front wheels. Normal position for the center diff is "open" in 2wd operation.

LSD's still allow for some slip after a certain amount of wheel spin, so as not to mashup de geers andem...

tamran ball

Postby tamran ball » June 29th, 2012, 10:31 pm

what is the VN turbo,is it a different turbo altogether ? i think i saw a 4x2 2012 hilux in TTTL,same height as the 4x4,and have that VN logo on,and the sales agent said they were more expensive that the 4x4 with fabric.

awrite never mind,just googled it...so TTTL 3.0,i'm guessing its not the VN ? and the ones sold by maska etc are ?
sorry eh i jus new to these types of vehicles.

tamran ball

Postby tamran ball » June 29th, 2012, 11:02 pm

and my tranny does really feel CVT-ish,but from Aaron 2NR,I guessing no. I just think it woulda be more responsive,but then thats what the manual for,but all in all,i like my van.

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 30th, 2012, 4:54 am

Variable Turbine Geometry technology is the next generation in turbocharger technology where the turbo uses variable vanes to control exhaust flow against the turbine blades. See, the problem with the turbocharger that we’ve all come to know and love is that big turbos do not work well at slow engine speeds, while small turbos are fast to spool but run out of steam pretty quick. So how do VTG turbos solve this problem?

A Variable Turbine Geometry turbocharger is also known as a variable geometry turbocharger (VGT), or a Variable Nozzle Turbine (VNT). A turbocharger equipped with Variable Turbine Geometry has little movable vanes which can direct exhaust flow onto the turbine blades. The vane angles are adjusted via an actuator. The angle of the vanes vary throughout the engine RPM range to optimize turbine behaviour.

Rest of article

http://paultan.org/2006/08/16/how-does- ... etry-work/

Slimklim

Postby Slimklim » June 30th, 2012, 4:58 pm

check u spare it's ah steel rim, also no lock on spare tyre .specs on d vehicle differs to d print out they give u prior to purchase. definately no diff lock.

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 30th, 2012, 7:53 pm

TTTL HAHA

hot-tie00

Postby hot-tie00 » July 4th, 2012, 1:56 pm

Can anyone tell me where the engine # is stamped on the d4d engine...i heard when you go for inspection they ask you to show where it is o the engine and not on the tag riveted to the body....thanks

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 5th, 2012, 10:04 am

hot-tie00 wrote:Can anyone tell me where the engine # is stamped on the d4d engine...i heard when you go for inspection they ask you to show where it is o the engine and not on the tag riveted to the body....thanks

The Owners guide shows exactly where it is!

When I went they just checked the TAG though!

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 5th, 2012, 10:25 am

usually they ask you to call it out and they look at the paper work lol

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 5th, 2012, 10:40 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:usually they ask you to call it out and they look at the paper work lol

For sure usually MO.lol

Slimklim

Postby Slimklim » July 7th, 2012, 10:51 pm

Can anyone give info on Conoco Phillips oil TTTL says thats d oil dey uses on d hilux,also they uses Castrol Hypron.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 7th, 2012, 11:49 pm

yes TTTL uses Castrol Hypuron.

I didn't like Castrol Hypuron in my Navara, I dunno how it works in the Hilux engines.
I found it took a while to break in, with sluggish response until it was broken in... and it burnt off quickly too.

In the end, it doesn't matter what oil you use - just choose a brand that has a good reputation (most of them do nowadays anyway) and you have a good, steady supply of at a price that you are comfortable buying at.

Next just make sure to change your oil regularly, according to the manufact's specs... or at least every 5000km as a general rule of thumb.

That's it!

Postby Rory Phoulorie » July 8th, 2012, 2:43 pm

Slimklim wrote:Can anyone give info on Conoco Phillips oil TTTL says thats d oil dey uses on d hilux, . . . .

Kendall Motor oil is manufactured by ConocoPhillips Company. Is that the oil to which you are referring?

hot-tie00

Postby hot-tie00 » July 8th, 2012, 9:50 pm

TTTL south branch uses ConocoPhillips for the hilux. Its a good oil...Its good, i just think dey sgould use an oil that gives more than 5000km like Amzoil or Penzoil....but I guess thats their way off making some extra $$$ with the high labour costs and voiding ur warranty if you dont service with them....:(

Kukka

Postby Kukka » July 9th, 2012, 9:14 pm

^^ Yea @ void warranty.

hot-tie00

Postby hot-tie00 » July 15th, 2012, 2:25 pm

What about turbo timers...what do u guys reccomend? I was reading that the VN turbos dp not require a turbo timer as the oil is allowed to cooled. Is this true or should I still install one to be safe?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”