MAZDA BT50 OWNERS WHAT ARE YOUR VIEWS AND/OR REVIEWS

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
sablo77

MAZDA BT50 OWNERS WHAT ARE YOUR VIEWS AND/OR REVIEWS

Postby sablo77 » November 24th, 2011, 11:19 am

im the owner of a manual 4*4 n haven't got any problems so far anyone care to share there problems and what they did or need to do .....letsss goooooo

sablo77

Re: MAZDA BT50 OWNERS WHAT ARE YOUR VIEWS AND/OR REVIEWS

Postby sablo77 » November 24th, 2011, 11:24 am

currently im doing like 7500 and i called ssl last two weeks and they said come on the 8th deceember ..wowwwww
note of advice plseeee plsee go to unipet to fill diesel there diesel is filtered so its cleaner than the usual

bt50

Postby bt50 » November 24th, 2011, 1:08 pm

Ha like you advertsing for Unipet.

Anyway i got a 4x4 doing 120,000kms. Great vehicle except for the bloody head which can crack without warning. So consider eventually installing a 3 core radiator.
This is what I do for maintenance/experiences to date:

1) Sakura fuel filters -FC1001 - 5000kms
2) Gulf mineral oil - 5000kms. Usedd mobil delvac for the first 110,000kms
3) Fram fuel filter -ph8a- - with oil change
4) Align and roate tyres every 10,000 reduce to 5000 as tyres start to get worn
5) Noise on torsion bars- crack everytime u go over a hump etc- remove bolts and grease them
6) coolant - every 20,000 - prestone pre-mix
7) brake/clutch fluid - changed at 90,000kms - castrol dot 4
8)diff/gear box - red line every 40,000ms. if you not using your 4wd no need to rush into TC or front diff at 40,000. dont use mobil 1 in gear box. starts to slip...
9) K&N air filter. washed every 20,000kms
10) red line fuel treatment - 3 oz when filling up.
11) clean strainer in fuel pump every 20,000kms.

I gonnna flush out my power steering at the next oil change.

arnold_k69

Postby arnold_k69 » November 25th, 2011, 8:43 am

have anyone ever had a problem with moisture condensing under there back floor mats? im having that problem, every morning when i check, under the right side back mat is moist, when i check, the mat is slight water under it, anyone with any ideas on this?

bt50

Postby bt50 » November 25th, 2011, 2:52 pm

arnold - sounds like you have a leak somewhere....

sablo77

Postby sablo77 » November 26th, 2011, 8:17 am

i had some water on the left side mats when i checked the ac hose came out ...hooked it up n good to go

sablo77

Postby sablo77 » November 26th, 2011, 8:40 am

bt 50 dais rel paper u talking bout n i haven't had my first oil change yet was thinking of using total oil when i change tho but what would suggest i do first n put a price next to it please so ill know what i working with

bt50

Postby bt50 » November 26th, 2011, 12:22 pm

Sablo77 for ur 10k service u r required to change oil and oil filter. You can drain ur fuel filter if u don't wanna change it at this 10k service interval. The other stuff listed is for the particular mileage so u have a lot of time as well.

The fuel treatment should be seriously considered given the quality of the diesel we get in Trinidad.

I use gulf oil now and it works fine.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » November 29th, 2011, 8:32 am

bt50 wrote:Ha like you advertsing for Unipet.

Anyway i got a 4x4 doing 120,000kms. Great vehicle except for the bloody head which can crack without warning. So consider eventually installing a 3 core radiator.
This is what I do for maintenance/experiences to date:

1) Sakura fuel filters -FC1001 - 5000kms
2) Gulf mineral oil - 5000kms. Usedd mobil delvac for the first 110,000kms
3) Fram fuel filter -ph8a- - with oil change
4) Align and roate tyres every 10,000 reduce to 5000 as tyres start to get worn
5) Noise on torsion bars- crack everytime u go over a hump etc- remove bolts and grease them
6) coolant - every 20,000 - prestone pre-mix
7) brake/clutch fluid - changed at 90,000kms - castrol dot 4
8)diff/gear box - red line every 40,000ms. if you not using your 4wd no need to rush into TC or front diff at 40,000. dont use mobil 1 in gear box. starts to slip...
9) K&N air filter. washed every 20,000kms
10) red line fuel treatment - 3 oz when filling up.
11) clean strainer in fuel pump every 20,000kms.

I gonnna flush out my power steering at the next oil change.

^ This man is "D" boss...

arnold_k69

Postby arnold_k69 » November 29th, 2011, 8:37 am

bt50, i suspect its the plate which the left side rear bracket which the front seat bolts to. That bolt goes straight through the floor, when i checked under the floor material, saw it was wet. When i went under, i couldn't find any other spot which water may come through, any ideas, just let me know.

bt50

Postby bt50 » November 30th, 2011, 7:29 am

1) Try and tighten bolt. If you can tighten same then hopefully it solves your problem
2) Put silicion from both inside and outside of bolt.

If its still wet after this then its not the bolt.

Ive never really looked at where the handbrake cable passes so i can say if water coming through there but I doubt as the wheel well is far from the said cable.

Can you post a pic?

arnold_k69

Postby arnold_k69 » November 30th, 2011, 9:01 am

sorry i placed the material back down yesterday, but im going to try it for a bit, maybe go back through some water if there is any and remove the material and check. I used some sealer as u suggested both inside and under where the bolt comes through, but apart from that, i cant see anywhere else where water may come through, but i will keep checking.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » December 1st, 2011, 8:34 am

arnold_k69 wrote:sorry i placed the material back down yesterday, but im going to try it for a bit, maybe go back through some water if there is any and remove the material and check. I used some sealer as u suggested both inside and under where the bolt comes through, but apart from that, i cant see anywhere else where water may come through, but i will keep checking.

I have driven through water as high as my bonet and inside has always remaind dry - not a drop of water...

arnold_k69

Postby arnold_k69 » December 1st, 2011, 11:07 am

V2NR 3.0 wrote:
arnold_k69 wrote:sorry i placed the material back down yesterday, but im going to try it for a bit, maybe go back through some water if there is any and remove the material and check. I used some sealer as u suggested both inside and under where the bolt comes through, but apart from that, i cant see anywhere else where water may come through, but i will keep checking.

I have driven through water as high as my bonet and inside has always remaind dry - not a drop of water...

the water i drove though wasn't even that high, maybe up to the running board or a little higher, i just hope it was the bolt hole which i sealed. when i take it for an underwash, i will remove the material and check it again.

bt50

Postby bt50 » December 2nd, 2011, 9:02 am

Arnold
Did you try to tighten the bolt?

arnold_k69

Postby arnold_k69 » December 2nd, 2011, 9:39 am

yup, did that, along with putting some sealer around the bolt head on top and sealing it off on the underneath. I'm yet to go through any water and test it.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » December 2nd, 2011, 10:48 am

^ boy just drive in any river nah man

*****starbarbie

Postby *****starbarbie » December 2nd, 2011, 7:39 pm

hey am willing to purchase ah local use bt-50 anyone know who have them selling reasonable.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » December 2nd, 2011, 10:21 pm

how is the back seat legroom for those BT-50? is it a bit small?

bt50

Postby bt50 » December 3rd, 2011, 7:27 am

*****starbarbie wrote:hey am willing to purchase ah local use bt-50 anyone know who have them selling reasonable.

What u looking for? 4x4? Do you have a specific budget.?

bt50

Postby bt50 » December 3rd, 2011, 7:31 am

AdamB wrote:how is the back seat legroom for those BT-50? is it a bit small?

I'm 6'4" and I can assure you unless the front seat passengers are short that is the only way I can sit comfortable in the back. Lol. But then I'm the only person in my bt unless I'm liming

Anyway leg room is a bit tight.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » December 3rd, 2011, 8:49 am

they have the same amt. of leg room as the current ranger.
The new BT50 coming out will have alot more

sablo77

Postby sablo77 » December 5th, 2011, 10:31 pm

felllas my mileage is 8000 and de say come on the 8th for my first service how much does it cost and can i bring my own oil n stuff yalll talk to me ...gimme ah heads up

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » December 14th, 2011, 6:06 am

hello
do you guys have any more feedback on the bt50 - i notice the tbc-tbm seem to selling cheap and loads of them
considering buying one but dont know why they selling so much cheaper than the other brands .

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » January 25th, 2012, 2:37 am

Any other issues, any problems with gearbox or engine except the head

bt50

Postby bt50 » January 25th, 2012, 9:51 am

install a 3 core radiator and you should be ok wrt the head.

gearbox- once maintained properly re change fluid on time no known issues.
the clutch release bearing known to give up at 40000kms. I know a couple guys who have had that problem. Happened to me as as well.

stretch

Postby stretch » January 25th, 2012, 10:20 am

I'm on 44000kms now, second owner. No big issues with mines so far. Very happy with my purchase. Good to see a BT50 thread.

colipark

Postby colipark » January 25th, 2012, 11:11 am

had mine for three years now doing 43000kms
no problems at all
changed oil and filter every 5000kms and fuel and air filter every 10000kms
NO problems at all

colipark

Postby colipark » January 25th, 2012, 11:11 am

had mine for three years now doing 43000kms
no problems at all
changed oil and filter every 5000kms and fuel and air filter every 10000kms
NO problems at all

sasracing

Postby sasracing » January 25th, 2012, 1:22 pm

I'v got a 4x4 doing 102,000kms. Excellent vehicle.
Change Oil & fuel filters every- 5000kms
Castrol 15w40 fram fuel filter -ph8a- - with oil change
Rotate tyres every 20,000 km 275/75/16 Hankook AT/S
Diff &gear box - red line every 40,000ms. Air filter Change. every 15,000kms
Clean strainer in fuel pump once.
Still on original disc pad, replaced the rear drive shaft cross, at 85,000km please keep them grease, $ 2200.00 for replacement in the firm, & $250.00 aftermarket price really one of the best 4x4 when it comes to offroading on 4L, better than Toyota's & Navara's

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”