MAZDA BT50 OWNERS WHAT ARE YOUR VIEWS AND/OR REVIEWS

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
forterss

Re: MAZDA BT50 OWNERS WHAT ARE YOUR VIEWS AND/OR REVIEWS

Postby forterss » February 17th, 2014, 8:31 pm

hi guys have a problem i have a mazda bt 50 it works great but i notice that the temperature gauge was rising and dropping so i pull aside and wait for it to cool then opened the radiator and saw oil on the underside of the cover the vehicle now start to mist in the morning when i start it turns with one tumble but then it starts to labor for fuel when i mash the x it releases a lot of black smoke what might be my problem help.

forterss

Postby forterss » February 17th, 2014, 8:42 pm

some told me it might be a gasket or worse case scenario a head if their is any one with a wl engine head for sale i might be interested but i will no tomorrow

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » February 23rd, 2014, 9:36 am

Yea dat sound like headGasket or the common problem crack head.....

Ok guys. Brand new 3core inside.... 2500$ by drax in lime fruit rd freeport... It fit like original..

Temp on 1/4 driving normal... But once u go into boost bout 2300rpm over it will gradually climb to half...

Thermostat is out.. An i silicone the clutch fan

Postby streetbeastINC. » February 23rd, 2014, 11:04 am

My thermo out and it does not move from 1/4..engine runs to kool on cold nights as well i get some smoke on idle,, but never seen it climb

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » February 27th, 2014, 1:39 pm

ok peeps, i have my 2core Brass for sale if anyone interested

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=559743

jattsrobby

Postby jattsrobby » March 13th, 2014, 6:41 pm

put in a new 3 core by deo's in montrose, original fit, neat work, however still find it should run cooler, needle reaching just under half, was running half with plastic original. what you guys think?? thanks

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » March 14th, 2014, 6:47 am

How much u pay? Mine runnin Jus under half normal driving. An quarter cruising. I silicone the clutch fan also

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » March 14th, 2014, 6:53 am

What coolant is used wit the brass radiator?

jattsrobby

Postby jattsrobby » March 14th, 2014, 8:10 am

Paid 1800 install with coolant supplied by company. Dont know if thermo is out and fan normal. The radiator man did mention though that the fan needed some oil as it was spinning too freely when spun manually.

jattsrobby

Postby jattsrobby » March 14th, 2014, 6:38 pm

anybody able to hook me up with the fuse box cover for the 2007 bt50? thanks.......

Postby streetbeastINC. » March 19th, 2014, 4:23 pm

Why have ppl destroyed the market value of these trucks,,,,,,,this diesel engine though 1 or two may be troublesome is one of the cheapest truck engine to repair and maintain......plus offroad no lux or navara cant take the beating these trucks would endure...quarry proven

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » March 19th, 2014, 10:53 pm

Any body notice the back of their BT50 dropped a little?

is this a fault in the model? (2006 4x4 (single cab))

I got the van at 118k kms and it was slightly higher than 2012 4x4 hilux

Both on stock tires

Granted the fact that I did tote some heavy loads recently, same tires on both van, my van is slightly lower now.

Rear shackles seems to be in same condition. A little squeak in the rear from the get go so some bushing needs changing.

Any body noticed this on their van?

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » March 24th, 2014, 8:09 pm

Guys any1 else front Calipers make the Rattling noise??

wher repairs this? or wher can i get the Pins to buy?

jattsrobby

Postby jattsrobby » March 24th, 2014, 8:14 pm

mine making real noise, friend say in my case the pads dont have the shims.

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » March 24th, 2014, 9:55 pm

they tell me the Pins worn... i was painting the calipers other day and notice they were shaking... sometimes when i hit a depression or bump, i hear a clack clack noise in front... but i feel dats someting else besides the caliper

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » March 25th, 2014, 12:09 am

Changed two clutch master cyl since getting this van. One at 108k kms... changed to a chineese part. And at 118k kms.... back to oem from the firm. At 120k kms fluid is already black again and slight spongy feelin on clutch pedal. Using dot 4 brake fluid.

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » March 25th, 2014, 12:11 am

Dragsta wrote:they tell me the Pins worn... i was painting the calipers other day and notice they were shaking... sometimes when i hit a depression or bump, i hear a clack clack noise in front... but i feel dats someting else besides the caliper

I get that clack clack noise in front as well. Aint get around to looking for the source as yet.. not sure if its a bushing or wat jus yet

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » March 25th, 2014, 12:45 pm

How much u paid for the OEM? I paid 140 for a substitute for our B1600. Cant rem the brand. But they the BT50 carries the same cyl

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » March 25th, 2014, 6:14 pm

yeh I tink all mazdaz carry the same part.. substitute Soiken or something so was $250 or there about. OEM $900 @ Southern Sales

I prob bounce meh head with paying so much. but I was frustrated. it started loosing clutch in guyare. managed to make it to reform area until I lost everything on the pedal 10.30 carnival Monday night.

bought a new complete cylinder the next day yes.

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » March 26th, 2014, 9:18 am

Shux Dats pressure. I feel mine might go soon too, Sometimes i does hadda double clutch. So the OEM worth the price?

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » March 26th, 2014, 8:54 pm

^^ speaking of which another padna's bt50 clutch pedal went today. His clutch fluid was stink and indicative of worn rubbers.

determine which cylinder is leaking or damaged ie slave or master. scrap it out, see if the cylinder is worn etc. if you think it is in good condition buy the oem seal kit. $200 something from SSL and you should be in order.

i used a mini honing tool on another cylinder (BMC) on another project of mines to clean up. seikens replacement rubbers and my brakes hard at all 4 calipers.

so honing tool is an option if needed.

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » April 2nd, 2014, 12:14 am

cutthroatInt wrote:
Dragsta wrote:they tell me the Pins worn... i was painting the calipers other day and notice they were shaking... sometimes when i hit a depression or bump, i hear a clack clack noise in front... but i feel dats someting else besides the caliper

I get that clack clack noise in front as well. Aint get around to looking for the source as yet.. not sure if its a bushing or wat jus yet

dragsta,

I started getting a kinda shimmy and pulling on the highway with the bt50... so carried it for suspension check and alignment. to my surprise, front upper cradle bushings are bad. left side worst. rear shackle bushings some are bad and right side rear spring bundle twisted (leafs not packed together, slightly off from each other).

the bad cradle bushings explains the sloppy steering feel I started getting and it is the cause of the clack clack noise when going through depressions as when rocking the front of the van and checking the bushings we can see where it comes from.

My pitman arm is starting to go bad as well.

I also was getting a kinda loose feeling in the back(van feels like its swerving on the highway). the out of line spring bundle was a result of u bolts running slack. and in running slack and having the rear end loose I suspect it lead to accelerated shackle bushing wear.

I managed to tighten u bolts and both sides tonight and tensioned rear brakes. I regained some of the former glory of its handling. shackle bushings and front cradle bushings still to be changed.

where can I get front upper cradle bushings for 06 bt50 4x4 other than the firm?

my van is 121XXX kms old and for most of its life was not abused. I will advise other owners to check their u bolts to make sure its not running slack.

ward one

Postby ward one » April 2nd, 2014, 1:59 am

ward one wrote:my dad has a 4x4 auto bt50. TCP reg.
van is currently doing 120,000k's serviced by the firm.
up till this day nothin has gone wrong or needed changing besides regular servicing.
after the 100,000k service van started back working like the day we got it from the firm.

this is my dad's 4th mazda from the firm 1 old model b2500, 2 new model b2500 and this bt50. all vans was doing almost 300,000 b4 selling. and never had any problems whatsoever ( gearbox was changed in 1 van due to fierce clutching). and he don't intend on leaving the mazda line for nothing. :D

just an update did our 200k service a while back, changed all bushings, rotors, belts etc. van is doing around 240k's now and still not a single problem whatsoever.

we had a problem with a shim on the steering while on the highway esp when pressing the brakes. after a tire change and rotor change. this problem was solved :)

we also get a clack clack in the front sometimes. at every service we usually let our mechanic tighten all the bolts under the van which stops the problem.

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » April 2nd, 2014, 11:56 pm

Where u getting rotors for bt50 06

ward one

Postby ward one » April 3rd, 2014, 11:17 pm

cutthroatInt wrote:Where u getting rotors for bt50 06

not sure bro our van is the newer model and my mechanic sourced all the parts for it.

Postby streetbeastINC. » April 6th, 2014, 12:37 pm

Anyone got a low mileage 4wd good condition bt50 to trade for a sylphy

Postby streetbeastINC. » April 6th, 2014, 12:38 pm

Anyone got a low mileage 4wd good condition bt50 to trade for a sylphy

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » April 6th, 2014, 3:41 pm

ward one wrote:
cutthroatInt wrote:Where u getting rotors for bt50 06

not sure bro our van is the newer model and my mechanic sourced all the parts for it.

What yr and series is ur bt50?
Where did u get the rotors?

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » April 6th, 2014, 3:42 pm

streetbeastINC. wrote:Anyone got a low mileage 4wd good condition bt50 to trade for a sylphy

What do u consider to be low milege?

Postby streetbeastINC. » April 6th, 2014, 6:00 pm

4 ddoor eh..lol under 100

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”