rottedv's projeck "Surflux Turbo" pg 6!!!

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
deliah

Re: rottedv's projeck "Surflux Turbo" pg 6!!!

Postby deliah » October 6th, 2012, 10:16 pm

more pics plz

droppa

Postby droppa » October 10th, 2012, 9:43 am

the 1KZ is sitting inside the surflux now, jus to fab brackets and press on with mounting.....pics will come soon.........

Postby black start » October 10th, 2012, 11:22 am

oh goar, real monster thing....drove a sr5 lux with ah 1kz once, and ah almost sheit myself yesh.....

gundelero

Postby gundelero » October 10th, 2012, 11:32 am

just for my info, can u give me a ball-park figure of the cost of a 1kz-te engine? i'm thinking of doing a lil swap of mine as well. thanks.

droppa

Postby droppa » October 11th, 2012, 8:59 am

a 4WD 1KZ-TE engine and tranny complete with harness and ecu sells on average about 18K, if ur doing a conversion, u will need the dash harness also, or a very very good electrician yo wire it up, i only know of two who are capable

how ever there are some who have used the Hiace 2WD 1KZ-TE and successfully mated it to 4WD trans and got it to work, still having to get it wired up.....

Postby Ted_v2 » October 11th, 2012, 5:59 pm

18K for that engine O__O

droppa

Postby droppa » October 11th, 2012, 7:46 pm

^^what u feel it is hoss, this man paid 20K for this engine, tans, harness, ecu, radiator, condenser and fan.......,

and this 1KZ wukking, doing 150K kilos......

neckto

Postby neckto » October 11th, 2012, 9:46 pm

nice :D
Last edited by neckto on December 29th, 2012, 10:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

York

Postby York » October 11th, 2012, 10:02 pm

i cud get a TAL hilux single cab with 1KZ-TE 4wd, surf dash, a/c , auto for $35k

droppa

Postby droppa » October 25th, 2012, 8:58 pm

York wrote:i cud get a TAL hilux single cab with 1KZ-TE 4wd, surf dash, a/c , auto for $35k

den you shud buy that with ur eyes closed.........

btw, engine getting lined up slowly, work being done on evenings wen we have the time, but the end is near for this surflux!!!!!!!!!!!!

Paullct

Postby Paullct » October 26th, 2012, 6:27 am

^^ you mean the beginning!!

Postby Team Loco » October 29th, 2012, 10:47 pm

i came, i saw, and now i give a thumbs up

Postby black start » December 27th, 2012, 12:00 am

end of the year update?

AdamB

Postby AdamB » December 27th, 2012, 12:08 am

yeah boy, we not hearing from these guys!!

rottedv

Postby rottedv » January 1st, 2013, 7:51 am

Work real progressing slowly but progressing.....Engine lined up and being re wired.....Almost there...I can smell it!!! But as we say...Work progressing but real slow!!

droppa

Postby droppa » January 1st, 2013, 6:50 pm

surflux coming to come man, it will be ready !!!

link some pics for the ppl hoss........

chote

Postby chote » January 18th, 2013, 2:58 pm

I go have to make a passs to see this machine>>

AdamB

Postby AdamB » January 21st, 2013, 9:32 am

droppa wrote:^^what u feel it is hoss, this man paid 20K for this engine, tans, harness, ecu, radiator, condenser and fan.......,

what mods (engine mounts, etc) will be needed if replacing a 2L-TE in an LN130 surf with a 1KZ-TE? Is the transmission the same? The original on the surf compared with the one that comes with the 1KZ eng/tranny foreign used. Just want to make sure that tranny brackets and drive shafts don't have to be modified.

droppa

Postby droppa » January 21st, 2013, 12:51 pm

AdamB wrote:
droppa wrote:^^what u feel it is hoss, this man paid 20K for this engine, tans, harness, ecu, radiator, condenser and fan.......,

what mods (engine mounts, etc) will be needed if replacing a 2L-TE in an LN130 surf with a 1KZ-TE? Is the transmission the same? The original on the surf compared with the one that comes with the 1KZ eng/tranny foreign used. Just want to make sure that tranny brackets and drive shafts don't have to be modified.

tranny bracket and driveshafts wont have to be modified, the engine mount will required q mod plate to bolt up as bot engine have different mounting points on the chassis, you can try to talk to 200sx as he has done a conversion like this with his surf......

you will need the 1KZ eng and tranny complete with eng harness and ecu, also the dash harness front the KZN130 surf and the radiator to make life simpler, the both shifters and drive-shafts are the same, if you can get the parts out of a front half that would be ideal.......

AdamB

Postby AdamB » January 22nd, 2013, 10:24 pm

What causes the TIMING BELT light to come on of the LN130 Surf dashboard (bottom left corner, third from left) with 2L-T engine? Is it mileage reading from the Odometer or something else maybe to do with the timing belt itself like position in case it has jumped a tooth.

The problem I am having is that on normal 2H driving there is loss of power when driving off from rest accompanied with a lot of smoke. On 4L the power and acceleration is somewhat better and smoking is less.

On speed of say 80km/hr, there is good power and acceleration.

Advice please...who are the Surf crackshot mechanics?
Last edited by AdamB on February 7th, 2013, 11:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

droppa

Postby droppa » January 25th, 2013, 1:17 pm

the timing belt light is programmed to come on at 130K, and every 100K after it is reset, not 100% sure abt the 2L-T but i dont think there is a timing belt sensor

from the problem that you are having i will say it sound like the turbo is failing and not boosting properly off the line, at 80k ur probably not on boost so thats why is feels ok, in 4L ur using ratio there thats why you feeling like it working good.....

try installing a boost guage and check the pressure, stock shud be between 9-12psi, and is the turbo light coming on, it supposed to come on around 1800rpm......

rottedv

Postby rottedv » February 6th, 2013, 11:40 am

Update on the Surflux!!!!

So I drove the surflux yesterday afternoon. So it is driving.....Soon it will be out of the garage... Free wheeling hubs installed and front disc brakes installed. So it coming to come. Pics soon....

droppa

Postby droppa » February 6th, 2013, 1:35 pm

man was all smiles, he happy like a child on Christmas morning...

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » February 6th, 2013, 4:06 pm

whey d pics

AdamB

Postby AdamB » February 7th, 2013, 11:05 am

droppa wrote:the timing belt light is programmed to come on at 130K, and every 100K after it is reset, not 100% sure abt the 2L-T but i dont think there is a timing belt sensor

from the problem that you are having i will say it sound like the turbo is failing and not boosting properly off the line, at 80k ur probably not on boost so thats why is feels ok, in 4L ur using ratio there thats why you feeling like it working good.....

try installing a boost guage and check the pressure, stock shud be between 9-12psi, and is the turbo light coming on, it supposed to come on around 1800rpm......

So i got it back yesterday from the mechanic, oils and filters, timing belt and engine belts changed. He said it looks like the transmission not (always) pulling off on 1st or 2nd gear, that's why it digging ah pressure on low speed. Send me the contacts for the electrician/s you recommend to check out the sensors and control units, please.

From what you said above, I don't think it supposed to be soooo dead if the turbo not working.

I need to get back shocks as well, in case any one has, but may go for a replacement Tokico or KYB if I can't get. Also, an AC compressor. However i want to sort out the engine/tranny before moving on to those.

droppa

Postby droppa » February 7th, 2013, 12:05 pm

the electrician who sorted out my surf is allan in montrose 672 5933 opp sonny auto supplies, he did over the ecu....

you were asking for a contact number for cyrus, unfortunately i dont have that, but he is in enterprise st in enterprise, maybe turbohead here might have his number, pm him....

i can organise the kyb shocks for you, ill get the price for the four....

AdamB

Postby AdamB » February 7th, 2013, 10:27 pm

thanks Droppa,

I checked Allan in Montrose, d man sort it out in 2-5 minutes!! He charged for innovation, you know how he is...on the upside, he had a transmission parked up for a couple of yrs that a guy left there...i got it for free!!! Might be useful for parts or replacement in the future.

I had used them before, that's Neville opposite Sonny's. They damn good yes.

Next stop, Shamo in Mc Bean to adjust the Injector pump...

Then shocks...is KYB good enough compared to Tokico? Priced KYB back shocks for $285 each in South.

What brand of brake pads & shoes do you recommend?

droppa

Postby droppa » February 7th, 2013, 11:00 pm

aye dat is my tranny hoss...i supposed to go collect it....

yeah kybs good, some oem comes kyb, and that price good too
brake pads, i used mintex and never changed shoes, but noki or ohk works...

AdamB

Postby AdamB » February 8th, 2013, 9:54 am

Possession is 9/10ths of the law! lol

AdamB

Postby AdamB » February 8th, 2013, 10:34 am

rottedv wrote:Update on the Surflux!!!!

So I drove the surflux yesterday afternoon. So it is driving.....Soon it will be out of the garage... Free wheeling hubs installed and front disc brakes installed. So it coming to come. Pics soon....

About how much (ball park) does it cost to upgrade to these, front disc brakes, well front alone, labour and parts?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”