rottedv's projeck "Surflux Turbo" pg 6!!!

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
AdamB

Re: rottedv's projeck "Surflux Turbo" pg 6!!!

Postby AdamB » April 14th, 2013, 1:08 am

Hey you guys know of anyone who has converted / modified a surf body shell to a pickup? I've seen one recently in Mc Bean and looks great!!

Postby 3stagevtec » April 14th, 2013, 2:18 am

rx80 wrote:Wait.....vitara got shorter?

About 3" shorter to be exact, it's back on the factory stuff for now.. The Vitara is the next in line for some suspension work..

black start wrote:retrofitted headlights on madza looking awesome....

Had the pleasure of driving in front him, they show like daylight. :P

Should see the high beams on them.. the proper projector lens really makes a huge difference in performance.

rx80

Postby rx80 » April 14th, 2013, 10:01 am

^^^ Lengthened axles orrr?

droppa

Postby droppa » April 14th, 2013, 5:18 pm

@ adam there is a blue, TAW 4403 i think is his number, he cut the body and made it into a pick up, looks lenghtend at back tho.....

AdamB

Postby AdamB » April 15th, 2013, 8:02 am

Thanks Droppa,
Need to know who (straightener) can do it.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » April 17th, 2013, 6:59 pm

was behind the surflux maybe a couple of weeks ago and:
1. it looks cool as fork :mrgreen: 8-)
2. it appeared as though the tray was offset by a few degrees and looked a bit lopsided, dunno what was up with that.
3. what are you using for weight in the back, sand/ cement bag in the tool box? :mrgreen:

rx80

Postby rx80 » April 17th, 2013, 8:58 pm

Water in the toolbox....

AdamB

Postby AdamB » April 17th, 2013, 11:32 pm

droppa wrote:@ adam there is a blue, TAW 4403 i think is his number, he cut the body and made it into a pick up, looks lenghtend at back tho.....

did he cut the back door and frame out completely and moved up to just behind rear seats? and then put a tray? or left the bottom half below the glass as the tray sides and bottom?

rottedv

Postby rottedv » April 18th, 2013, 6:36 am

Adamb, PM droppa bout that nah...This is surflux not hilux....lol....

It does look a bit offset but not sure what is that about......still working on it.... As for weight I putting all me tools and offraod stuff in it....No water or cement lol

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » April 22nd, 2013, 2:00 pm

Saw the surflux opposite well services last week. looked sick.

rottedv

Postby rottedv » April 23rd, 2013, 5:21 am

Yup. I usually do my exhaust work there....They were making a diesel pipe for me though....lol

About the lopsideness.....I think its the difference in tension in the springs.....usually it happens over time and levelling shims are made....

Postby black start » April 25th, 2013, 11:21 pm

still no economic analysis was done on the project :lol:

reddo_tuner

Postby reddo_tuner » May 2nd, 2013, 9:14 pm

rottedv woi, ah see yuh reach in meh back yard the other day, like allyuh was on a off-road run or something, park up by the quikshop :)

rottedv

Postby rottedv » May 3rd, 2013, 11:21 am

Yeah bai....bess trail in d back dey....Mahawal......

I have some updates to post up soon....

reddo_tuner

Postby reddo_tuner » May 9th, 2013, 4:42 pm

^^^weyyyyyy, was busy that day or I would've gone

rottedv

Postby rottedv » May 24th, 2013, 9:55 pm

Right so time for some updates.....They say that once you start building you never stop...That is so true....Always something new that yuh want to try.....

So since the last update a bit has been done.....Firstly Warn M8000 winch mounting plate and installation. Everything was custom done by myself, 3stagevtec and Khameel Hosein of Side B. You guys be the judge with the pics....Important thing is that it works. I have tested it on the trail and on the road and it hasnt failed yet so......

So as I was enjoying the truck one day, the modded pitman arm on the power steering set up that the previous owner had snapped! So the time had come for a steering upgrade. So with the help of 3stagevtec, Khameel and Z Offroad the upgrade was done. It now drives as if the 35" Mudstars are corolla tyres....Havent tested that out offroad yet but will do so sooner or later.....I brought in from Trailgear a set of Hi-Steer steering arms for the Hilux but ultimately those could not have been used because of my stock suspension and the 1KZ sump pan.....So Z Offroad made a custom 'Y' arm, and it has worked like a charm...See for yuhself...

Postby 3stagevtec » May 24th, 2013, 10:25 pm

8 bolts support that winch mount, so no chance of it ever failing.

The custom steering setup clears the sump pan and functions perfect. I was able to steer this rig with just one finger on the wheel. These builds imo are the real works of art..

droppa

Postby droppa » May 24th, 2013, 11:31 pm

looks good, cutting it close to the sump with the draglink there fellas........

there is a way that you guys could have gotten the hi steer to work, but high steer arms are just to facilitate the IFS box imo, and you all got around that, jus make sure that when you flex the wheels up into the well it doesnt touch and rub on the crankcase...

rottedv

Postby rottedv » May 25th, 2013, 7:43 am

droppa wrote:looks good, cutting it close to the sump with the draglink there fellas........

there is a way that you guys could have gotten the hi steer to work, but high steer arms are just to facilitate the IFS box imo, and you all got around that, jus make sure that when you flex the wheels up into the well it doesnt touch and rub on the crankcase...

Well please tell us how get the Hi-Steer arms to work.....It will add to all of our knowledge.....As we checked there was one way which was cutting the sump pan but I didn't want to go that route.... The pics actually shoe the draglink closer than it really is.....Its about 5" off the sump pan and I would hit the bump stop way before I hit the sump pan......But its a good suggestion to to flex out the wheel to see if it will touch....I have seen some build where a 'Z' draglink is made to clear the sump pan which is another route I could have taken....Some builders even make a 'Z' draglink and still the sump pan is being rubbed and the engine has to raise.......

Postby 3stagevtec » May 25th, 2013, 11:08 pm

Raising engine to clear a Z draglink you say... interesting..

droppa

Postby droppa » May 25th, 2013, 11:42 pm

it would involve alot more work, but raising the engine should have solved the problem, the van already has a 2.5' body lift, the tie rod and draglink are at the same height on the left and u already have the draglink clearing....

rottedv

Postby rottedv » May 26th, 2013, 8:16 am

But droppa d engine already raised to suit the 2.5" body lift....You know that....raising d engine anymore and it will be outside d van....lol...

The easier solution would be a properly designed Z link I must say.....Would take a bit more thinking than just cutting and joining in the center with a junk of iron to make a Z but its a better job than raising the engine... But the Y arm Z Offroad made allowed me another great solution to the steering....

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » May 26th, 2013, 9:09 am

I'am lost.......note to self research topic.

Postby 3stagevtec » May 26th, 2013, 11:00 am

SNIPER 3000 wrote:I'am lost.......note to self research topic.

Never heard about a Z-Y arm?? lol

Postby 3stagevtec » May 26th, 2013, 9:27 pm

The Y arm (made by Z off road) got its ultimate test today off roading in Tabaquite and it held strong through all the ruts! Pics of that run should be posted in the relevant threads soon..

rottedv

Postby rottedv » December 1st, 2016, 7:46 pm

I really miss those days and the van

Postby Team Loco » December 13th, 2016, 9:10 am

her spirit lives on in my van

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » March 8th, 2017, 3:15 am

Mad build !

What happened to the van rottedv?

TL - where your build thread bhai!!?? Still waiting on pics eh!

rottedv

Postby rottedv » April 4th, 2017, 8:01 am

Stuckindmud....van was a great ride....really a nice build....Sadly it didnt last. Chassis twisted under the 1kz torque and I scrapped the van. Working on something else though but it will take time.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » April 9th, 2017, 12:00 am

Just looked through thread again, was real a nice effort by all, can not wait to see what is next. Also just realize what ever happened to lighthammer?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”