4X4 frontier with rb25 in it

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
525isport

Re: How to Lower a 4X4 frontier??? and put a rb25 in it

Postby 525isport » January 7th, 2013, 1:48 pm

i bought some nice stuff but i cant get time to install them . i bought a Hallman boost controller like this one same colorImage

and a 14" Mishimoto radiator fan

Postby nervewrecker » January 7th, 2013, 2:24 pm

slap on a reg plate in the front and run that bich just so without front bumper, bonnet and grille! she looks mean!

525isport

Postby 525isport » January 7th, 2013, 4:39 pm

nervewrecker wrote:slap on a reg plate in the front and run that bich just so without front bumper, bonnet and grille! she looks mean!

yea it does look aggressive . and that would save ALOT of work :D

Postby AllTrac » January 7th, 2013, 7:21 pm

525isport, yuh is ah borse!

legoRB

Postby legoRB » January 7th, 2013, 9:17 pm

Really enjoying this thread so far. Keep it coming!

Postby black start » January 7th, 2013, 11:11 pm

525isport wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:slap on a reg plate in the front and run that bich just so without front bumper, bonnet and grille! she looks mean!

yea it does look aggressive . and that would save ALOT of work :D

aggresive is an understatement. :|

525isport

Postby 525isport » January 8th, 2013, 9:33 pm

legoRB wrote:Really enjoying this thread so far. Keep it coming!

thanks man i just cant wait to get it on the road

nervewrecker wrote:aggresive is an understatement. :|

8-)

AllTrac wrote:525isport, yuh is ah borse!

thanks man ,i jus like to do something different . ive been called a mad scientist before because of this same project

Postby AllTrac » January 9th, 2013, 6:42 am

you living by sparky side?

525isport

Postby 525isport » January 9th, 2013, 3:40 pm

not sure where sparky live, but im on the highway in charlieville near chief curry

droppa

Postby droppa » January 10th, 2013, 8:34 am

van looking good man, it will be a monster.....thinking of throwing in a RB20DET in my trol.....

525isport

Postby 525isport » January 10th, 2013, 2:33 pm

droppa wrote:van looking good man, it will be a monster.....thinking of throwing in a RB20DET in my trol.....

sounds like a plan :D but why a RB20DET ? ive run the 20 before in a c34 laurel and it was very good but i always wanted the RB25DET for my next project because of the added features that the RB20 is lacking .

droppa

Postby droppa » January 10th, 2013, 2:36 pm

dont have to buy it, it have one home doing nothing, so theres an option!!!!

525isport

Postby 525isport » January 10th, 2013, 3:08 pm

ok thats the way to go then . LOL

525isport

Postby 525isport » January 17th, 2013, 4:13 pm

just went for a spin in the van after i installed the boost controller and WOW i couldnt even get to 10psi without losing traction 1st 2nd same as soon as the boost pasts 5-6 psi the back starts sliding ... and i ran out of road to try 3rd gear the road was wet so a dry run will have to be made to set the boost :D the van is really going to be a monster when its finished .

Postby Ted_v2 » January 17th, 2013, 8:41 pm

That's the problem with most vans. Loss of traction

Could be a problem or not:ugeek:

525isport

Postby 525isport » January 24th, 2013, 6:18 am

just a few shots of what ive been up to .
before .jpg
inside .jpg
after.jpg
NGK Vpower.jpg
030120131879.jpg

droppa

Postby droppa » January 24th, 2013, 7:49 am

hoss yuh two plugs short.........lol.....

bess fan dey!!!

525isport

Postby 525isport » January 24th, 2013, 12:57 pm

droppa wrote:hoss yuh two plugs short.........lol.....

bess fan dey!!!

LOL

yea the fan is just what i wanted ...

525isport

Postby 525isport » January 27th, 2013, 9:51 pm

RB25DET frontier almost finished.jpg
did some work on the van today .......we almost there
RB25DET Frontier 1.jpg
Frontier RB25DET.jpg

Postby Ted_v2 » January 27th, 2013, 10:19 pm

what was the intended purpose of this vehicle?

fast pickup?

525isport

Postby 525isport » January 28th, 2013, 1:06 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:what was the intended purpose of this vehicle?

fast pickup?

just a TOY to have fun with and modify as we go .. we wanted the RB25DET for our project vehicle , we just didnt have the vehicle . the frontier was just there so we decided to use it , no real reason for it being a pickup . but it turned out like my other projects ,something a little different to the normal stuff you see everyday

525isport

Postby 525isport » January 29th, 2013, 2:41 pm

installed the K&N filter
290120131923.jpg
290120131924.jpg

525isport

Postby 525isport » February 2nd, 2013, 8:10 pm

just a few more things to do but i just cant get the time to work on the van . interior needs putting back together , reverse light needs hooking up ,exhaust need to be built (still not sure how i want it to be routed and what to use for a nice sound ) wiring still needs to be neatened up and secured . and of course insurance needs to be renewed :)

525isport

Postby 525isport » February 9th, 2013, 6:00 pm

well the clutch is slipping ... and no i didnt burn it up doing burnouts . since we first drove the van the clutch just didnt feel right . 1st gear pulls were ok and when you shift to 2nd and step on it ,it just starts slipping and smelling .so i did some bleeding and rechecking of free play on the fork and pedal and all were ok ,but now it just barely moves in 1st . i suspect the pressure plate is weak and cant handle the power because before i installed the engine i removed the clutch and it was like new so i didnt upgrade it then .

ahh just when the rest of work is done and all is needed is the exhaust and some insurance .

not sure what to upgrade to ,any suggestions?

525isport

Postby 525isport » February 14th, 2013, 1:38 pm

well this is what i removed from the van ,the pressure plate side is down to the rivets
rb25det burnt clutch 1.jpg

rb25det burnt clutch.jpg

and this is what i bought to replace it with , ACT Extreme pressure plate and street and strip clutch
rb25det ACT clutch .jpg
rb25det ACT clutch  (3).jpg
rb25det ACT clutch  (2).jpg

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 15th, 2013, 11:00 am

^^ looks nice!

Where you bought dat?
They have for Navara too? :)

525isport

Postby 525isport » February 15th, 2013, 2:06 pm

i bought it here http://www.tunerimportstt.com/ actually i bought most of the stuff for this van from them . if he doesnt have for the navara im sure he could get it

Postby sliderz1 » February 15th, 2013, 10:29 pm

i remember there was a thread last yr about recent 'ACT' products not being up to their usual rating...

update as time goes by

525isport

Postby 525isport » February 16th, 2013, 7:05 am

i was gettin a clutch kit this brand http://www.competitionclutch.com/ from peak performance . but i never heard of this brand before and i was not willing to pay to find out if it was any good .

sentraman

Postby sentraman » February 18th, 2013, 1:00 pm

This is one sweet project. I love it

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”