Asking any and everything about frontier - HELP / ADVICE

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

Re: Asking any and everything about frontier - HELP / ADVICE

Postby nervewrecker » January 20th, 2016, 6:30 pm

So I checked my engine oil in the D22 frontier and saw the level drop a bit. Again there is oil in the air intake system.
Any idea what can cause this and fixes?

TD27 motor, non turbo.

Postby black start » January 20th, 2016, 7:36 pm

Nerve, time for an oil catch can....

Postby nervewrecker » January 20th, 2016, 7:49 pm

But what causes it? are they designed like that?

Postby Ted_v2 » January 21st, 2016, 4:47 am

oil catch is a good idea, doesnt solve problems but prevents the effects from showing up

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » January 21st, 2016, 8:15 am

sure oil in air intake not coming from breather line from tappet pan cover? that's how they are.

Postby nervewrecker » January 21st, 2016, 9:58 pm

I'll check it tomorrow.

Postby tr1ad » January 25th, 2016, 2:12 pm

looking for these... the racks

Postby sliderz1 » February 2nd, 2016, 1:25 pm

tr1ad wrote:
10-01 wrote:
tr1ad wrote:quicker recommend the QD option

got tru with 1 thanks guys ...

Nice man, currently restoring my D22 as well

making it sound like an antique

Postby sliderz1 » February 2nd, 2016, 1:26 pm

tr1ad wrote:

looking for these... the racks

Maska

Postby nervewrecker » February 9th, 2016, 10:36 am

Anyone have experience with the NP300 burning oil? Or could it be that the form forgot to put oil?

thingcall

Postby thingcall » February 10th, 2016, 6:41 am

Most of the time is backpressure, normal diesel thing.
Then u could check an see if d engine have 2much oil or if d tippit cover breather thing wokin good

AaronB13

Postby AaronB13 » February 14th, 2016, 11:47 am

D22 ZD30DDT

My boost gauge reads 0 vacuum on idle. Pressure reading is taken on the intake manifold after the throttle body. When playing with the two actuators located on the throttle body, vacuum could be manipulated.

Question:

What are those two actuators on the throttle body for? I saw that the vacuum from the engine to these actuators is controlled by two solenoids at the top left of the engine (Green and Brown solenoids/connectors). Wondering if mine are not functioning properly as I should be seeing some sort of vacuum reading at idle. Second question is if I'm taking my pressure reading at the right point on the intake manifold? Anyone has knowledge/experience on this?

Postby tr1ad » March 21st, 2016, 8:22 am

fellas, decided to part with the QD32....
did full service, all belts, all fluids, water pump, serviced ac, suspension check, installed a pair of bucket seats

60k ... think that's a good price?

Postby nervewrecker » April 7th, 2016, 9:44 am

A few people have asked me about getting a Frontier in recent times.

Auto rental has a few to auction off. D40 and D22 NP300 models.

Not sure if the person made a mistake but some of those D22 NP300 have TDA - TDD plates. They not even 1 year old.

Just a heads up gents.

Postby sliderz1 » April 7th, 2016, 1:24 pm

storage and viewing?

Postby nervewrecker » April 7th, 2016, 11:03 pm

Auto rentals cipero St sando.
Will let you guys know when they leave for there. Should be soon.

Trying to decide if I need a new vehicle.

tunerboss1

Postby tunerboss1 » August 10th, 2016, 11:15 pm

Ppl get quite boi.....well lemeh ask sum.
I heard earlier 2nite dat i dont need an adapter plate to wuk up my Yd box to a Qd engine.
TRUE or FALSE???
If i need one, who doz it and at wat cost?

tunerboss1

Postby tunerboss1 » August 11th, 2016, 12:54 pm

Bump

Postby sliderz1 » August 19th, 2016, 9:46 am

best bet would be to see one on the ground yourself and see what can be done.

search the aussie forums for any leads

tunerboss1

Re: RE: Re: Asking any and everything about frontier - HELP / ADVICE

Postby tunerboss1 » August 19th, 2016, 2:30 pm

sliderz1 wrote:best bet would be to see one on the ground yourself and see what can be done.

search the aussie forums for any leads

Thx

Postby nervewrecker » August 25th, 2016, 6:51 pm

Can the back seats in the np300's fold own?

They moved me from closer to auto rentals btw, so no info on vehicles for auctioning.

Zone

Postby Zone » October 5th, 2016, 10:33 pm

qd32 turbo from a maxi on a frontier with zd 30 box .wat do i need

L3g4l_ImMiRaNt

Postby L3g4l_ImMiRaNt » January 27th, 2017, 6:38 pm

Hey not sure if someone could help me or point me in the right direction. I have a D22 4x2 Frontier think its the TD25 Non turbo version. Every morning it when it starts (cold start) i have to rev and rev it to heat up before i could start moving. If i don't it constantly cuts off. While reving thick black smoke comes out the exhaust.

I did an oil, fuel filter and air filter change about a month ago, the problem had stopped for about a 2 weeks but started back.

What else can i do ?

I heard it could be the glow plug or clean injectors.
Where can i go to clean diesel injectors good?

Postby Ted_v2 » January 28th, 2017, 8:03 pm

Sookhai? Try two treatments. Liquid moly diesel purge and diesel kleen. They did some good stuff for me on two jobs. Glow Plugs is just for starting, once it starts pretty easy thats Def not it. Do a quick check Just to confirm

L3g4l_ImMiRaNt

Postby L3g4l_ImMiRaNt » January 28th, 2017, 10:03 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Sookhai? Try two treatments. Liquid moly diesel purge and diesel kleen. They did some good stuff for me on two jobs. Glow Plugs is just for starting, once it starts pretty easy thats Def not it. Do a quick check Just to confirm

Thanks for the help. From what i was seeing on the forum Sookhai and Jerry garage are some good diesel mechanics. Not finding any numbers for them. Anyone has them?

Postby *KRONIK* » January 28th, 2017, 10:43 pm

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » May 9th, 2017, 3:32 pm

Guys need some info of the td27 non turbo. Firstly is it normal for the engine to shake whenthe van is turned off?
Does it have an egr valve? If so I would wan to blank it.
I think the thermo stat was removed. Should I put in a new one?
Recommended oil?
Capacity of the engine oil?
Any other issues to look of for?
Thanks.

Postby Ted_v2 » December 28th, 2018, 9:35 pm

would a qd32 bolt up to a zd30 frontier?

Postby *KRONIK* » December 29th, 2018, 2:21 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:would a qd32 bolt up to a zd30 frontier?
Ask @shake the living wake the dead.
He did that conversion on his

Postby Ted_v2 » December 29th, 2018, 10:07 pm

Will do.

i checking one, looking like the injectors bad. not wasting time on those grenades of engines.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”