Asking any and everything about frontier - HELP / ADVICE

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

Asking any and everything about frontier - HELP / ADVICE

Postby tr1ad » July 18th, 2012, 10:32 am

looking for advice on the following:

navara
ranger (looking at a specific 3.0 for sale)
bt50 (maybe paullct's own as already offroad ready)
hilux

personally the navara seems to low and wide for a 4x4
but asking the diesel boys for input

a lot of the newer ones used have high mileage (guess diesel cheap so they going any where with it)
what about maintenance after 100k, or even 150k?

forgive me, only thing i know about 4x4 or offroad is jimny and that was years ago (and gas powered)
i'll probably be using it everyday, just as my current ride is used
so any advice is appreciated

lighthammer

Re: pros / cons of 4x4 models?

Postby lighthammer » July 18th, 2012, 11:02 am

In stock form, the best offroader pickups are the hilux, ranger and bt-50. Yes the navara is big, wide and sits lower than the others, so you either need to change yojr driving style offroad or modify yojr navara like I have. However, my own navara hasn't been too bad off-road.

Just to clarify, when I say stock form, I mean the only upgrade is a good set of all-terrain tyres like bfg at, terra tracs, or kumho kl78. Otherwise, once you start modifying and upgrading suspensions, mud terrain tyres, diff lockers, winches, etc - they pretty much equal all round.

I chose the navara over the hilux cuz of my budget at the time... The navara was more affordable both in 4x2 and 4x4 trim over the rest of them, even the ranger and bt50 - and I was looking for a manual 4x4 with fabric seats. Plus it was the second most comfortable (after the hilux) and most powerful at the time (new ranger is now more powerful but is 1.5x the price).... Back then I figured I could modify my navara to be an offroad monster and still cost less than a stock automatic hilux (and I was correct!!).

When it comes to maintenance, a 4x4 would have slightly more maintenance to do cuz the front diff will need stuff like fluid changes, the 4wd system needs periodic attention amd maintenance, etc.
I do most of my own maintenance now, with a little help every now and then from a mechanic friend.
Otherwise, a diesel truck is a diesel truck...... Regular maintenance is required to keep your truck happy and working well.
Best advice I can give u is to test drive all the models you interested in.... Put in the hours and research. That way u can make a decision that's best suited to your needs. I took 6 months to buy mine and I have no regrets at all!!

Postby tr1ad » July 18th, 2012, 11:08 am

thanks leo...

what about maintenance after the 100k? as i was just telling wagon r i'm seeing a lot of 2010/2011 models with high mileage

Postby streetbeastINC. » July 18th, 2012, 8:48 pm

loving the shape and capability of the new ranger.......

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 18th, 2012, 9:22 pm

i eh go lie -the new ranger advance the rest by leaps and bounds , unfortunately there is a price attached to it

Postby tr1ad » July 19th, 2012, 12:09 am

buh wa d mudda condensed milk is this... men gone orf on a tangent and forget i arskin questions oar

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 19th, 2012, 1:40 am

you forget you on tuner orr?...lol

remember these engines are stronger than gas engines so they will last much longer. Maintenance is always key to having a good working diesel vehicle. Every new vehicle comes with a maintenance manual, once you follow the recommended service intervals you should be fine

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 19th, 2012, 12:18 pm

Yup, diesel engines last much longer than gasoline.

At 100k km, replace all belts and timing chains, replace shocks, brake pads, flush radiator and fuel lines, check bushings on control arms and shocks.... Replace transmission and differential fluids, check engine for good compression.... And yuh good to go!

My dad has a k34t l200 with 315,000km on the original 4d56 engine... Serviced the fuel pump and in jectors and the ting still ojlling strong.... I sure he could tow my navara from POS to sando with no probs at all......

Take good care of a diesel and it'll take good care of u.

Postby streetbeastINC. » July 19th, 2012, 6:04 pm

timing chains replacemtn at 100k i dont agree

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 19th, 2012, 8:32 pm

What interval would u use then?

Paullct

Postby Paullct » July 20th, 2012, 10:04 pm

i am in LOVE with that 3.0 manual ranger for sale. if you can afford it, i would say go with that for sure!! i know i would, but i poor :cry:

Postby tr1ad » July 24th, 2012, 4:11 pm

i really want to purchase it, but i need my current ride sold first

seems more difficult than it sounds
on a lighter note, the 3.0 hasn't sold yet and the owner isn't in a rush either
if it's sold i may consider the option of the navara, as if parts are needed i would probably get employee discount on them

just haven't sold myself on the navara yet

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » July 24th, 2012, 5:11 pm

Paullct wrote:i am in LOVE with that 3.0 manual ranger for sale. if you can afford it, i would say go with that for sure!! i know i would, but i poor :cry:

EXCELLENT BUY...

Had the 2010 3.0 Litre in Auto, and I wished upon many a star that I could have gotten it in manual.

Thats probably SOOO much fun to drive!

Postby tr1ad » August 14th, 2012, 11:00 am

well that ship has sailed, 3.0 sold and my ride isn't

someone is offering a 4x2 frontier for my forester and i'm actually considering it
100k service already done on the frontier, anything else i should look out for or be concerned about as it's a 4x2?

FilterProz

Postby FilterProz » August 14th, 2012, 11:24 am

tr1ad wrote:well that ship has sailed, 3.0 sold and my ride isn't

someone is offering a 4x2 frontier for my forester and i'm actually considering it
100k service already done on the frontier, anything else i should look out for or be concerned about as it's a 4x2?

Well is diesel for Gas cant go wrong .... why don't you try and get a 4x4... your already trading an AWD forester might as well get a 4x4.... will be easier to sell/trade when your ready to upgrade..

Paullct

Postby Paullct » August 14th, 2012, 11:32 am

if you don't plan on going off road or needing the 4wd then the 4x2 frontier is a good truck IMO.

you should think about if you really wanna trade your current ride for a 4x2 diesel pick up.

weigh the options, list pros and cons, sleep on it for a few nights. i think either way you'll be satisfied. sometimes you just need to change vehicles and have something else to work on and to drive everyday.

Postby tr1ad » August 14th, 2012, 12:01 pm

i wouldn't mind a trade for a 4x4, but havent found anyone willing to trade diesel for gas

i would like to have a 4x4 to go offroad, but wedding around the corner and finances don't permit it

ideally paul, that's what i had in mind, just a change

Paullct

Postby Paullct » August 14th, 2012, 12:26 pm

i agree with you bro. i'm the same.

Postby tr1ad » August 14th, 2012, 12:38 pm

so yuh wanna trade? :D:

Paullct

Postby Paullct » August 14th, 2012, 4:00 pm

LOL :rofl:

venum

Postby venum » August 14th, 2012, 7:30 pm

tr1ad wrote:i wouldn't mind a trade for a 4x4, but havent found anyone willing to trade diesel for gas

good luck with that trade

unless is a dire need you may have some difficulty

take your time and decide,

Postby tr1ad » August 15th, 2012, 10:28 am

yea, dont really expect anyone to go for that trade, hence the consideration for this frontier

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 16th, 2012, 3:23 pm

frolntier is a good truck, strong and durable. Take good care of it, or at least put in the time and effort and cash to restore it, and it'll last just as long as any ol' hilux or land rover.

Postby tr1ad » August 16th, 2012, 5:51 pm

think i found a QD32 4x4

who knows

Paullct

Postby Paullct » August 16th, 2012, 6:15 pm

:D :D :D

take it!!

venum

Postby venum » August 16th, 2012, 8:40 pm

N/A or TD :?:

Postby tr1ad » August 16th, 2012, 9:06 pm

N/A....
Think i'm going with it

Postby wagon r » August 16th, 2012, 9:47 pm

...call me when yuh get a chance....

Postby sliderz1 » August 16th, 2012, 11:55 pm

venum wrote:N/A or TD :?:

QD32ETi......as rare as they get!