BT 50 Burning oil

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
ranger

BT 50 Burning oil

Postby ranger » April 8th, 2013, 12:23 pm

Did a head change at sookhai"s about 6 months ago, the van is back to normal except its been burning oil ever since. No smoking, no leaks, no loss of power, no hard starts. the head was changed at around 80xxx km presently its approaching 100000km. Anyone had this problem before? Any advice?

Re: BT 50 Burning oil

Postby streetbeastINC. » April 8th, 2013, 1:35 pm

CHECK YUH TOBO

Mech Mines

Postby Mech Mines » April 9th, 2013, 1:22 am

being that you replaced your cylinder head they could have installed the valve seals incorrectly, that could cause the loss of oil.

ranger

Postby ranger » April 9th, 2013, 8:15 am

was thinking about the valves and valve seals....taking it back to them on Thursday...we'll see how it goes.

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » July 13th, 2013, 8:56 am

^^ any updates on this? was the valve seals incorrectly installed?
problem fixed?

roti102

Postby roti102 » August 2nd, 2013, 12:47 am

What oil are you using. Was using Shaeffers and that was burning off in my engine. Had to add oil every week. Same with Royal Purple. Redline seems to be not burning off.

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » August 2nd, 2013, 1:13 am

111000 kms . Previous owner used shell 15w 40.. and I continued the trend.. no problems so far.

unikit911

Postby unikit911 » August 2nd, 2013, 4:54 am

Try Conoco Phillips 15w40 Hydro Clear Power D engine oil... You will get it by Rhamuts in Cross Crossing... the oil is not that expensive....

ranger

Postby ranger » August 7th, 2013, 8:51 am

haven't had time to resolve the problem yet, using amsoil 15w40....

roti102

Postby roti102 » August 7th, 2013, 12:41 pm

Make a good inspection under the truck and make sure there are no wet spots. Could very well be the head is burning oil as in the seals, or your turbo as someone else said.

sanjai1980

Postby sanjai1980 » December 31st, 2013, 5:46 pm

did u get this issue resolved?

ranger

Postby ranger » January 2nd, 2014, 9:12 am

Ended up taking apart the engine because everything else was in order, found wear on the number two cylinder. This is right where the crack on the head was so I am assuming the water getting in there had something to do with the damage. I had the engine rebuilt just a couple weeks ago so right now I am monitoring to see how it goes, but so far so good.

sanjai1980

Postby sanjai1980 » January 2nd, 2014, 11:05 am

What was the cost to rebuild ur engine if u dont mind sharing. Ur cost for parts and labour. did ur resleeve ur block or use oversize rings?

ranger

Postby ranger » January 3rd, 2014, 1:04 pm

total cost was just under 10k parts and labor. I put in sleeves, new rings, changed main bearings and connecting rod bearings, new valve seals, changed main seals on the crank shaft, new head gasket. All parts used was genuine except for the rings (R.I.K. used), company had no stock. I didn't have to do any machining on the cam or crank shafts. Mechanic labor fees was $2500.00, machine shop fees $900.00 inclusive of liners and cleaning of pistons but this was a "padner price" so not too sure about normal cost.....

sanjai1980

Postby sanjai1980 » January 3rd, 2014, 11:31 pm

Did u buy a full kit from Southern Sales? What was the price?

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » January 10th, 2014, 7:16 am

ditto sanjai's question..... sleves , bearings, etc, purchased from southern sales?

rough estimate of prices ?

have my original engine sitting there that suffered a similar fate, wanna embark on a rebuild project soon.... any info on those parts greatly appreciated :D

ranger

Postby ranger » January 11th, 2014, 11:30 pm

i didnt buy a full kit, I will check my bills and give a breakdown of the cost for the parts...on Monday

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » January 13th, 2014, 3:55 pm

thanks.... much appreciated.

droppa

Postby droppa » January 15th, 2014, 8:08 am

very good prices and quality parts can be found at Gasparillo Auto Supplies.......650-2268

alot of the local stealerships buy parts locally and "claim" its genuine stuff......

telling yuh from what ive been told from the ppl in service departments......

ranger

Postby ranger » January 15th, 2014, 12:42 pm

Prices
Valve Seals - 870.55 (Southern Sales)
Head gasket - 1151.29 (southern sales)
Connecting rod bearings - 535.47 (southern sales)
Main bearings(crank shaft) - 789.19 (southern sales)
Rear oil seal (crank shaft) - 282.03 (southern sales)
Rings (RIK) - 675.00 (kwal singh)
Thrust washers - 125.00 (kwal singh)

For all the southern sales prices add vat.

ranger

Postby ranger » January 15th, 2014, 12:47 pm

Four liners installed 1350.00, think I said 900.00 before, I remembered wrong.

bt50

Postby bt50 » January 15th, 2014, 3:03 pm

Ranger...im a bit confused. ..u did a head change at sookhai and the van started burning oil since...did u take it back to them?

Reason im asking is u when the head in my bt50 had cracked, same number 2 cylinder I ended up changing the valves on number 2 cyliner abd head gasket. Never had any burning oil issues at all...

Based on your post u basically had to rebuild ur engine after u changed a head. ..well at least you van in order now. ..

ranger

Postby ranger » January 16th, 2014, 12:52 pm

I did take it back to Sookhai but they didnt find anything.....
only the cylinder walls were damaged but i decided to change the other parts (bearings etc) since i already had the engine out and scrapped. Didnt want to mess with this engine anytime in the near future.
I think the van was burning some oil before the head change, but after the change it got really bad.

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » January 20th, 2014, 5:25 pm

thanks for the info ranger. your prices for rings and connecting rod bearings, are per cylinder or for the set?

also, depending on the severity of the overheat which causes the heads to crack, if it's bad enough, it damages the cylinder walls hence the blocks get screwed "after the head is changed". same thing happened to mine, bought the van with the "head changed" and the block died shortly after.
if it isnt severe, only the head cracks.

jerry2008

Postby jerry2008 » January 20th, 2014, 5:48 pm

Hey guys should I rebuild the extra gead and block I have

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » January 20th, 2014, 8:54 pm

that's what i'm considering right now, it can't hurt to have an extra engine fully rebuilt.... but at the same time that seems to be an expensive convenience.
the foreign engines seem wayyyyyy stronger than the local ones. I have no clue if a properly rebuilt local engine will be any better than they were originally. (which is no good).

jerry2008

Postby jerry2008 » January 20th, 2014, 8:57 pm

True

jerry2008

Postby jerry2008 » January 20th, 2014, 9:00 pm

I changed my head because there was a small crack on two of the cylinder ports. Then the mechanic tells me I could of sleve and port them over to repair to crack

ranger

Postby ranger » January 21st, 2014, 1:49 pm

all prices per set

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » January 21st, 2014, 3:17 pm

I have to ask... What caused the head to crack? Was there ever any incidence of overheating?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”