2013 isuzu dmax 3.0 turbo 4x4 automatic

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
brown4599

2013 isuzu dmax 3.0 turbo 4x4 automatic

Postby brown4599 » August 16th, 2013, 5:16 pm

:?: is the 2013 Isuzu dmax a good buy...please let me know..

telfer

Re: 2013 isuzu dmax 3.0 turbo 4x4 automatic

Postby telfer » August 18th, 2013, 3:07 pm

The dmax looks nice it drives nice but it dead like a door knob had one for a week until I got my bt50 didn't enjoy it

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » August 18th, 2013, 8:14 pm

Dmax built for power not speed ,can tow 3x it's weight.

Mazdout

Postby Mazdout » August 19th, 2013, 4:27 am

New Dmax (2nd generation) does what any 4x4 does it's more of a preferential choice with advance tech https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HmKG6raANdg when we saw its rivals being the Ford Ranger and the VW Amarok it had to have some value. With comfort for all passengers on long journeys and traffic, super suspension for our pot-holes, we enjoy the ride. It also returned impressively low fuel consumption, with official combined figures of just 8.1 litres per 100km for the auto and 8.3L/100km for manual models. Been driving it for 3 months now - no issues.

stef

Postby stef » August 19th, 2013, 6:53 am

Unsure of ride quality but the cabin is super comfy and with a lot of features for the price. Plus it looks great

brown4599

Postby brown4599 » August 20th, 2013, 5:45 pm

thanks guys for filling me in on the info....I heard that the 2.5l is kinda lazy on the pickup but the 3.0 is much faster...

bigb

Postby bigb » August 23rd, 2013, 8:58 am

so what u guys are saying overall d new Isuzu isn't ah bad buy ?

Postby Ted_v2 » August 23rd, 2013, 9:16 am

Seems so. pretty much its the cheapest on the market

star scream

Postby star scream » August 23rd, 2013, 5:17 pm

only in Trinidad is the isuzu brand underrated, the d max is a known workhorse.

brown4599

Postby brown4599 » August 24th, 2013, 7:44 am

paid 280,000 for the 2013 Isuzu dmax 4x4 3.0 L turbo ...it's not that cheap.. :D

bigb

Postby bigb » August 24th, 2013, 10:10 pm

my question how is the accelaration on the 2013 model the one with the projector lights? manual

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » August 27th, 2013, 10:14 pm

bigb wrote:my question how is the accelaration on the 2013 model the one with the projector lights? manual

I would assume better, as they now come with an intercooler. I've seen a few around, they accelerate well enough. The 3.0 is very fast though

white_lion

Postby white_lion » August 28th, 2013, 12:35 pm

This is my DMax, it's the 4x4 2.5 turbo diesel manual LS model which was just under $216,000. licensed and on the road. Got it as a company vehicle a couple weeks ago and I've done almost 4,000 km's with absolutely no complaints thus far. I admit it is a bit lazy off the line but once you get accustomed to it, it really isn't that bad, after all it is a truck that was made to be worked and is supposedly the only pick-up rated to safely tow 3 1/2 tonnes.

It's not as light on it's feet as my 2008 base model Ranger but what it lacks in speed, it makes up for with a very spacious cabin, nice features, excellent fuel economy and a very comfortable, smooth, "SUV-like" ride. I do have a heavy foot and tend to accelerate to cruising speed very quickly and on average I've been getting 575 km's from 3/4 tank of diesel which is more than I ever got from the Ranger. Also took it for a little off road test last week and it handled extremely well for having Dueler H/T tires. All in all it's a very well put together vehicle and I am very happy with my decision to get this over it's competitors.

Postby *KRONIK* » August 28th, 2013, 12:39 pm

I find these d-max rel nice...
I wont mind owning one

Postby Ted_v2 » August 28th, 2013, 3:06 pm

I like this model and the older one. Anyone can comment on how robust the drive train is made?

brown4599

Postby brown4599 » August 29th, 2013, 8:02 am

bought the same colour black but the 3.0 l automatic 4x4...should be getting it any time soon

Naz

Postby Naz » August 29th, 2013, 8:32 am

What about price fr parts?
I spoke to toyota and the prices are really close to these.... Same 290 for a fully loaded 4x4 3l and between 245k and 268k for d 2.5... What makes this a better buy bedside the looks?

turbo_monkey

Postby turbo_monkey » September 1st, 2013, 9:44 pm

nice looking truck white_lion...somehow prefer it without the roof rails

Mazdout

Postby Mazdout » September 12th, 2013, 6:44 am

Nice ride white_lion, got the same model LS the (Bluish color-I think the call it Mineral Grey Met) heading for 6k km's - no problems so far, runs great and fantastic on the diesel. Yes the ratio in the lower gears are a bit close but once you're going you're good. First service came up to around $800. filters/engine oil and a 30pt check. Service wasn't bad overall. Installed a FLEX-COVER.COM for securing stuff in the tray.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » September 13th, 2013, 8:06 pm

It might be a good idea to check the availability of body and maintenance parts.

brown4599

Postby brown4599 » September 17th, 2013, 10:03 am

wouldn't parts be available at southern sales, why buy a new vehicle and use after market parts. parts are just around the same price as toyota

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 16th, 2013, 10:22 pm

D-Max
$117,000.00 2.5 TD 4x2 s/c
$134,043.00 2.5 TD 4x2 c/c
$150,000.00 2.5 TD 4x2 c/c LS
$187,015.00 2.5 TD 4x4 c/c MT LS
$217,000.00 3.0 TD 4x4 c/c AT LS

Are these prices up to date?.....
read white lion bought his manual transmission for 216?.....the price above states thae the automatic is 217......wondering whats the actual price for the automatic model.....

Postby Ted_v2 » November 2nd, 2013, 9:17 am

call the firm, prices change regular

Postby pete » November 27th, 2013, 2:58 pm

Single cab is more like 165 or 169 now.

Been looking for a single cab 4x4 to tow some heavy stuff and doubt the 4x2 would do it so may go with a Navara. Anyone ever used a Navara for towing?

Postby Ted_v2 » November 27th, 2013, 4:50 pm

i used a 4x4 to pull a vehicle with a rope, does that count?

Navara gets my vote tho.

bigb

Postby bigb » April 16th, 2014, 1:49 pm

hello to all the dmax owners how is allyuh vehicle going so far?

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » May 13th, 2014, 8:00 pm

guys, is the engine in the present 2014 3.0 dmax the same as the older model (the one which sounded like a tractor)

sweeks

Postby sweeks » May 17th, 2014, 5:41 am

kriticalkase wrote:guys, is the engine in the present 2014 3.0 dmax the same as the older model (the one which sounded like a tractor)

The 3.0 carries the same engine 4jj1 with minor upgrades from the previous model which is a power plant .

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » May 21st, 2014, 7:44 pm

Guys, I did a test drive on the 3.0 auto 4x2 today. I took her from the savannah to over the lady young.
The first thing I noticed was reduction in power from a stand still take off as compared to a nav or a 3.2 sportero. I know these dmax are work horses but I just expected a lil more pep in the engine.
Once I reach 60-80kms the drive was excellent.
Over the hills the dmax pulled great. I just had to press on the accelerator a bit more. the ride was excellent. I went over some bumpy areas and this van handled it well. Engine noise in the vehicle was a lot less than I expected.
I know the last model dmax was loud but this engine seem a bit more refined.

The features and overall layout is greta with the exception of the usb port which is not user friendly.
The van looks great, comes in a 5 speed auto, loaded with features.

Overall apart fro the power output this is a solid vehicle. its a pity that Isuzu is such an underated brand in Trinidad. I am seriously considering getting this, my only other option is the 2.2 ranger.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » May 21st, 2014, 8:06 pm

The new D-MAX has received lots of praise and awards in Australia where they really use these utes to the max.

Just some other facts:
- The engine in the D-MAX is a smaller version of that used in Isuzu N-Series Commercial Trucks and are designed for long life. I read somewhere they have a rating of B-10 which is 500,000 kms (minimum life for 90% of these engines). Engine uses a patented technology to fuse the cylinder liners to the block plus has special oil channels in the piston to increase cooling and reduce blow by
- D-MAX platform is shared with the HUMMER H2 and built for strength
- The D-MAX has the highest approach and departure angles
- New D-MAX is equipped with bash plates to protect underbody
- The D-MAX can carry 1 ton in the tray and simultaneously tow 3 tons ... only pickup in its class that can do that
- D-MAX has under chassis grease points

The new D-MAX combines its workhorse ability with greater ride and comfort making it an extremely capably pickup. Oh yeah it also has the most fuel efficient engine 8L/100km. Owners in Australia are getting over 900kms per tank with some crossing 1000kms on a fill up.

This is actually my first choice for a pickup.
Last edited by ek4ever on May 22nd, 2014, 9:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”