Ographer gets first 4x4 :$

Posted: September 30th, 2013, 9:49 am
by Rensh
Just thought I'd finally share and introduce myself to the truck gurus out there. Years of taking photos of 4x4s playing in the dirt and mud, I finally got my own toy now. Try not to be too hard on me if I ask noob questions ok. :oops: I know some of ya'll, wagonr, lighthammer, tr1ad, slack etc. I can't remember the others' forum names lol.

She's 2nd hand.. although looks brand new in the pics haha:

Some of meh fav offroad pics:

Re: Ographer gets first 4x4 :$

Posted: September 30th, 2013, 11:46 am
by 3stagevtec
Nice truck Lyden, now please allow me to frighten you a little.. Those WLT (2.5L Turbo) Mazda or Ford engine, have a known history of blowing the heads. To date I have changed two heads on those vans and both those vans were well maintained by their owners..

From what I've gathered, there seems to be a hot spot in the engine near the #3 or #4 cylinder and that causes the metal to crack, a design flaw in other words. Spend a little time and look into this problem, it was mentioned on the forum a few times already.

Usually, IMO, excessive hard driving is what responsible for causing the head to crack.. The both vans I had worked on were known to have been driven hard on the road just prior to them failing. Constant hard driving (x to board for long periods), works against the possible design flaw or inadequacy in the cooling system and that leads to premature failure.

Now, that is what I deduced from my experience with them. Hopefully others will give their opinions as well. Some engineers from a popular Japanese tire company we had spoken to had suggested a restriction in the exhaust system will cause raised temperatures near the turbo manifold.. raised temps will stress the head even more. The suggestion was to inspect the catalytic converter for clogs, or bypass it completely for a less restrictive flow.

Outside of that, those Rangers / BT50s / B2500s etc have a pretty strong drivetrain / suspension and you will find it pretty difficult to damage them.. Work on the preventative maintenance for the engine and you should enjoy your truck for many years to come..

my 2c..

Posted: October 2nd, 2013, 2:07 pm
by sliderz1
congrats on your purchase!

Posted: October 2nd, 2013, 6:50 pm
by nismo87
don't forget to install a gps or other tracking device on it...would hate to see you become another statistic (like myself !!)

and congrats on ur new 4 x 4 :D

Posted: October 2nd, 2013, 6:56 pm
by Ted_v2
Excellent starter vehicle. Lots of potential

Posted: October 4th, 2013, 8:28 am
by Rensh
Thanks guys!
3stagevtec, doh frighten me too much nuh! Lol

Posted: October 6th, 2013, 12:50 pm
by nareshramlal
is dere a ford ranger club around..jus acquired a ford ranger 2008.??????

Posted: October 15th, 2013, 10:03 pm
by venum
Congrats and excellent choice for a first pickup

those are good vehicles

easily and affordably maintained.

Ditto on what 3stage said on the common fault as i know quite a few that suffered teh same fate

maintenance is always key to a good diesel ownership experience. No shortage of WL experience in these parts. mechmines is a guy you may wanna link with for these.

now lewwe cook some of them yard fowl to celebrate :twisted:

Posted: October 24th, 2013, 10:05 am
by Rensh
venum wrote:Congrats and excellent choice for a first pickup

now lewwe cook some of them yard fowl to celebrate :twisted:

Thanks haha, they still up in Moka. Feel free to capture and cook them lol.

By the way, I'm in search of these things. Canvas tray cover or Roll n Lock tray cover. Or a used canopy cover. Where's the best place with the best prices? :o

Posted: October 24th, 2013, 10:06 pm
by MonsterPower
Congrats on the truck fam ... thanks for the flashback in the first pic..

also add to that list is a decent set of oem alloy rims or at least somn aftermarket that will not rice out the vehicle.

Posted: October 27th, 2013, 7:12 pm
by streetbeastINC.
How can a bt50 be called a starter 4x4? Seriously disagree, i would say excellent template..... owned quite a few offroaders and the b2500 and bt50 ranger are some on the top of my list....

Posted: October 29th, 2013, 3:27 am
by speedaholic
Van lookin good now boy Lydong..! go and get that engine serviced! I.E. Injectors! buy the Amsoil Diesel concentrate and Cetane Boost additive! they work wonders! Make sure your Oil is changed on time, along with Oil, Air and Fuel filters.. all of these things are so cheap.. unles youre buying oem.. i use Sakura filters and never had problems, venum can vouch for them as well..

Posted: October 29th, 2013, 3:38 am
by 3stagevtec
Stay away from Fram filters.. they had a reputation for failing at one time.. Sakura is good imo..

Posted: October 29th, 2013, 8:54 pm
by Paullct
saw this truck by Dean's Wheels today!! Like the modifications have only just started

Posted: October 30th, 2013, 9:42 am
by droppa
van looks like it was well maintained by the previous owner, try to keep up the mtce and u will be good, as i tell anyone wanting to buy a WLT, as a damn great vehicle just have yuh head money put down as a just in case.....

post the updated pics nah man......

Posted: October 31st, 2013, 6:51 am
by Fazeer
From running with a WLT hard everyday for three years before i sold d gizmo..as most of those said preventative maintenance is the key to preserving the life of the engine...keep on top of your 100k service...tbelt tensioner oil front to back i.e. gbox tcase and diffs...doh stick with those..

Posted: October 31st, 2013, 6:44 pm
by venum
speedaholic wrote: I.E. Injectors! buy the Amsoil Diesel concentrate and Cetane Boost additive! they work wonders! Make sure your Oil is changed on time, along with Oil, Air and Fuel filters.. all of these things are so cheap.. unles youre buying oem.. i use Sakura filters and never had problems, venum can vouch for them as well..

oil changes on time - definately with any diesel

air and fuel filters as well

I wouldn't touch those injectors unless they need to be

Sakura are great filters if u choose not to go for OEm

with that WL, if it were me, i wouldn't run OEM filters or synth oil

mineral oil in the proper grade for 5,000km and use sakura filters. chnage fuel filter and oil filter together (too cheap not to)

WL injector pumps are not as tolerant to particulate matter as other pumps, so reliable clean diesel source should be considered (as with any diesel), but more so with WL's

diffs and TC take abuse, so oil changes on time as well

get a turbo timer