Went with Nankang A/T instead........pretty decent....

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
NMN_57

Went with Nankang A/T instead........pretty decent....

Postby NMN_57 » March 31st, 2014, 7:44 pm

So in my search for cheaper MT tyres, I ended up coming across the Nankang 4x4 All Terrain's a 17th time. :shock:
I took that as a sign. :lol:

Went with them in 275/70r16, writing on the outside.....Looks damn good, softer ride....
can't wait to try them out!

Got em' at Maraj and sons btw, so thanks to 3stage for that! :D

10172726_10202712770814263_382017869342252901_n.jpg
Last edited by NMN_57 on April 15th, 2014, 8:16 pm, edited 2 times in total.

droppa

Re: Looking for wheels for my Nav within the next month...

Postby droppa » April 1st, 2014, 8:13 am

hardly likely u would get a decent set of used 16" rims with the D40 bolt pattern, most fellas swap out stock and go bigger, yuh have to real search....

my advice would be to get a set of a spacer/adaptors to go from 6x115 to 6X139 that way u kill two birds with one stone, wil have a wider stance with narrower rim and will have a wider variety of rims to look at,

and a 16x9 rim u looking for? good luck......

NMN_57

Postby NMN_57 » April 1st, 2014, 8:04 pm

Yeah, I've been looking around for a set.....I came across guys with a couple but no one was willing to sell just yet....

I was considering the spacers but some of the guys with wheel shops and so forth recommend otherwise, knowing some of them personally, they suggested to look for a wheel with decent offset before resorting to spacers.

as for the D40 stud pattern to 6x139, Wesbourne didn't have, Dean doesn't stock apparently when I called them.....and I'd much rather spend the money on the wheels instead of bringing down a set

Honestly, width doesn't matter once it's greater that 8.5"....

Life hard.

GHOSTRYDER

Postby GHOSTRYDER » April 11th, 2014, 7:07 pm

Swopped out the standard SE wheels on mine and got a set of the 4X4 Set with some practically new shoes. The ride is a bit more cushioned as compared to the biscuit tyre . I don't see the sense in putting those bigger wheels on a van like a Nav.

Postby nervewrecker » April 11th, 2014, 7:11 pm

Stock navara rims? Will they fit on a d22 frontier?

NMN_57

Postby NMN_57 » April 11th, 2014, 11:51 pm

Naw bro, the bolt pattern's different.
D40 Nav is 6 x 114 spacing whilst the D22 frontier is 6 x 139.7 if I recall properly.
Had a d22 before, have a Nav now so I'd know...
Much more rims available for the D22 though, because of that spacing.....

As for the wheels, I bought my van on 20" and the guy I bought it from passed the stockies to his buddy which wasn't an issue then....
I got a set of SE wheels with rubber for $800 to use daily....
Finally decided to get that slightly aggressive off-road look with a hint of performance so I bought the 4x4 rims which I paid $1300 for and painted em' black.
Now I just need some 31"/32" tyres to house some 16" rims......

Re: anyone knows where has cheap 'no name' M/T tyres?

Postby 3stagevtec » April 14th, 2014, 3:09 pm

Maharaj (or was it Maraj?) in Gasparillo has new MTs for around $850each

NMN_57

Postby NMN_57 » April 14th, 2014, 6:05 pm

Thanks 3stage!
Is the place easy to find?
I'm from up North, so I don't venture much beyond Couva without purpose \: Hence, I'll have no idea where I'm headed

Postby 3stagevtec » April 14th, 2014, 10:41 pm

NMN_57 wrote:Thanks 3stage!
Is the place easy to find?
I'm from up North, so I don't venture much beyond Couva without purpose \: Hence, I'll have no idea where I'm headed

Very easy to find..

From south bound take Gasparillo Flyover, turn right at KFC (i.e. Gasparillo Jn), drive approx 200m, tyre shop on left.

Wait a sec... take a read here...

http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=58&t=552718

NMN_57

Postby NMN_57 » April 14th, 2014, 11:40 pm

Oh sheit. LOL.
I'm going for a drive tomorrow or wednesday I guess!

Postby 3stagevtec » April 15th, 2014, 12:00 am

NMN_57 wrote:Oh sheit. LOL.
I'm going for a drive tomorrow or wednesday I guess!

Word of advice, Gasparillo jn is a no right turn between 6-9am and 2:30 to 6pm (IIRC).. so make sure you pass between 9am to 2:30pm.. outside of those hours, you will need to take the Gasparillo bypass road instead to get there.

NMN_57

Postby NMN_57 » April 15th, 2014, 1:24 pm

Thanks again, kinda late, now leaving home LOL
I'll have to figure out that bypass road thing......

droppa

Re: Went with Nankang A/T instead........pretty decent....

Postby droppa » April 16th, 2014, 10:32 am

good stuff man, hope u didnt pay more than 1000 ea, they work great, but some say they wear fast.....

Postby 3stagevtec » April 16th, 2014, 3:34 pm

Maraj didn't have any MTs to fit your size? Did you paint those rims black? Looks good!

Tyres rubbing by chance??

NMN_57

Postby NMN_57 » April 16th, 2014, 10:38 pm

naw Droppa, paid around $900 each, well....with my style of driving, I won't be surprised if they do wear fast.....

Nope 3stage \: Unfortunately not, but I don't regret going with these tyres...took a drive up Lopinot today, I have no complaints on the AT.
Yep! Matte, cleared and matte again just for the sake of it! :lol:
Nope no tyre rubbing btw!
Just good looks and a greater looking flex!
Last edited by NMN_57 on April 16th, 2014, 11:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

NMN_57

Postby NMN_57 » April 16th, 2014, 11:18 pm

As I said.......my style of driving.............. :lol:
Had to break em' in!

edited9 - Copy.jpg
edited9 - Copy.jpg (89.94 KiB) Viewed 5963 times

GHOSTRYDER

Postby GHOSTRYDER » April 17th, 2014, 5:59 am

what did it cost you do paint your wheels MNM?

NMN_57

Postby NMN_57 » April 17th, 2014, 9:37 am

I did them myself actually....with sandpaper, plastic primer, matte black spray paint and clear. I'm not hoping for a durable, lasting paintjob but hey, it looks good and cheap if I hadda do it over.
So far, it's holding out pretty well......
It cost about $200 and 4 hours in total :)

NMN_57

Postby NMN_57 » April 17th, 2014, 9:50 am

1617577_10200696456292981_7505024870270787263_o - Copy.jpg
1617577_10200696456292981_7505024870270787263_o - Copy.jpg (162.36 KiB) Viewed 5917 times

NMN_57

Postby NMN_57 » April 25th, 2014, 8:31 am

Here's another pic to enjoy!
905833_10200696483093651_2352439172338244348_o.jpg
905833_10200696483093651_2352439172338244348_o.jpg (91.72 KiB) Viewed 5821 times

Postby 3stagevtec » April 26th, 2014, 2:39 am

Lemme know when you ready to try something a lil harder.. lol

Is that glare i'm seeing or are your headlights tinted / reflector painted black? Truck looking good in that pic..

NMN_57

Postby NMN_57 » April 26th, 2014, 10:54 am

Not until June man! but I'm prepping till' then....
Tinted headlights! :)

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 28th, 2014, 11:52 am

NMN_57 ... come with me, if you wanna live.....

NMN_57

Postby NMN_57 » April 28th, 2014, 1:37 pm

I have exams....but....
I'll be back.....

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”