4x2 Pickups and Trinidad Diesel

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
cajunspirit

4x2 Pickups and Trinidad Diesel

Postby cajunspirit » January 7th, 2016, 8:32 pm

So a colleague of mine advised against purchasing a 4X2 vehicle given their experiences with a 4X2 Ranger.

Granted I know the quality of Diesel in Trinidad is nasty, the vehicle I had in mind was a Hilux 2016 not the Ranger which I have heard also has transmission problems.

Can anyone advise on the nature of 4X2 being less compliant with our local diesel at the pump?

clintus

Re: 4x2 Pickups and Trinidad Diesel

Postby clintus » January 7th, 2016, 8:38 pm

Dont know bout ranger but i have 4x2 navara no complaints......i use a treatment every other fullup plus d40 came with fuel filter and a water trap filter that works well. And i change all filters during routine 5000k maintainence

skulls

Postby skulls » January 7th, 2016, 9:41 pm

Boss once u service your ride properly. no matter wah u buy u good 2 go

skulls

Postby skulls » January 7th, 2016, 9:41 pm

N treatment iz ah must

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » January 7th, 2016, 9:59 pm

I agree with the poor quality of our diesel.

I have a 4x2 ranger doing 54000kms with scheduled service and 0 issues. Van works lie day one. Note that this van is just over 1 year old yet I do lots of driving.

The key to the Rangers from ANSA is servicing at the dealer as regular software updates (engine/tranny) are done.

I don't think there is much difference between the 4x2 and 4x4 ranger performance except fuel economy. As mentioned earlier, regular service is the key to a trouble free pick up.

cajunspirit

Postby cajunspirit » January 19th, 2016, 10:57 am

Hmmm, perhaps there is some luck involved as well.

Thank you all for your contributions.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”