WTK: All Terrain Tyres

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
swordsman

WTK: All Terrain Tyres

Postby swordsman » February 2nd, 2016, 8:45 am

Does anyone know where i can purchase a set of reliable and at least aggressive looking A/T tyres?
They're for my 2012 Hilux - 265/65/17.

Presently running Nitto Terragrappler but not in the mood to pay 2k a tyre again for replacements.

Thanks a mil!!!!

Re: WTK: All Terrain Tyres

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 2nd, 2016, 2:11 pm

If you're willing to go a smidge wider, the Dunlop Grantrek AT3 is a pretty decent tyre.
They're Ok in the wet, just keep out of the powerband round corners.

EDIT: Available at Tyre Clinic, Couva for 1350/ea

civic minded

Postby civic minded » February 16th, 2016, 12:04 pm

just saw yesterday some bridgestone A/T 265-65-17 @ wheel wizards in chaguanas

Postby De Dragon » February 20th, 2016, 4:39 pm

Firestone Destination A/T $1200 or thereabouts at M. Ramrattan's

Postby tr1ad » February 21st, 2016, 8:11 am

Aggressive looking ... Lol

Postby tr1ad » February 21st, 2016, 3:43 pm

The toyo's from Mileage Mack are pretty decent .... 1130

nemram

Postby nemram » February 21st, 2016, 3:53 pm

I've got Sailun Terramax 275-70-17 A/T from RaceTrac. I think around 1100 each.

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » February 24th, 2016, 3:53 pm

nick639 wrote:
De Dragon wrote:Firestone Destination A/T $1200 or thereabouts at M. Ramrattan's

Got these on a navara. Very nice tyres

The Firestone is available in 17 now? Can anyone confirm?

I currently have Bridgestone on the Sportero 17" rims but I didn't like it. I will be going to Maxxis when I'm changing out for the rainy season. Approx $975 per HT tyre

swordsman

Postby swordsman » February 26th, 2016, 8:27 am

Thanks for all the feedback. I ended up with the Toyo A/T from Mileage Mack. ride is pretty decent and i get alot less wheel spin than with the Nitto. (weird)

I do have 3 Nitto Terra Grapplers for sale if anyone is interested. About 40% life in them. Make an offer if anyone is interested.

Will post some photos hopefully over the weekend.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » February 28th, 2016, 12:30 pm

Toyopet wrote:
nick639 wrote:
De Dragon wrote:Firestone Destination A/T $1200 or thereabouts at M. Ramrattan's

Got these on a navara. Very nice tyres

The Firestone is available in 17 now? Can anyone confirm?

I currently have Bridgestone on the Sportero 17" rims but I didn't like it. I will be going to Maxxis when I'm changing out for the rainy season. Approx $975 per HT tyre

The Bridgestone Dueller HT are generally ok in ideal conditions, but downright dangerous in the wet. I see M Ramrattan is carrying the Dueller AT as well. The reviews for the Firestone are better though.
WRT Maxxis, I was really hoping the local distributor would have carried these:
http://www.maxxis.com/catalog/tire-131- ... ies-at-771
but the one I checked in Penal only had something like this:
http://www.maxxis.com/catalog/tire-6-10 ... ies-ma-751
....and the price wasn't that great either

As for the Toyos, those are excellent, but don't expect any long life with it. On the other hand, our Firestone Destinations just hit 70,000 kms and are now due for a change :)

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » February 28th, 2016, 1:48 pm

nick639 wrote:^^ pops nav give him 85k on those firestones.. And i swear they had decent threads on it still

I've got about 56,000km on mine with thread to go about 20,000 more safely, and u throw the Sportero around corners like a car

Ronnie203

Postby Ronnie203 » April 4th, 2016, 8:06 pm

Anyone have any used 17" pickup tyres for sale ?

For a Hilux

Postby *KRONIK* » April 4th, 2016, 8:44 pm

If u not hurry....
I will have 2 triangle 225/65/17 to sell soon

Ronnie203

Postby Ronnie203 » April 4th, 2016, 9:28 pm

oh....that to small bro

looking for at lease a 265/65/17

Postby *KRONIK* » April 5th, 2016, 4:14 pm

Understood

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 30th, 2016, 6:18 pm

bump - anywhere have good deals on van tyres at the moment?
My tyres have a little life in em - but they're doing about 40k kms and I don't wanna be caught in the wet when I hit the minimum wear indicator bars.

Dont mind trying a different brand all terrain, the dunlop at3 held pretty well.

maybe 285/65 or 275/65 17.

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » May 5th, 2016, 8:57 am

What area of the country you @?

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 9th, 2016, 10:15 pm

Centra/north/south/east location doh really matter. Have to sort out new shocks and then it's time for new shoes.
wouldnt mind changing the look a bit.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”