evo dirfting?

Official Drifting Forum

Death-Row

evo dirfting?

Postby Death-Row » May 14th, 2008, 12:08 pm

i did a search and found nothing so i said ill make a post. i wanted to know if an evo can be a drift car? what does it take? can you still keep the AWD?

i asked this since i know the skyline r32 can easily be a rwd car by removing the fuse or installing the switch thingy :lol:

i know the awd systems may not be the same but wanted to know if maybe something can be installed to the evo that can adjust the amount of power that goes to the rear and the front? maybe send 90% to the rear and 10% to the front? there by still keeping the awd parts moving but still most power goes to the rear.

would like to hear your views on this. thanks. :D

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » May 14th, 2008, 11:48 pm

As stated in a past post about evo conversions, the drivetrain is significantly different from an impreza or a skyline. I'm not sure how the evo works its AWD system but it Rhys Millen motorsports are actually making a kit where basically the output shafts to the front wheels are empty, thereby making the evo RWD. And you can swap back the originals when u've fedup driving like a 5 year old.
http://www.edmunds.com/insideline/do/Fe ... eId=115637
The D1 evo by cusco, actually uses a longitudinal engine layout and a custom Getrag g'box and is strictly RWD.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » May 15th, 2008, 12:41 am

Tsuchiya,was reading about that kit but also read that it is hell on the transfer case.

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » May 15th, 2008, 5:48 pm

really?? well i suppose y wud u want an evo, which is so quick as an AWD car, as a RWD? jus to showoff really...
buy an ole GSR lancer if u want a mitsu drifter

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » May 16th, 2008, 11:25 am

Tsuchiya,just wanted to know. i wanted to know if there was any quick way to change from rwd to awd with the evo. so you just switch to rwd when u wanna do ur lil drifting and then back to awd for the rest. since they were also saying that due to the desing of the vehicle, it would suck as a RWD for cornering and stability etc. :lol:

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » May 16th, 2008, 12:25 pm

i guess so...but its too much work. Plus i guess its like de-evolutionizing the evo :lol:

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » May 16th, 2008, 5:22 pm

Tsuchiya, :lol: yup.

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » May 17th, 2008, 9:23 pm

imo, jus get an ole rwd beater and keep the evo for more grip running. drifting gets expensive cuz ur gonna hit pavement, guardrail, other driftcars...tyre gonna delaminate and take ur bumper off :lol: , etc, etc.

turbohead

Postby turbohead » May 17th, 2008, 10:53 pm

this is wat they did in tokyo drift, dey call it a condemin kit i tink....they use a acd controller 2 adjust the power distribution.. i cud be wrong

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » May 18th, 2008, 2:18 am

yeh u r wrong :lol: ...they used ryhs' fwd condemn kit

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » May 18th, 2008, 4:07 pm

Tsuchiya, :lol:

is a charmant a good drift car? ive seen one for sale but its really in bad shape, no interior, no engine, missin a fender and a few rotten spots. i think if i give the guy something like a 1K for it, he might sell :lol: that could be a lil self project, build it myself.

what you think?

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » May 22nd, 2008, 4:42 am

actually....charmants use the same suspension, engine and drivetrain as the infamous ae86 corolla. Well not the same but the 3A engine is the same family as the 4a that comes in the SR5 corolla. Thing is the body panels are a little hard to get thses days....but yeh its an excellent drift project

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » May 22nd, 2008, 9:28 am

Tsuchiya,yup, been hearing body parts are kinda hard to come by :mrgreen: was thinkin about making them? whats the best material to make body panels out of? also, how hard will it be to source those parts from the toyota family? or would it be better (parts availability that is) to go simple RB20, skyline diff with some aftermarket suspension etc?

turbohead

Postby turbohead » May 22nd, 2008, 11:18 am

rb might dip the car if not installed properly, try sr an yuh will have a mad power/weight ratio..

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » May 22nd, 2008, 4:27 pm

turbohead,dont like the SR series boy :lol: i know rb might mess with the weight to the front but as you said, if installed correctly, it can be done to a alright standard.

turbohead

Postby turbohead » May 22nd, 2008, 5:12 pm

yeh jus make sure an strengthen around the firewall where you cut to fit it in....yuh dont want wen yuh hit some yuh watchin yuh exhaust pipe....

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » May 22nd, 2008, 5:22 pm

turbohead, :lol:

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » May 22nd, 2008, 5:23 pm

can you get body parts made to the original specs? as in material etc?

turbohead

Postby turbohead » May 22nd, 2008, 5:30 pm

c/f ftmfw, den yuh wont need rb jus sr an yuh power/weight will be crazy maddd

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » May 22nd, 2008, 5:33 pm

turbohead, :lol: you would have to custom make the c/f since i dont think charmants got c/f parts in production :lol: also, i think it was discussed here that custom make stuff aint that strong compared to others or something so. see a man hit yuh and de car crumple like paper. :lol:

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » June 1st, 2008, 11:07 pm

i don't suggest making such customs things when u now start practicing drifting. it doesn't matter how good u r, sometimes ur jus a millimeter off and "crash". Do a project ur sure to have fun with and not sit down half de time holding ur head or ur wallet

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » June 1st, 2008, 11:10 pm

u dont even have to hit anything. For instance, i took all loose stuff out my trunk and went drifting, nex day i discovered small outward dents in the rear quaterpanel, only to realise the jack handle got loose in a corner and made love to the inner panel. :mrgreen:

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » June 1st, 2008, 11:59 pm

Tsuchiya, :lol: yup, was thinkin, simple, 20v and some brakes and suspension upgrades etc.

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » June 2nd, 2008, 2:22 am

^^^now we talkin :twisted:
ah startin to like KE70's more an more too, esp the 2dr ones that are rampant in da US

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » June 2nd, 2008, 2:41 am

Tsuchiya, :D 2door ke70s? will have to check that out. ive gathered enough information i think to get this project going so i think ill go check out the car during this week.

anyone knows any place that can make carbon fibre parts? as in, take a mold of the current trunk lid and make a carbon fibre version for it? thanks.

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » June 2nd, 2008, 7:36 pm

i'd say try to get ur hands on a g/box....the k50 (std engine couple to a 3a powered charmant) cyah handle more than 100hp reliably and continuously. That and an lsd rear end which readily available from the USDM and aftermarket but impossible to get in the bamboo.

Return to “TTDA - T&T Drift Association”