Next Event?

Official Drifting Forum

rx80

Re: Next Event?

Postby rx80 » July 9th, 2010, 12:42 pm

What about "slide syndicate" ? I also sent my contact etc to them, they eventually replied saying they will contact me about practices etc but i heard nothing after that.
I've met Kerry already, really nice guy and willing to share the info but i guess DWO is not a priority, i mean everybody have a life eh.
So who ever having a drift practice or whatever next please let me know i wanna come macko and i won't try anything stupid so no worry about that.

Anyone know of any place i can proll do a lil practice without getting into trouble?

skyline dett

Postby skyline dett » July 9th, 2010, 9:27 pm

rx80 wrote:What about "slide syndicate" ? I also sent my contact etc to them, they eventually replied saying they will contact me about practices etc but i heard nothing after that.
I've met Kerry already, really nice guy and willing to share the info but i guess DWO is not a priority, i mean everybody have a life eh.
So who ever having a drift practice or whatever next please let me know i wanna come macko and i won't try anything stupid so no worry about that.

Anyone know of any place i can proll do a lil practice without getting into trouble?

moti

Postby moti » July 11th, 2010, 6:17 pm

heard it's like either the 1st or 8th of aug. i heard

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » July 11th, 2010, 9:25 pm

Midnight_Demon wrote:^ goodluck on getting an answer. no one from DWO seems to care to answer this question

hold up hold up...you've now specified who the question was directed to becuz there is more than 1 drift club on 3ne 2nr.

Anyway...DWO was trying (and we still are) for the end of July - early August. However I didn't see the reason to inform you all of this unconfirmed date just yet. The last time we had a postponement, many of you had nothing but verbal abuse.
Remember there is no set place to do this type of event without coming under severe scrutiny, so we strive to get all 'i's dotted and the 't's crossed. However, it still comes down to taking the times we are given and many times its very last minute. It may seem easy but there's alot of red-tape in renting any place for such automotive activities.

rx80

Postby rx80 » July 11th, 2010, 11:19 pm

Cool scene, I'm glad that something is in the making. I don't think DWO should be flamed for failed attemps which no one else (including myself) is trying to make in organising such event. My question is what can willing persons do to help hold these events? BTW is the next event intended to be a demo or a practice type event?

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » July 12th, 2010, 12:35 am

if u or anyone has any clout such as knowing the owner personally or being the owner themselves of a decent sized, paved, fenced compound...we'd be ecstatic to know. We'd have an event 2morrow if we could.
We have letters, demo CD's and references if need be.

rx80

Postby rx80 » July 12th, 2010, 11:54 am

Sorry i don't have a contact for such a venue.
What about the ARC it's been used for Solodex on numerous occasions successfully.
The only problem i see with there is that persons just park on the outside rather that paying to support the event.

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » July 12th, 2010, 1:21 pm

moti

Postby moti » July 12th, 2010, 6:20 pm

rx80 wrote:Sorry i don't have a contact for such a venue.
What about the ARC it's been used for Solodex on numerous occasions successfully.
The only problem i see with there is that persons just park on the outside rather that paying to support the event.

too much of fight down to get that car park rented.
plus there's already solodex and karting plus horse racing fans using that car park.
then there's the loud "explosions" from the drift cars that may scare the horses.

best thing right now is to have patience. or buy a few cones and practice in your car park at work.

rx80

Postby rx80 » July 13th, 2010, 9:50 am

What about pier 1 car park that fairly ok size anyone with a ontact for there?
BTW drift cars louder than those dex hondas?

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » July 14th, 2010, 7:45 am

pier 1 carpark?? i dunno if i even want to go thru that :roll:
pier 2 would be excellent if it got repaved, right now its like a cheese grater on tyres...plus it ain't exactly smooth.

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » July 14th, 2010, 12:55 pm

wa bout some energy drink company?, they always trying sum kinda new promotional ting..... they cud try hosting an event, DWO on its own pulls a decent crowd

rx80

Postby rx80 » July 14th, 2010, 1:11 pm

As per previous posts the problem with holding such events as identified by DWO is an area to hold it! Even with a sponsor yuh still need a venue> (unless yuh planning to use their car park)

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » July 14th, 2010, 2:57 pm

i was tinking they cud help in getting a venue...

moti

Postby moti » July 15th, 2010, 11:29 am

venues:

ARC - too much red flags
Pier 2 car park - too rough
mid centre mall - not too sure
diwali nagar - too rough
waller field - not gonna happen
pricesmart in arima - night event?
trincity mall - sunday? i doubt
spectrum yard on the port (big car park next to movie towne) - not gonna happen

feel free to add any you can find and if it's possible to have an event there.

rx80

Postby rx80 » July 15th, 2010, 1:22 pm

Spectrum yard is huge!
Anyone ever tried getting there?

moti

Postby moti » July 15th, 2010, 1:47 pm

^^ as i said, that's not gonna happen.
mainly due to there is always cars in that yard and right now as i type there is a RORO vessel behind be discharging cars/vans to go to spectrum yard.

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » July 19th, 2010, 9:11 am

yea this is sad , getting a good venue sux.

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » July 24th, 2010, 9:42 pm

can't even do a tokyo drift style in a parking structure cuz all of them in trini have speed bumps lol

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » July 24th, 2010, 9:57 pm

who invented speed bumps :roll:

moti

Postby moti » July 25th, 2010, 4:14 pm

the 01st of August would be a nice day for a drift event.

1sigh

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » August 5th, 2010, 10:07 pm

*sigh*...seems we've been delayed yet again. Reason...funding. Cannot forgo another freebie event as we the members of the drift club literally come together and pay for all the necessaries. And in this tighter economic spot, we're all feeling the pinch.
The 2 options are: renting a facility that has its own fenced/walled borders (red tape + money) OR renting the removable fences that are seen outside of fete venues (big money).

We have some saving up to do....unless someone wants to sponsor lol.

rx80

Postby rx80 » August 6th, 2010, 7:33 pm

Has DWO approached companies for sponsorship? I'm sure certain products like red bull, monster might be willing to sponsor even some of the local performance shops might also help.

I am willing to pay a fee for entering and I'm sure others may feel the same, but DWO is gonna need to have something official!

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » August 9th, 2010, 8:58 am

we have sponsors, but what we need is a MAJOR sponsor. We're not doing this thing half-hearted...but with the tightening of the economy, it hasn't gotten any easier.

Don't worry...this next event will be well worth the wait and we're anxious to bring it to the fans of drifting.

rx80

Postby rx80 » August 10th, 2010, 12:05 pm

Cool just keep us updated!

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » August 10th, 2010, 2:53 pm

ah getting impatient !!! lol

moti

Postby moti » September 13th, 2010, 11:56 am

why oh why can't there be a drift event

starting to think there might not be one before year ends

:cry: :cry: :cry:

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » September 13th, 2010, 12:37 pm

:crying:

legoRB

Postby legoRB » September 13th, 2010, 12:50 pm

:skurred:

I fraid so too....
Oh well...

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » September 13th, 2010, 9:54 pm

frustrating and annoying as it may be...we really haven't been able to land a proper "home" venue for drift practices, tryouts and our own personal displays.

On the plus side, we've just confirmed another Drift Show before year's end (YAY)....so its now up to the promoter to deliver on his promises.

Return to “TTDA - T&T Drift Association”