PNM vs People's Partnership - A few observations

An archive of the political discussions posted here for the 2010 T&T General Elections

wing

PNM vs People's Partnership - A few observations

Postby wing » May 15th, 2010, 1:59 pm

Now that both parties' manifestos are out and their campaign strategies having been laid out , I have a few observations that I would like to share .
1. Both parties' rallies are attracting large crowds ( although the PNM has been accused of having many PTSC busloads of supporters travelling with them )
2. The campaign budget this year seems to be the highest I've seen .... judging from the many ads and posters and music trucks .
3. There seems to be a growing sense of unease as May 24 approaches ..... as several incidents have occured , which can be precursors for election violence and irregularities .
4. A casual look at both parties' manifestos seems to indicate that the PNM wants to continue many grandiose projects with questionable economic , social and environmental logic . The People's Partnership manifesto has a lot of good ideas , however , implementation remains to be seen , as well as a definitive policy on energy .
5. The attitudes of the speakers on both platforms have also been observed. While it is true that both sides have the usual picong and rhetoric , the speeches by the leaders have been quite instructive . Manning's style continues to oscillate between fatherly and righteous indignation ,not unlike Castro ,Bush and Chavez , while Kamla has a decidedly Obamaesque tone ...... full of idealism and feel good themes . It is my opinion therefore , that the People's Partnership has the better candidates , ideas and policies and a more intelligent leader .

Re: PNM vs People's Partnership - A few observations

Postby Stephon. » May 15th, 2010, 2:10 pm

Unbiased seal of approval.

Postby Damien » May 15th, 2010, 2:35 pm

you talk some sense dey is only after the 24th we the citizens will see how much is actually delivered, may the best party win god help us :|

SiR8081

Postby SiR8081 » May 15th, 2010, 4:42 pm

today i see two PTSC busload ah PNM supporters on SMR by SMR/Monroe junction

how i know is PNM? well apart from everyone on the buses waving they balisier and wearing a PNM jersey the buses has a paper on the windscreen mark

"PNM Caroni East"

Postby Stephon. » May 15th, 2010, 4:59 pm

Imagine if i genuinely wanted a drop somewhere now, if I went on that bus I would have gotten robbed!

FullStop

Postby FullStop » May 15th, 2010, 6:24 pm

Stephon. wrote:Imagine if i genuinely wanted a drop somewhere now, if I went on that bus I would have gotten raped!

fixed!

Postby Stephon. » May 15th, 2010, 7:00 pm

aidan

Postby aidan » May 15th, 2010, 7:52 pm

ghostbusters wrote:
Stephon. wrote:Imagine if i genuinely wanted a drop somewhere now, if I went on that bus I would have gotten raped with a balisier!

fixed!

fixded

Postby UML » May 15th, 2010, 8:13 pm

SiR8081 wrote:today i see two PTSC busload ah PNM supporters on SMR by SMR/Monroe junction

how i know is PNM? well apart from everyone on the buses waving they balisier and wearing a PNM jersey the buses has a paper on the windscreen mark

"PNM Caroni East"

saw 2 buses parked infront of the PNM office in St. Madeline this evening also

Shango_13

Postby Shango_13 » May 15th, 2010, 8:29 pm

UML wrote:
SiR8081 wrote:today i see two PTSC busload ah PNM supporters on SMR by SMR/Monroe junction

"PNM Caroni East"

saw 2 buses parked infront of the PNM office in St. Madeline this evening also

dem pnm supporters use bus cause they have no cars. just an observation and comparison

Postby UML » May 15th, 2010, 8:31 pm

dey jus trying tuh make numbers for their crowd...to appear bigger than it really is

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » May 15th, 2010, 9:25 pm

aidan wrote:
ghostbusters wrote:
Stephon. wrote:Imagine if i genuinely wanted a drop somewhere now, if I went on that bus I would have gotten raped with a balisier from a cepep worker!

fixed!

fixded

fixdeded

Postby Stephon. » May 15th, 2010, 9:31 pm

:rofl: allyuh killin meh here

SPK1983

Postby SPK1983 » May 15th, 2010, 10:46 pm

As the UNC meeting in Grande wrapped up, bus loads (counted at least 5 for certain) of PNM supporters were coming back, and every busload was busy jeering and cussing the UNC supporters heading back to their vehicles/walking home...and there was not ONE bus used for that UNC meeting.

Postby Stephon. » May 15th, 2010, 10:51 pm

SPK1983 wrote:As the UNC meeting in Grande wrapped up, bus loads (counted at least 5 for certain) of PNM supporters were coming back, and every busload was busy jeering and cussing the UNC supporters heading back to their vehicles/walking home...and there was not ONE bus used for that UNC meeting.

They will obviously curse them, their vocab is limited.

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » May 15th, 2010, 11:19 pm

SPK1983 wrote:As the UNC meeting in Grande wrapped up, bus loads (counted at least 5 for certain) of PNM supporters were coming back, and every busload was busy jeering and cussing the UNC supporters heading back to their vehicles/walking home...and there was not ONE bus used for that UNC meeting.

ah yes! those are the intellegent, informed and responsible saints in the pnm !

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 15th, 2010, 11:30 pm

i really noticed that - about 7 PTSC buses and about 3 maxi load of PNM supporters i pass coming up the highway this morning - Is PNM payin for all of this or is it our tax dollar?

Postby Stephon. » May 15th, 2010, 11:53 pm

civic minded wrote:i really noticed that - about 7 PTSC buses and about 3 maxi load of PNM supporters i pass coming up the highway this morning - Is PNM payin for all of this or is it our tax dollar?

More than likely.

Postby pete » May 16th, 2010, 12:14 am

Tonight Jack said that come the 25th when they win he's personally gonna go down to the PTSC and demand to see the receipts for all the buses that have been rented for this election season.

I sure HOPE it's the PNM who paid and not any government body no matter who wins.

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » May 16th, 2010, 12:25 am

:twisted: :twisted: :twisted: oh my some one gonna get in trouble

Goolie

Postby Goolie » May 16th, 2010, 1:00 am

i sense a cover up in the making as regards the PTSC bus service.
As the PNM are accustomed to, they will cover their tracks.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » May 16th, 2010, 3:16 am

Ent using PTSC buses to drop supporters is miss-allocation of public resources?

De eh have some kinda law against all these things?

Postby Stephon. » May 16th, 2010, 3:27 am

ingalook wrote:Ent using PTSC buses to drop supporters is miss-allocation of public resources?

De eh have some kinda law against all these things?

It's going toward a good cause, PNM meetings, gosh you people like to complain
/sarcasm

I would cry if we have to go through anohter 5 years of this.

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » May 16th, 2010, 7:50 am

yes its using the public transport system (state resources) for personal gain /uses .

wing

Postby wing » May 16th, 2010, 8:03 am

Is the use of the Q.P.S. now restricted due to environmental concerns ? If so , how was approval granted to hold a rally/concert while a protest against crime at the same venue was stopped by police ?

Another thought : is it Treason to compromise/sell out your country's soverignity to another country or person while knowingly failing to protect your citizens' security by openly consorting with known gangsters , international conmen and terrorists ?

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » May 16th, 2010, 10:14 am

Stephon. wrote:

They will obviously curse them, their vocab is limited.

and that's why their manifesto had to be a book of pictures

Postby Gladiator » May 16th, 2010, 1:52 pm

I also had a disgusting experience yesterday. On the highway was about 6 cars with red flags and t-shirts hanging out the windows, all were full over capacity with PNM supporters. From Tumpuna road to Valpark they were driving very crazy, cutting in and out of the lanes, cutting off cars, driving on the shoulder and stopping every so often to take a drink. If this is the mentality of the PNM supporters then I fully understand why they have their support....

I dont think any amount of free education can help those youths!!!!

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 17th, 2010, 12:27 am

^^^who's de "guinness and puncheon" or "rum till I die" party now......similar observations were made at a pick up point for the pnm youth rally

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 17th, 2010, 7:57 am

yesterday coming form Point Fortin - i have to come thro a PNM motocade... very large close to 40 cars includes maxi's, buses and music trucks - some of them jeered at me and call me names - clearly racial cause i have no stickers on my van that indicated i was UNC or otherwise and most of them was drinking cause some of them stop their cars and start wining on the road with cup in hand. I blow my horn and power thro ignorin all the cuss etc.

Postby Greypatch » May 17th, 2010, 8:12 am

nah dem does just cuss ford men nah tek no worries

Return to “T&T GENERAL ELECTIONS 2010”