Vehicle TRANSFER FEES in Trinidad & Tobago

Looking to Buy, Sell or Trade your vehicle or parts? Post it here
Cars, Bikes, Trucks, Pickups, Vans, Boats, ATVs etc

Forum rules
• Negative comments or replies, lowballing or 'sale bashing' are NOT allowed in FS topics.
• Personal ads are FREE. Commercial Ads are not allowed without Powerseller Status. Posting items/property for rent is considered commercial.
• Powerseller status is for users who wish to post many items for sale, new or used.
• Even if you do not own a business but would like to post many items for sale, then Power Seller status is required.
• Users are limited to no more than 2 simultaneous Ads / FS (For Sale) topics per classified forum; powersellers are limited to no more than 4.
• Ads that have not been replied to after 180 days will be deleted.
Please click here to view the forum rules
Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » November 29th, 2009, 10:29 am

Well with the 6 weeks I had to wait; when I spoke to some one there; mind you I actually got an answer on the phone; the guy said that the reason that it takes that long is because they have to do a trace on the vehicle. If the vehicle was sold with in the last 6 months to a year before you bought it it would have only taken 1 day because everything would have been available.

djjaac

Postby djjaac » November 29th, 2009, 7:31 pm

wheyyy all da process. buh how com dey say if i go in pos i will get it in a week??

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » November 30th, 2009, 6:10 pm

All the files in POS. If done from Sando I guess it has to go there and we know how these things can gos so hence the 6 weeks I am guessing.

lyndondz

Postby lyndondz » December 6th, 2009, 2:04 pm

Good info....

lyndondz

Postby lyndondz » December 6th, 2009, 2:52 pm

Good info....

nick009

Postby nick009 » December 9th, 2009, 9:26 pm

does liscencing office issue a certified copy without a stamp?
also how can i get information on who is the true owner of a vehicle

Lion9102

New transfers process.

Postby Lion9102 » December 12th, 2009, 8:54 pm

went to transfer a vehicle on Monday, made up my mind to spend the day there but at least I would get through. Only to be informed that I would only be able to have vehicle inpected and to submit documents to the clerk, and that I would have to come back next week to get back my documents and to pay the fee. So you know that this means that I can't get insurance for the vehicle in my name until the transfer is completed. Oh I heard that all the their records were taken down to tetron, so all checks have to be conducted down there.

khaos

Postby khaos » December 14th, 2009, 11:07 pm

dude u need to up date those prices cause thats not correct any more

5onDfloor

Re: New transfers process.

Postby 5onDfloor » December 15th, 2009, 12:58 pm

Lion9102 wrote:went to transfer a vehicle on Monday, made up my mind to spend the day there but at least I would get through. Only to be informed that I would only be able to have vehicle inpected and to submit documents to the clerk, and that I would have to come back next week to get back my documents and to pay the fee. So you know that this means that I can't get insurance for the vehicle in my name until the transfer is completed. Oh I heard that all the their records were taken down to tetron, so all checks have to be conducted down there.

yes this is true...but its all a ploy to do less work.

i sold my vehicle last week to a guy who new the transport commissioner, we submitted the transfer paper work and were told to come back the next day to pay and collect. So we went the next day only to be told "that aint ready yet come back tomorrow" well the guy called the Transport commissioner on his cell and in 40 minutes fee and taxes were paid and transaction complete.

The problem was the staff they are fcuking lazy..the same paper work that they say down tetron and taking days to transfer is right there on wrighston road but they choose to do on average about 10 transfers a day so they would have less work to do, this is what the commissioner explained to us and he cant do anything about it cuz he dont have the power to reprimand them in any way thats for CPO to do.

MrSammy

Vehicle Transfer Fees & Requirements (PAN-PCS)

Postby MrSammy » December 19th, 2009, 5:10 pm

These are used of the post of the following tuners:
    sweeks
    uttamj

------

Procedure:
    Complete the Transfer Form which is obtained at the information counter
    Take the vehicle to the Inspection Shed
    Return to the main office until called to the transfer counter
    Pay at cashiers (usually closes at 3:00 pm)
    Leave

Note:
    Both parties must be present at the counter
    Both parties must each have two (2) forms of identification
    A Receipt with the new owner's name must be presented
    Insurance in the name of the Buyer must be presented (cover note will suffice)
    Transfer must be effected within seven days of Sales Receipt

Licensing Offices:
    Wrightson Road, Port of Spain
    Bye Pass, San Fernando
    Milford Road, Tobago

New Transfer Taxes (as of October 1 2009):
Cars
$6000.00 - Under 02 years
$4500.00 - Over 02 years but not over 05 years
$3000.00 - Over 05 years but not over 07 years
$1350.00 - Over 07 years but not over 10 years
$0150.00 - Over 10 years

Taxes are applied to date of 1st registration in Trinidad & Tobago (license plate series), not year of manufacture.

PA_ series
    PAN
    Dec 1983-Mar 1984

PAO
    Mar 1984-Jul 1984

PAP
    Aug 1984-Jan 1985

PAR
    Jan 1985-Jul 1985

PAS
    Aug 1985-Jan 1986

PAT
    Jan 1986-Jul 1986

PAU
    Jun 1986-Nov 1987

PAW
    Nov 1987-Jan 1990

PAX
    Jan 1990-Dec 1991

PAY
    Dec 1991-Jun 1993

PAZ
    Jun 1993-Jun 1995

PB_ series
    PBA
    Jun 1995-Jul 1996

PBB
    Jul 1996-Jun 1997

PBC
    Jun 1997-Jan 1998

PBD
    Jan 1998-Jul 1998

PBE
    Jul 1998-Dec 1998

PBF
    Dec 1998-Jun 1999

PBG
    Jun 1999-Nov 1999

PBH
    Nov 1999-May 2000

PBJ
    Jun 2000-Jan 2001

PBK
    Jan 2001-Jul 2001

PBL
    Jul 2001-Jan 2002

PBM
    Jan 2002-Jul 2002

PBN
    Jul 2002-Dec 2002

PBO
    Dec 2002-May 2003

PBP
    May 2003-Oct 2003

PBR
    Nov 2003-Mar 2004

PBS
    Apr 2004-Aug 2004

PBT
    Aug 2004-Nov 2004

PBU
    Dec 2004-Apr 2005

PBW
    Apr 2005-Jul 2005

PBX
    Aug 2005-Oct 2005

PBY
    Nov 2005-Mar 2006

PBZ
    Apr 2006-Jun 2006

PC_ series
    PCA
    Jul 2006-Aug 2006

PCB
    Oct 2006-Dec 2006

PCC
    Jan 2007-Apr 2007

PCD
    Apr 2007-Jul 2007

PCE
    Jul 2007-Oct 2007

PCF
    Oct 2007-Dec 2007

PCH
    Jan 2008-Apr 2008

PCJ
    May 2008-Aug 2008

PCK
    Aug 2008-Jan 2009

PCL
    Jan 2009-May 2009

PCM
    May 2009-Sep 2009

PCN
    Sep 2009-Feb 2010

PCP
    Feb 2010-Jul 2010

PCR
    Jul 2010-Nov 2010

PCS
    Nov 2010-Present

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 19th, 2009, 5:26 pm

Thanks man you are just in time :wink:

Postby Gem_in_i » December 19th, 2009, 7:51 pm

Its not 2 forms of ID required?
In Sept this year I was asked for two forms of ID.
Also, walk with cash becos no Linx available.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » December 19th, 2009, 8:04 pm

I've heard of some recent changes but need to confirm this before I post.

Do remember to apply for your certified copy when transferring ($20 fee) as this takes some time.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 19th, 2009, 10:32 pm

Bump........

MrSammy

Postby MrSammy » December 19th, 2009, 11:32 pm

I transfered recently with one form of id but you know how it goes in Trini, each person has their own individual experience.

And you do need to walk with CASH!!!!!!! imagine a dept that handles so much cash transactions does not have linx option for payment.

kwasos

Postby kwasos » December 20th, 2009, 12:06 am

i was there the other day to transfer my vehicle to the new owner and he had to return within a week to pay :?

MrSammy

Postby MrSammy » December 28th, 2009, 6:45 pm

pressha

rocky86

Postby rocky86 » December 28th, 2009, 10:54 pm

we should try to update this

SRASC

Postby SRASC » December 31st, 2009, 12:25 pm

Stello

Postby Stello » January 4th, 2010, 11:21 am

does anyone know if the transfer fees changed for motorbikes?

wngrdr

Postby wngrdr » January 4th, 2010, 1:43 pm

they say its a new Canadian company that is taking over Licensing in a bid to make it efficient. :? anyway, i went to transfer my vehicle. First i went with the guy i bought it from. filled out the yellow transfer of ownership form. went over to where they were inspecting. they just made me pop the bonnet, checked the chassis # then told me go inside and wait for the car number to be called. I waited probably a little over half hour, then was called up, me and seller had to show two forms of i.d, receipt for sale of vehicle, also proof of insurance (insurance receipt). Now if u do not have insurance go over to bankers by JohnD and take one out for a day for $53.00. i wud suggest that whoever u buying the car from do not cancel the insurance on the car until they make sure u have gotten at least the chit u get wen u pay so u can get ur own insurance. well they got all their documents and then told me to come back the next week to pay. sooo anyways, my car was manufactured in 2000 so i checked it to be 9 yrs old. i went with my $1350.00 only to reach up to cashier for them to tell me $3000.00 cos the car was first reg'd in 2004 (5 yrs ago) !! :shock: i didnt have the money on me, so i told them i will have to come back. They said i must return within 7 days or else pay a $200. penalty. welll i scraped up the extra $1600. and went today and got that sorted out. paid and they gave me the chit but no certified copy. so i'm like "where is the certified copy?" and cashier said "oh, well u need to apply for that separately :? steups. anyways, i filled out the stupid certified copy request form, paid their $20.00 and i have to return again next week to collect that. hrmmphhh :puppydogeyes:

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » January 4th, 2010, 6:36 pm

Yeah, I got that today when I went Sando but I didn't get anything about any penalty. Probably because my documents was inside. They told me I have to wait a 6 weeks even after I apply for the Cert. Copy. Geez an Ages!

Postby SmokeyGTi » January 8th, 2010, 9:24 am

my lord.. so much stress to transfer a vehicle now? anyways, I'm due to transfer my one to a buyer next week, as well as have one transferred to me, i'll let you all know how that goes..

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » January 8th, 2010, 8:55 pm

Does anyone know when the computerization of the license office is expected to be completed? I may need to transfer a vehicle in a few months, hopefully the new process can be completed under two days with the new owner obtaining the Certified Copy in his/her name.

ford_escort_kkr

Postby ford_escort_kkr » January 9th, 2010, 1:12 am

I have a problem.....I bought a shell from a friend but the person i bought it from never got around to getting it transferred and i cant seem to locate the person who's name is on the transfer sheet, i honestly think he is deceased or changed residence...... :cry: .Any1 have any ideas as to a solution? The car is a mark II escort aiming to put it on the tracks but can still be road driven.

Postby SmokeyGTi » January 13th, 2010, 6:35 pm

SmokeyGTi wrote:my lord.. so much stress to transfer a vehicle now? anyways, I'm due to transfer my one to a buyer next week, as well as have one transferred to me, i'll let you all know how that goes..

so yuh boy bought a vehicle, went today to effect the transfer.
It was going good until they tell me to come back MONDAY to pay the transfer fee, and this is like 10:45 in the morning, cashier line short. WDMC....

now when I go monday they WILL tell me to come back in 6 weeks for the certified copy?

how much facking days off I hadda take to transfer a vehicle, three?

and by now licensing should at least have linx man....de phoq..... and I still have to transfer my car to the person I selling to... ah sorry fuh he yes...

jusme

Postby jusme » January 13th, 2010, 7:06 pm

SmokeyGTi wrote:
SmokeyGTi wrote:my lord.. so much stress to transfer a vehicle now? anyways, I'm due to transfer my one to a buyer next week, as well as have one transferred to me, i'll let you all know how that goes..

so yuh boy bought a vehicle, went today to effect the transfer.
It was going good until they tell me to come back MONDAY to pay the transfer fee, and this is like 10:45 in the morning, cashier line short. WDMC....

now when I go monday they WILL tell me to come back in 6 weeks for the certified copy?

how much days off I hadda take to transfer a vehicle, three?

and by now licensing should at least have linx man....de phoq..... and I still have to transfer my car to the person I selling to... ah sorry fuh he yes...

i share your pain man... they tell me to wait 2 weeks b4 i apply for d cert copy, then wait another 2 weeks to actually receive it..........

but as another tuner said "we like it so"

Postby SmokeyGTi » January 14th, 2010, 2:39 pm

^^ nah boy, i rather apply for Cert copy one time and wait meh 6 weeks, else is 4 days u talking there
1 to submit docs
1 to pay transfer
1 to apply for CC
and 1 to collect it. :(

sexyicon

Postby sexyicon » January 18th, 2010, 11:29 am

I got two quick questions

If the person im buying the car from only has the chit that you get from licence office, is it possible for the transfer to be completed on my name if he has that only ??

And would it be possible for me to take out motor insurance once that transfer has been complete even though I wont have the certified copy as yet ?? thanks

Doug

Transfer

Postby Doug » January 28th, 2010, 11:25 am

sexyicon wrote:I got two quick questions

If the person im buying the car from only has the chit that you get from licence office, is it possible for the transfer to be completed on my name if he has that only ??

And would it be possible for me to take out motor insurance once that transfer has been complete even though I wont have the certified copy as yet ?? thanks

Yes it is possible to transfer and get insurance with the transfer chit only.Most people realise how long it takes to get an updated certify copy so the use the chit including Licence office themselves.

Return to “Car Classifieds - Buy, Sell or Trade”