Diesel Boyz Run -..it's Tobago on the Republic Day weekend.!

Plan out, organise and post pics and vids of your OFF-ROAD adventures. Clubs, crews and associations are welcomed!

bleedingfreak

Re: Diesel Boyz Run - Ship, Swim, Fly or Snorkel it's Tobago

Postby bleedingfreak » November 11th, 2010, 3:00 pm

It have real bosses on this thread...

I will be in Bago again from month end till December...

If I get a chance to check out a few places I will.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » November 28th, 2010, 5:34 pm

so wham....no updates?

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » December 12th, 2010, 1:36 am

IT's ON beyotches!!!!!!!!!!

Details to follow!

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » December 12th, 2010, 1:54 pm

"Booking your own accommodation and travel arrangements."

Suggestions and guidelines:

You can our purchase ferry tickets at a number of travel agencies around the country...

Booking your tickets become your responsibility as was stated before. The date of the run will be posted at least two months in advance to allow for everyone securing accommodation and travel.

The "seek your own accommodation" arrangement is based on the following:

There probably won't be any place that can accommodate everyone.

Different people have different tastes, styles with respect to their level of convenience when away from home. So my comfort level and yours will always be different.

Personal space... Reality is we lime on occasion and some people may not want that level of interaction past a certain stage or time etc... I might want to snuggle up with my teddy bear and go to sleep when it get dark and you might like to watch tv loud and chew popcorn with your mouth open. I like to laze around on the couch in my drawers and let out the gas the all natural way in the morning. That might not be something that you want to see, right? You get what I mean though... I hope...

We all work on different budgets as well this is a big factor these days. If you can afford Hilton and want to stay there then so be it.

Diesel families: for those who rolling with family will require additional space and etc. Working out logistics for different numbers of people becomes challenging. Assuming double occupancy for rooms is fallible. And that is what most guest houses and hotels work with...

Notwithstanding these reasons above, we should all try to stay fairly close together, meaning same neighborhood.

More to come shortly...

You are invited to discuss the above and tweak accordingly.

As you were

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » December 12th, 2010, 2:15 pm

I am on the iPad these days guys so excuse the lack of punctuation or other formatting as you are accustomed..

I am suggesting June as a possible time for the diesel run to Tobago. Please check your work schedules, vacation calendars, passports, etc for a good date within that month.

There are usually 4 sailings each day from Port of Spain. I would suggest you make the effort and book for the 6:30am sailing. Conditions on the seas are quite calm at this time, for those who suffer from sea sickness, etc.
You can usually get on the port around 4:30-5:00am to get on the ferry.
The boat is pretty quiet at this hour of the morning to get a little nap on the ferry as well, before the sun comes up.

Also, you get into Tobago at 9:30 or so, which means at least half a day gain on exploring and relaxing.

Again, if your schedule does not permit you to get on the first sailing, the other sailing times are 10am, 1:30pm, and 5pm. The 5 pm boat is usually packed, I should warn you. Also you get into Tobago at night which can be disorienting if you are noon to the sister isle...

Departure from tobago on Sunday or Monday, again is your choice. Sunday departures are usually midday and 5:00pm. Departure at 5pm would see you return to Trinidad by 8pm.
If you wish to stay the extra night and leave leisurely on a Monday is up to you. Sail times for Tobago during the week are the same as Trinidad: 6:30am, 10am, 1:30pm and 5pm.

The ferry schedule can be found at www.patnt.com

More to follow...

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » December 20th, 2010, 8:28 am

good stuff

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » December 20th, 2010, 8:56 pm

Yay. At least ine person paying attention

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » December 20th, 2010, 9:24 pm

June sound ok but it is difficult for me to plan things sooo far in advance.
Put me down as a tentative for any weekend.
Keep me informed.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » December 21st, 2010, 8:55 pm

Yes but this is advance warning to basicAlly get ur sheit together.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » December 27th, 2010, 1:01 pm

gud stuff... lookin forward to it.. need a date to be certain for sure but june sounds gud plenty time to organise! :)

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » December 29th, 2010, 9:22 am

bleedingfreak wrote:Yes but this is advance warning to basicAlly get ur sheit together.

I will try, but I don't have much control over when I have things like exams and $hit....
But I really want to go....

Cooper

Postby Cooper » December 29th, 2010, 11:37 am

Exams usually finish in mid June for me. I'll know my schedule when the looniversity posts the time table.

Thanks for the valuable info there freak :!:

note to self: call 'spanish' female friends, biggy will need some eye candy :lol:

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » January 5th, 2011, 3:12 pm

Cooper wrote:note to self: call 'spanish' female friends, biggy will need some eye candy :lol:

doh tease me bro...

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » January 6th, 2011, 7:06 pm

Awwrite fellas.. Tobago is for all intents, being pushed back to September. June isnt going to work for a few of the guys... Sorry for that.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » January 6th, 2011, 7:23 pm

but its STILL ON!!!!!!!!!!!!

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » January 6th, 2011, 7:33 pm

september is even better! more time to prepare and wotnot! nicee!

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » January 6th, 2011, 10:54 pm

Makes no sense to try to go to Tobago during July - August holidays... it packed, you cant get ferry tickets and most places are booked solid...

So nxt logical time was Sept.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » January 7th, 2011, 7:21 am

Kewl, my schedule free from June to September.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » January 9th, 2011, 9:13 am

I am thinking of Republic weekend (23rd - 25th September) for the Tobago run.

If not we can possibly do the weekend before or the weekend after.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » January 9th, 2011, 1:28 pm

^^^sounds good...

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » February 1st, 2011, 7:26 am

ANybody got Anything - UpDates on this Run???

Re: Diesel Boyz Run -..it's Tobago on the Republic Day weeke

Postby wagon r » June 24th, 2011, 6:33 pm

well....the date is set and the accommodations are being sought. This run is on and a few guys are already setting aside the dates wrt their work schedules.

We will be going up on the Friday 23rd and coming back on the Sunday 25th. The Saturday, Republic Day is the run date, a complete lap of the island with trails, river crossing and should be concluded in Pigeon Point. A BBQ lime is proposed on the Saturday night.

This run is open to all, but EVERYONE is looking after themselves. You pay for your own ticket and accommodation, even if you are staying with a group. We will all come together for the night lime, so we could have a great cook down.

....don't forget to walk with your float ring and noodle..!

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » June 25th, 2011, 1:44 am

noice **packs teddy bear and rubber ducky**

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » July 10th, 2011, 5:22 pm

just an update:

run is definately on: final preparations are being done w.r.t. the Usual Suspects being present.

like was said earlier: all are invited but everyone needs to organize their own stuff (boat tickets, accomodation etc). the Run is scheduled for Saturday 24th September (Republic Day). we should be able to tour the whole of Bago.

more details will be psoted closer to the actual run date!!

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » July 10th, 2011, 9:03 pm

I will find out if September sailing Schedule is out yet...

Postby wagon r » August 7th, 2011, 8:27 pm

the Sept. sailin list is out....time to buy your tickets...!

Postby ronsin1 » August 8th, 2011, 6:10 am

I can safely say I cannot make this one due to pending important matters sometime that week

sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 8th, 2011, 6:41 am

I'm planning on picking up boat tickets this week.

Usual suspects call me if you need me to pick on your behalf. I'll need a copy of your CC.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » August 8th, 2011, 7:31 am

sweeks wrote:I'm planning on picking up boat tickets this week.

Usual suspects call me if you need me to pick on your behalf. I'll need a copy of your CC.

Not necessary

Just need vehicle number, and MGW.

Might buy mine today or when I go to tobago this week ;-)

Postby wagon r » August 8th, 2011, 9:07 pm

^ correct....jus need MGW and TARE and number plate....

Return to “Off Road Runs”