Mini Diesel Run...

Plan out, organise and post pics and vids of your OFF-ROAD adventures. Clubs, crews and associations are welcomed!

DooMRR

Re: Mini Diesel Run...

Postby DooMRR » May 25th, 2011, 12:57 pm

3stagevtec wrote:Come on Runul, 1/2 a donut?? lol.. (from 36sec in last vid..)

I gotta say the LSD in the Mazda working great! both rear wheels were spinning all the time!

Yea yea. It was mainly my fault for turning too sharp in the sand. I did get a good two spins (but didn't record it). Once I hit the dry sand, the van just began to slow down really fast and the back tires just didn't have any grooves to get traction and keep it moving. 4WD would be too simple, so I had to use RWD alone.

Gotta say though. I didn't have that kind of fun in a very LONG time. This run was totally worth it.

brianr20v

Postby brianr20v » May 25th, 2011, 4:10 pm

WOW....i real miss out you all had lots of fun.....wish i was there.... :( or and 3stage fantastic job on the snorkel it looks really good.

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » May 25th, 2011, 4:29 pm

speedaholic wrote:you forget is a auto he jivin orr?? ^^^

So the auto cyar go into 2nd gear!?

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » May 25th, 2011, 4:51 pm

yeaa... but if he stop or slows down enuff... wont it automatically select 1st?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 25th, 2011, 5:54 pm

Jeremy Mohd wrote:
speedaholic wrote:you forget is a auto he jivin orr?? ^^^

So the auto cyar go into 2nd gear!?

I don't know why... but I can't stop laffing at this...

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » May 25th, 2011, 10:17 pm

steups...

Postby sliderz1 » May 25th, 2011, 10:43 pm

this is all i could salvage, the rest are just too blurred

waiting to charge the hill

line up

LH covering ground

RT

at the look out

din wanna make out nobody scene....so i edit

nex side

the view

Postby sliderz1 » May 25th, 2011, 10:45 pm

1 more

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 25th, 2011, 10:57 pm

great shots there dude!

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » May 26th, 2011, 7:10 am

editin out ppl face?!? BAHAHAHAHAAA!!

droppa

Postby droppa » May 26th, 2011, 7:53 am

sliderz was nice to have u there, well for at least part, u missed the better half of the run tho, hope to see u there again, for a whole run this time eh.......

so when we dealing with santa flora and morne diablo??????

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » May 26th, 2011, 8:28 am

speedaholic wrote:yeaa... but if he stop or slows down enuff... wont it automatically select 1st?

Not too sure if we have that feature.
I know in some cars its supposed to switch higher or lower gear automatically so that you dont strain your tranny. Come to think of it, that will prob be a feature in cars with tiptronic.
I dont think our van does that. I've geared down to 2nd to use engine braking on some hills before, came to a dead stop, pulled off, and the van never went back to 1st for itself. So no, I dont think so. I stand corrected if anyone knows better or have tried it...

I rarely ever use the gears in the auto for engine braking though, disc pads are much cheaper than a tranny.

droppa

Postby droppa » May 26th, 2011, 8:52 am

i does switch off the OD for the most to assist in braking, true dat, tranny to expensive...

the new Prados have a 2nd start feature, allowing them to pull off in 2nd gear, designed for mud and snow applications.....

even if u pull down on 2nd the van is still supposed to start off in 1st Jeremy, if it did not, well then ur tranny have something like the 2nd start feature i talking bout, if i select 2nd, from a dead stop i pull off in first and it shifts to 2nd, but holds there....

Postby 3stagevtec » May 26th, 2011, 9:11 am

I don't gear down with Auto's either.. As Jeremy said, disc pads are much cheaper than a tranny..

In the Vitara, 2nd gear on the selector cycles through 1st & 2nd.. In my pops CRV, 2nd gear keeps the transmission in 2nd, no matter the speed..

Postby 3stagevtec » May 26th, 2011, 9:16 am

and I going to get a BB... : )

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » May 26th, 2011, 10:00 am

well right.... i dunno what leo was laughin at! hmph!!

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » May 26th, 2011, 10:01 am

MrCuddles wrote:editin out ppl face?!? BAHAHAHAHAAA!!

i found this quite funny also! :D

droppa

Postby droppa » May 26th, 2011, 11:59 am

3stagevtec wrote:and I going to get a BB... : )

thas the way to go, lookin to have a side B bbm group

Postby 3stagevtec » May 26th, 2011, 12:30 pm

no BB9100 in stock anywhere! :(

claries

Postby claries » May 26th, 2011, 1:44 pm

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 26th, 2011, 2:42 pm

nice vids they boy claries :D

Speedy - sorry bai but i just couldn't help it (plus was lacking sleep from benig on-call).

Morne Diable part 2 and Santa Flora Part 2 - coming soon! (in de dry season).

Rene - whey de BB bai?

Postby 3stagevtec » May 26th, 2011, 2:57 pm

lighthammer wrote:nice vids they boy claries :D

Speedy - sorry bai but i just couldn't help it (plus was lacking sleep from benig on-call).

Morne Diable part 2 and Santa Flora Part 2 - coming soon! (in de dry season).

Rene - whey de BB bai?

can't find the 9100 anywhere! still deciding if to get the 8520 or save up some more and get the 9000..

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 26th, 2011, 3:22 pm

u can get the storm 2 on amazon for $199USD brand new.

Postby sliderz1 » May 26th, 2011, 6:36 pm

speedaholic wrote:
MrCuddles wrote:editin out ppl face?!? BAHAHAHAHAAA!!

i found this quite funny also! :D

......doh kno d guys so didnt wanna invade...............

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 26th, 2011, 11:52 pm

so what sort of time frame you all looking to do a monde diablo run ?? besides this , is there any other trail we can look at doing a scout? something new

Postby 3stagevtec » May 28th, 2011, 6:11 pm

My BBM is down until Tuesday, I took the wrong package from Digicell (was wrongly advised).

droppa

Postby droppa » May 31st, 2011, 8:01 am

like on weekends this thread does shut down.....

rene ur bbm up yet, i have a plan in mind for us to discuss.....

Postby 3stagevtec » May 31st, 2011, 10:18 am

droppa wrote:like on weekends this thread does shut down.....

rene ur bbm up yet, i have a plan in mind for us to discuss.....

Working on that today..

I found this for sale in RONS in Duncan Village in south.. A spray on rust protect, rubber based and flexible.. Cost me $50.

Under Coating
Professional Looking
Textured Finish

Fights rust
Soundproofs
Blocks out salt & water

I had painted the under side of my Vitara with industrial black paint, but that started flaking off. This on the other hand seems like the real deal for off roaders.. When I apply it, i'll report back on how it works..

originalbling

Postby originalbling » May 31st, 2011, 11:32 am

Return to “Off Road Runs”