Side B - Brasso Seco Scouting run

Plan out, organise and post pics and vids of your OFF-ROAD adventures. Clubs, crews and associations are welcomed!

lighthammer

Side B - Brasso Seco Scouting run

Postby lighthammer » June 26th, 2011, 10:46 pm

So we went on a scouting run of the Brasso Seco Trail earlier this month.

Passed through the Lopinot trail and got onto the Blanchisseuse Road, then headed into Brasso Seco.

Trail right now is a grade 2-3, however it's not impossible for us to go through. 5 of us went and we made it in pretty far (after getting lost and going on the wrong trail) until the sun setting and place getting dark stopped us (not all of us were equipped for night-work).

It'll take a bit of navigation to get through the ruts, but it's not impossible and it's quite doable. See the pics to decide for yourself.

So as you can see, it's not a terribly difficult trail though it's a Grade 2-3 (Santa Flora and the Trailblazer's trail was little harder).
Be forewarned though, though none of us got stuck (except cvt_rr and his balding all-terrain tyres), the trucks bottomed out on a couple ruts. Also, the bush was overgrown on both sides of the trail and early on the trail is pretty narrow - hence you'll definitely be scraping bush on both sides. My navara got some nice long scars down the sides from the bush (chicks dig body scars??).

Basically if my stock Navara could make it through most of the trail, then most of you guys can go (i.e. a big fat and WIDE truck with hardly any steering lock :) )

Re: Side B - Brasso Seco Scouting run

Postby 3stagevtec » June 26th, 2011, 11:43 pm

Walk to the Lopinot Caves

Formations inside the caves

On to Brasso Seco

Awesome view!

Who turned out the lights? Heading back out through Lopinot Trail

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » June 27th, 2011, 1:37 am

lighthammer wrote:e forewarned though, though none of us got stuck (except cvt_rr and his balding all-terrain tyres), the trucks bottomed out on a couple ruts.

Actually. It didn't really stick. The rear differential was bottoming out and I didn't want to drag it on the ground. I didn't really need the weight in the tray of the van cause I had the grip to reverse. A simple back up and different angle of approach was all I really needed to clear it.
My van came out without any scratches or damages. Because of the Navara's fat @$$ it was really up close and personal with the hills. Any other van wouldn't require that much navigation to squeeze through. The Navara is the widest of the popular vans in Trinidad.

BTW, lighthammer, that slip and slide in the tray of my van was real funny. Wish I had recorded it. There was long foot trail of mud in the tray.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » June 27th, 2011, 1:56 pm

^^ ao yuh cyah gimmeh a ride in yuh tray awaattt?

yeah boy, somebody put frickin' armor-all on your bedliner, so getting up was an adventure in bruised knees...*sheesh*

Postby 3stagevtec » June 27th, 2011, 5:29 pm

lighthammer wrote:^^ ao yuh cyah gimmeh a ride in yuh tray awaattt?

yeah boy, somebody put frickin' armor-all on your bedliner, so getting up was an adventure in bruised knees...*sheesh*

:lol: :lol: sounds like my ole man...

droppa

Postby droppa » June 28th, 2011, 8:53 am

another case of leo and his bad traction, comin on off road run with yuh parlour fox.......

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » June 28th, 2011, 9:45 pm

nah man, somebody had greaseup de slide!

davracing

Postby davracing » June 30th, 2011, 9:03 pm

When u guys making this run again.I would like to join in.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » June 30th, 2011, 9:25 pm

brasso could be more or less anytime (once the weather is good), it's not too hard to get down there.

The next run might be a re-run of the trailblazer's off-road rally.... we're trying to organize a final date that everyone could make. July is full of scheduling conflicts for some of our main guys, so we're trying to iron it out.

Tentative date for the re-run is end of July.

davracing

Postby davracing » July 2nd, 2011, 9:10 pm

Cool. I'll keep following the thread for updates.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 3rd, 2011, 6:12 am

end of july - either a re-run of the Trailblazer's off road course... or brasso seco again with las cuevas in the mix.

No worries man, we have action waiting up ahead.
Either way... there will be MUDD!

droppa

Postby droppa » July 14th, 2011, 5:45 pm

brasso was decent, we need to run this again, and with cuevas after....

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 14th, 2011, 6:39 pm

sounds like a plan for real!

We have real plenty runs for this year... all in a timing!

droppa

Postby droppa » July 15th, 2011, 2:21 pm

yeah boi, and i get some more info on one mack was telling me bout, we have it cut out for this year..

btw i eh goin lopinot cave and i eh stoppin lopint area again after watchin GHI wed nite.....

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 15th, 2011, 2:48 pm

^^^ hahahah... well no worries, dem jumbie doesn't follow you home like the regular jumbies... we could outrun them man.

Postby sliderz1 » July 16th, 2011, 11:11 pm

so wen we doin part 2 to this run?? maybe reach further into the forest this time......

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 16th, 2011, 11:24 pm

prolly august... we wanna go early and then hit cuevas after to chill out.... tyrico even!

Postby sliderz1 » July 16th, 2011, 11:34 pm

[size=200]YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!![/size]

sweet.........LH call me if its not gonna be an official ........

droppa

Postby droppa » July 18th, 2011, 1:05 pm

nah it go be an official run, we will include a cuevas with it.....

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 18th, 2011, 1:16 pm

^^ it'll be official this time, and yes, like droppa said, cuevas will be included (time permitting).

Hope you bring the frontier this time :D.

We kinda busy with the rally right now, but the final date will be decided soon, so no worries man... plenty off-roading to come!

Postby sliderz1 » July 18th, 2011, 3:38 pm

lighthammer wrote:
Hope you bring the frontier this time :D.

ohh yeahh!!!!!!!!!

Postby sliderz1 » July 18th, 2011, 3:40 pm

after the that run i was a bit angry i didnt come with it..............hence me wanting to go back :twisted:

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » July 23rd, 2011, 12:23 pm

where in Brasso Seco? sometime last week I did the Maracas-------> Blanchesuesuesueses ( :lol:) run, and decided to take the Lopinot trail, was pretty decent except for a small section just before the first house (the only place I touched bottom :x ) Then again maybe i just got overzealous at the first sign of civilization, and well.....**grrrttt** :lol:

Postby 3stagevtec » July 24th, 2011, 3:16 pm

tourniquet wrote:where in Brasso Seco? sometime last week I did the Maracas-------> Blanchesuesuesueses ( :lol:) run, and decided to take the Lopinot trail, was pretty decent except for a small section just before the first house (the only place I touched bottom :x ) Then again maybe i just got overzealous at the first sign of civilization, and well.....**grrrttt** :lol:

What vehicle?

Sasquat007

Postby Sasquat007 » July 24th, 2011, 3:26 pm

saw u guys in price plaza on sat ! nice pics

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 24th, 2011, 7:55 pm

^^ ahahah... which part did u see us? GUess you saw the muddy vans and followed the mud trails into Price Plaza, ent? :D :D

We had just come from a scouting run, to check the special stage for the Rally on next sunday.
Check the rally thread for more deets!

Sasquat007

Postby Sasquat007 » July 24th, 2011, 8:38 pm

lighthammer wrote:^^ ahahah... which part did u see us? GUess you saw the muddy vans and followed the mud trails into Price Plaza, ent? :D :D

We had just come from a scouting run, to check the special stage for the Rally on next sunday.
Check the rally thread for more deets!

na not really had to get some stuff in price mart !

u guys were by subway ! lol

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » July 25th, 2011, 11:41 am

3stagevtec wrote:
tourniquet wrote:where in Brasso Seco? sometime last week I did the Maracas-------> Blanchesuesuesueses ( :lol:) run, and decided to take the Lopinot trail, was pretty decent except for a small section just before the first house (the only place I touched bottom :x ) Then again maybe i just got overzealous at the first sign of civilization, and well.....**grrrttt** :lol:

What vehicle?

Grand Vitara :mrgreen:

Postby 3stagevtec » July 25th, 2011, 3:46 pm

tourniquet wrote:
3stagevtec wrote:

What vehicle?

Bring it to the rally!!

Postby sliderz1 » July 25th, 2011, 4:05 pm

tourniquet wrote:
3stagevtec wrote:

What vehicle?

you are here ..........
......you need to be ---- :arrow: viewtopic.php?f=58&t=381568&p=5514549#p5514549

Return to “Off Road Runs”