Re: DRAG RACING AT WALLERFIELD - New layout with trackbite

Postby Bezman » October 5th, 2015, 12:28 pm

i had a great time.. great event

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » October 5th, 2015, 1:30 pm

yup, really was an excellent event. Congrats to the organizers on a well executed event; got a nostalgic feeling hearing Ramesh on the mike again at the true home of drag racing.
please take into consideration for the next event:
*additional stands
*maybe additional parking as some folks who came up around 4:30/5 were turned away because the officials stated the event was filled

Z350

Postby Z350 » October 5th, 2015, 3:35 pm

Racing was good, area was well prepared, only issue, holding area needs to be extended maybe 50 - 100' West.

Well done to the team, it was good to see all the different bodies and promoters working together for the sport, we need more of that to get the sport moving forward.

Well Done Again.

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » October 6th, 2015, 7:12 am

The event sounds like it was good for those who came early, however I could not and to me it was poor.

1. That whole driving up to pay then walk, I dunno if it was mentioned but the traffic to get in was beyond words, I was outside from 3pm and got in at around 4pm.

2. Around the time that I came there was a race then a 5 min wait then another. There was no steady flow. Again that could just be with the time I could come.

3. The place where I had to park and spectate was NOT SAFE at all. The red RX broke loose and those little concrete barriers can't hold a car at that speed and the fence...well no comment there.

4. Not enough seating, thank god the top of my wrangler could come back and I sat on the hood.

Beyond that, it was my first time back at wallerfield since seeing Sheik vs SKF and definitely got those nostalgic feels.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 6th, 2015, 11:04 am

amd-dude wrote:The event sounds like it was good for those who came early, however I could not and to me it was poor.

1. That whole driving up to pay then walk, I dunno if it was mentioned but the traffic to get in was beyond words, I was outside from 3pm and got in at around 4pm.
Im sure you had a busy day, however, internationally patrons get to events very early to beat the traffic, secure good parking and good seats / vantage points.

e.g. Also on this same Sunday was a rallycross event at the race track in Barbados. By 8am the car parks and stands were filled up with spectators, I was there.

This was the first drag racing event at Wallerfield in this format (West to East) since 2006 and a trial run to work out any logistical issues for the bigger event in November. All points and issues will be noted and things put in place to correct it, including more seating.

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 6th, 2015, 11:06 am

can't please trinis duane.....

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » October 6th, 2015, 11:25 am

I am not bashing anything Aaron, I am simply saying what I saw. I am sure it was a good event for the people that came early but as I had to work that morning I could not. All I was saying is that it should be a smooth process for everyone, regardless of early or not? Or am I talking sheit?

I will still come to every event to support the cause as I have always done.

mojoe

Postby mojoe » October 6th, 2015, 3:20 pm

Is the event in november both day and night event? Also does it have any other planned drag racing event coming up besides the november event?

canada

Postby canada » October 6th, 2015, 3:49 pm

Having attended numerous Nascar races in the U.S. and Indy races in Toronto where they have systems in place and resources to deal with crowds, traffic, etc. you still have wait time in the lines. We attended the Indianapolis 500 race with VIP tickets, private suite, VIP parking on the inside and in the VIP vehicle entrance and we still had a wait time of 2 hours to get in. We were there at 8:00 am with the race starting at 1:00 pm.

Wallerfield is now coming back onstream so we have to give the organizers a chance to work out all the bugs and get systems in place. Attendees also have responsiblities, such as, following instructions, not littering, be courteous to others, etc.

No matter where you go, they key is getting there early and remember you are not the only one attending this event.

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 6th, 2015, 4:42 pm

one point to note is scrutineering... a lot of cars came in with

aluminium nuts
a lot of stuff in the engine bay not strapped down
inspecting with one set of tires then changing to another set that was rubbing on their fenders
fire extinguishers not installed properly (ie. some in the trunk)
batteries not strapped down etc

teams need to get a checklist before hand and ensure all the items are in order before getting to the track and looking fuh ah bligh

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 6th, 2015, 5:54 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:one point to note is scrutineering... a lot of cars came in with

aluminium nuts
a lot of stuff in the engine bay not strapped down
inspecting with one set of tires then changing to another set that was rubbing on their fenders
fire extinguishers not installed properly (ie. some in the trunk)
batteries not strapped down etc

teams need to get a checklist before hand and ensure all the items are in order before getting to the track and looking fuh ah bligh
the scrutineering checklist was sent out since September 23rd. We even posted here as a PDF to download viewtopic.php?p=8884069&f=4#p8884069

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 6th, 2015, 5:56 pm

mojoe wrote:Is the event in november both day and night event? Also does it have any other planned drag racing event coming up besides the november event?
November may be a night event. There are no drag racing events at Wallerfield carded so far other than that.

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 6th, 2015, 7:26 pm

Duane both you and I know that but there are a lot of the racers who aren't on the forum. I spoke to trevy, Rawle and Jameer to have discussions at the prize giving...

Postby pete » October 6th, 2015, 8:40 pm

Gonna have a 15 second class in November?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 6th, 2015, 10:24 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:Duane both you and I know that but there are a lot of the racers who aren't on the forum. I spoke to trevy, Rawle and Jameer to have discussions at the prize giving...
I said it was also posted here, it was also printed out and given with the entry form at the briefing. The entry form / scrutineering check list PDF link was also posted on Facebook.

daniel135

Postby daniel135 » October 7th, 2015, 6:21 am

When and where will the results be posted?

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » October 7th, 2015, 9:05 am

daniel135 wrote:When and where will the results be posted?

Results are being prepared, amazing to have so many comp. numbers and no names to match because of late entries - that definitely will NOT happen in the future.

Pete, Sure there will be a 15 secs. at the next event, this is where the encouragement to go faster starts.

Postby pete » October 7th, 2015, 10:29 am

I don't even think the car is that quick but I want to find out :)

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » October 7th, 2015, 8:43 pm

pete wrote:I don't even think the car is that quick but I want to find out :)

Lol...
Gotta a specimen like this too!!!
Remember back in the days at Wallerfield when 16s was a competition bracket...

cornfused

Postby cornfused » October 8th, 2015, 10:08 am

Yes there were 15, 16, 17 second brackets , most of which can be run on an early Saturday session as it may seem to be the crowd pleasers, but they would have their fans . Not everyone has the budget for 14sec vehicle and under , where can these vehicles race ?

That said ,starting sessions pre 3pm on a Saturday seems to be a recurrent challenge.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » October 9th, 2015, 3:15 pm

Small feedback from some racers .

1. Red Dog Cozier is one of the best starters , they have used . Gives ample time to stage .

2. The area behind the line needs to be expanded , the line up , holding area for the brackets is a bit small.

Postby 16 cycles » October 11th, 2015, 3:15 am

Props to fugitive7....great job on the vids

dragaholic

Postby dragaholic » October 11th, 2015, 1:17 pm

Where are the vids posted?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 11th, 2015, 1:48 pm

dragaholic wrote:Where are the vids posted?

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » October 11th, 2015, 8:30 pm

49 Uploads so far. Most I have ever done actually for an Event. Every Almost every Driver has their own Vid. Still got some more to do.

https://www.youtube.com/user/fugitive7/videos

halfdef

Postby halfdef » October 12th, 2015, 4:53 pm

Any official results?

Your_dream

Postby Your_dream » December 18th, 2017, 5:15 am

cool)