Drag & Wind(ing) #5, 11.12.11 ....*Pics on Pg 7*....

AutoSport

Re: Drag & Wind(ing) #5, the Grand Finale, Sunday 11th Dece

Postby AutoSport » December 8th, 2011, 4:22 pm

The best Management style is to listen to constructive criticism and apply where necessary....

So we are gradually starting to attract other sponsors who are coming in with small tokens in the beginning and we know that this will only grow to bigger and better things.

From the last Event, Parts Unlimited offered to sponsor a cash prize of $500.00 for the best Reaction Time – this being to the driver whose reaction after getting the green light was closest to the .500 perfect reaction time.

The best time at the last Event was .518 posted by David Jaggernauth.

And for this Event we have had an offer of $1,000.00 from Commercial Representations Ltd. to the driver with the fastest time for the day. Now this would most likely, only be won by those at the top.

So after some discussion it was agreed to split this among the five classes and offer an equal amount to the FASTEST in Each Class – small at this time but we are certain that this will grow in the not too distant future.

Thanks for starting the ball rolling for 2012.
Last edited by AutoSport on December 9th, 2011, 2:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » December 8th, 2011, 8:21 pm

At our briefing meeting last evening at MOSPORTT we announced the results for our last event on 27th November. There was one query re the GT 3 Class, and I am glad to state that the indicated winner, when contacted, did admit to making an error on the course and the placings should be switched. We applaud this sportsmanship and look forward to all competitors maintaing that level of integrity.

Results - Drag and Wind #4 Time Attack Event
27th November 2011

[b]GT 1 Sponsored by L. Mohammed & Sons
[/b]1st Place – 115 - Fayaz Mohammed
2nd Place – 111 - Dirk Bailey

GT 2 Sponsored by ERLS Caribbean
1st Place – 105 - Christianopher Khadar
2nd Place – 41 - Saeed Mandal

[b]GT 3 Sponsored by Auto Nation[/b]
1st Place - 107 - Chris Ramnauth
2nd Place – 85 - Junior Madhoo

GT 4 Sponsored by Fiat
1st Place – 700 – Kevon Ramjohn
2nd Place – 314 – Wayne Gajadhar

GT 5 Sponsored by NP Ultra
1st Place – 57 Ronnie Seepersad
2nd Place – 999- Sean Shairsingh

Best Reaction Time Sponsored by Parts Unlimited
0.518 secs. David Jaggernauth
Last edited by AutoSport on December 8th, 2011, 9:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » December 8th, 2011, 9:36 pm

loving how this event is growing...

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » December 8th, 2011, 10:08 pm

Thank you for the correction in gt3 rawle, was just about to post the live video recording of that run which shows the ignis winning. :lol:

Computerman

Postby Computerman » December 9th, 2011, 8:06 am

AutoSport wrote:Results - Drag and Wind #4 Time Attack Event
27th November 2011

GT 1 Sponsored by L. Mohammed & Sons
1st Place – 115 - Fayaz Mohammed

:?: You sure that number correct??

pornstar1

Postby pornstar1 » December 9th, 2011, 10:28 am

New to this guys; but very interested.
Where will this event be held and at what time does it start?

Can you enter to take a run on the day? For sheits and giggles.

Computerman

Postby Computerman » December 9th, 2011, 11:10 am

Computerman wrote:
27th November 2011

My apologies! That number is correct! Iz Friday and I ent eat breakfast yet (how's that for an excuse)! :oops:

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » December 9th, 2011, 2:29 pm

Computerman wrote:
27th November 2011

My apologies! That number is correct! Iz Friday and I ent eat breakfast yet (how's that for an excuse)! :oops:

One Friday buff coming your way! :twisted:
As I say, glad for the queries, all of which we shall address.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » December 9th, 2011, 10:52 pm

Wow, I now seeing dis...I am so sorry i cant make it dis Sunday. I had tons of fun last event, didnt realize I won something, didnt matter, I had fun regardless.

This event is really great...and will only get better in the new year.

My tyres are done and I am now in the process of preparing for next year's dex. Hope to be a little faster next year, coming with some changes.

Postby X2 » December 10th, 2011, 1:34 am

Thanks for results Rawle. Next time, add the cars driven :)

professor

Postby professor » December 10th, 2011, 7:36 am

Where are the times ????

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » December 10th, 2011, 1:11 pm

so rain anyone?

moti

Postby moti » December 10th, 2011, 9:54 pm

no rain before 12PM please ryan.
if i dont finish my "work" i cant come up there :(

Postby Team Loco » December 10th, 2011, 10:10 pm

After paying for the last set of events and never making it, so far it looks like I can finally make it tomorrow.
Imagine allyuh worried bout rain. Man like me have no hood on my car

Postby MG Man » December 10th, 2011, 10:16 pm

yeah but that's YOUR choice

Postby Team Loco » December 11th, 2011, 6:59 am

What time are we supposed to be there for?

trinilife

Postby trinilife » December 11th, 2011, 8:40 am

this is my second time coming ,in the future i hope to enter,this time i am bringing my sons to enjoy the day,and i will be coming to support your efforts. thanks for something different.

Kiro_lee

Postby Kiro_lee » December 11th, 2011, 9:43 am

where this taking place?

Drag & Wind(ing) #5, the Grand Finale, Sunday 11th December

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 11th, 2011, 12:50 pm

Sean just ran a 50 secs... Fastest for the day
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1323622142.154793.jpg

Shortie

Postby Shortie » December 11th, 2011, 1:35 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:Sean just ran a 50 secs... Fastest for the day

let we see who man enough...to beat dat........

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 11th, 2011, 2:07 pm

Sean's car just broke with shiv as co-pilot....

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 11th, 2011, 2:10 pm

Sean's what's in store?
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1323626989.265818.jpg

ServicemanJohn

Postby ServicemanJohn » December 11th, 2011, 6:49 pm

An the still won fastest time of the day?...Congrats

ingalook

Postby ingalook » December 11th, 2011, 7:07 pm

My experience today...

[Backstory - read if you want]

In June I was in an accident where my ankle was cut severing 2 tendons, they had to be re-attached with surgery leaving me with crutches and a cast for 2 months. My recovery has been slow but steady, today was the first day I've worn shoes since the accident since my foot has been swollen (and still is to a lesser extent)

I've spent 2 days this week by my mechanic until late into the night (get some pressure from the wife for this) trying to get my car ready for this event, last night we finally seemed to get the wiring issues sorted out, so I was looking forward to a triumphant return to motorsport...

[end of Backstory]

On to today:

I got to do 2 practice runs, both in the 58sec mark, i then lined up for my 3rd run. I sat in my car for about 10 minutes (I know it was 10 minutes since i listened to the whole of "Freebird") then I got to the front of the line... the marshal signalled to us the practice runs were finished... now it would have been nice if they just walked up the line of cars and told us that we would not get to run... I looked across to the other driver on the line, he looked puzzled and annoyed.

"Oh well I'll better my time in qualifying" I thought to myself...

Briefing for qualifying delivered by Rawle (ah think)

-3 qualifying runs
-best run will class you
-Competitors have the option to bump themselves up one class after their first run
-For the shootout if you are called and do not show up you get a DQ
-Competitors are allowed to break the class time by 1 second but no more

My runs:

1st run - DNF I went around the roundabout the wrong way
2nd run - Sit on the starting line waiting for about 15 minutes for them to clean up parts of some guy gearbox... no biggee... Then I'm off, track seems slippery, I hit some gravel and go into a skid... it takes everything I have to keep the car from spinning, skid-countersteer, skid-counterster, skid-countersteer, skid-countersteer... must have been entertaining to watch... but not fast by any measure.... 63 secs
3rd run - Amir and I end up lining up side by side "Doh beat mih" he yells accross to me "I'll try" I yell back. Amir gets the jump on me at the start, he leaves me on the straight, but I notice he's slow around the roundabout and I figure out a better line. I look at my timeslip, I ACTUALLY WON!

My car (84) put down a 55.904
Amir (600) put down a 56.462

Since it was mentioned that there is a 1 second leeway I assume that based on my best time of the day 55.904 that I will be put into the 56-58 sec class, exactly where I want to be... SWEET!

The shootout starts, my car is the very FIRST CAR CALLED, I don't want a DQ so I jump in my car and rush to the start.

I'm up against a oldschool swift, I make easy work of him, I get the slip:

Car 84 (me) - 56.642
Car 240 - 60.687 WINNER

I ask the guy who handed me the slip what is going on, I knew that run was clean, he says I won but the have some issue with the timing equipment...

Then I notice a big nasty word on my slip "BREAKOUT"

i go to the tent to inquire as to what is going on....

"What is this about?" I ask

"You more than a second under class time, this class is 58-60 secs" they reply

"How allyuh could put me in that class, I just run a 55.9????" I ask

"Yuh have dat slip?" they ask

I run to my car to get m slip... "here" I give them the slip... I look at their records and notice that the don't seem to have that time anywhere

"But you running 58s whole day" They reply

"But that was in PRACTICE" I point out

"we use an average... we can't make an exception for you" they reply

"We don't have time for this" another marshal adds

I visualise a soldier yelling "UDFR"

I stand there looking pissed off and ask again and again but the replies are much the same... my day of racing is over :(

My issues are this:

1. In which type of racing are you classed based on your AVERAGE TIME???

2. What is the point of qualifying if you are factoring in my PRACTICE times?

Seriously, I can't take this kinda stupidness, I would not have minded if I was put in a higher class and get a proper cutarse, or I do crap and DNF but to lose like this was retarded.

I was told that I should have come to the tent after my first run and requested a bump in to to 56-58 bracket... my first run was a DNF... how I supposed to guess where to put my car?

Is it my job to class my car or the officials?

We don't need qualifying then, is better we just come and tell allyuh what class we want to be in.

You guys put me in the 58-60 bracket, then you put Amir, (who I beat) in the 54-56 bracket... where allyuh learn to do maths?

To make matters worse the classes are called as "GT-3, GT-4" etc.... now that might sound cool like different editions of Gran Tourismo and all but both the competitors and the spectators have no idea what those numbers mean in terms of time bracket, the mic was used repeatedly by some freshwater yankee to harass Jameer Ali but no effort was made to actually educate us on what the classes meant...

If allyuh had too many cars and didn't need my $150 allyuh coulda just say so... I woulda just chill out home and mark some exam papers...

End of rant...
Last edited by ingalook on December 11th, 2011, 8:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » December 11th, 2011, 7:58 pm

What a great day . I can't wait for
The pics

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » December 11th, 2011, 8:03 pm

Engine fail

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » December 11th, 2011, 8:25 pm

ouch rod decided it wanted out of the block pornie? my turbo has decided for me that an upgrade was necessary :) its already been changed and the car is back up and running but its sad to not have been able to do a time.

who won?

pyromaniax

Postby pyromaniax » December 11th, 2011, 8:44 pm

Have some vids, uploading now will post them in a few

> Evo engine fail ( i forgot to turn on HQ mode on camera) fml

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 11th, 2011, 8:47 pm

hold these for now....stay tuned... http://www.aaronachan.com