2008 sportage diesel

Sportage, Sorento, Soul, Rio, Cerato, Optima

Mercenary

Re: 2008 sportage diesel

Postby Mercenary » April 21st, 2017, 12:54 pm

747 TECHNOLOGIES wrote:Yea I just need to clean the valve cover seal. And it should be done. I have to remove back alternator and ps pump....i wanted to seal off the water plugs. I dont trust them lol.

Today I'll be reinstalling the transmission in the van. So just to get an ac compressor abd turbo and back to the road

Thumbs up for going thru all dem repairs.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » April 21st, 2017, 1:12 pm

Being honest with this....it costinf plenty cheaper to rebuild bcuz people have good blocks for cheap and heads not that expensive...just can't listen to one place and bcuz they say everywhere is same price....i was corrected when i got my block for 4k. Head gasket metal for 225 at autorama. Hoses about 300$ total.

Ill try to add up the entire cost when im done. Bcuz yes 25k is easy way out with a FU engine but 25k is alot of money

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » April 22nd, 2017, 7:48 pm

I just need a turbo and ac compressor now.....will use cheap oil to start and idle for 10 mins then drain. Using kendall super xd diesel oil after.

Waiting on some cash for 75w90 gl5 synthetic oils for transfer case and diff.

Will just change inner and outter ends and end links for suspension as i noticed my cradles are still good.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » April 23rd, 2017, 6:20 pm

Transmissiom reinstalled.

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » April 23rd, 2017, 6:26 pm

Transmission looks rel similar to a mitsubishi

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » April 23rd, 2017, 6:43 pm

Yup....remove the transfer case and make a longer axle, and u can make these diesel sportage fwd lol.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » April 23rd, 2017, 7:18 pm

Where it's the filter for the tranny? Show a picture.
Thanks.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » April 25th, 2017, 10:35 pm

Its on the side of the transmission, but I never bother to remove it after removing the pan in front...apparently that's just to access the solenoids. But it was like brand new so I didn't bother to open the filter side

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » April 26th, 2017, 12:27 am

Ok, thanks. Just saw a post from the power seller "m and r imports"on the forum have parts for our model. Whole front cut and engine.
You ever checked him?

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » April 26th, 2017, 1:42 pm

747 TECHNOLOGIES wrote:Its on the side of the transmission, but I never bother to remove it after removing the pan in front...apparently that's just to access the solenoids. But it was like brand new so I didn't bother to open the filter side

That tranny filter good for 10+ years.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » April 26th, 2017, 6:16 pm

That's if you change your oil on time.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » April 26th, 2017, 7:47 pm

yea, when I changed the oil, it was like new, but I still put new oil....I like to change tranny oil every year....but first time I see something new looking like that....I seen transmission internals in almost new state but this one, like factory new. lol

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » April 26th, 2017, 9:23 pm

I do alot of driving so i change tranny oil every 6 months.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » April 27th, 2017, 10:50 am

where you guys buy the oil?
SP111 right?
looking to change the reservoir oil this week.
Should be around 4 quarts?

ADONI

Postby ADONI » April 27th, 2017, 11:06 am

I get the SP3 by Parts Marketing for $65 a quart. price gone up, it use to be $60. I use about 5 and a lil thing. After my tranny rebuild I, was told to change every 24,000 km, which is about a year driving for me.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » April 28th, 2017, 4:30 pm

Awaiting on some cash for a boost and oil pressure gauge....I got a turbo and the thing like brand new, not a single bit of shaft play.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » April 29th, 2017, 9:50 am

cressida_override

Postby cressida_override » April 29th, 2017, 9:59 am

747 TECHNOLOGIES wrote:Awaiting on some cash for a boost and oil pressure gauge....I got a turbo and the thing like brand new, not a single bit of shaft play.

what did it cost you & do they have another turbo fs?

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » April 29th, 2017, 10:05 am

Nope that turbo apparently hard to get. Usually foreign used is 3000 and more. Got this from a padnah for less....

This turbo basically looks like it have less than 1000k on if it even used so much

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » April 30th, 2017, 11:32 am

yuh score!

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » May 1st, 2017, 4:27 pm

Started up last night and one injector was bad. Got one today and like it flooding...white smoke puffinf out intake

Stresssssss but when it started on 3 it was sounding nice...first time i heard the turbo....goes to show how dead ours was

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » May 1st, 2017, 8:59 pm

So im checking my old injectors by pulsing them....two clicking....so i tried one...nothing.....

Put back the one the guy gave me....white smoke puffing out throttle body....i gave up for a while as today is my daughters bday....

I walked around and said lemme try the next one altho i was told all is bad....

Put it up etc and started.....it starts! No missfire and idling sweeeet revving out niceeeee....

Just to mount up tomorrow and get the power steering pump fitting with the two 10 bolts as mines broke.

Finally....this headache is over....

Word of advice to yall....if one injector is failing or leaking or giving trouble....you will have starting issues!

Apparently the major problems in CRDi vehicles is rail and sensors and injectors!

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » May 1st, 2017, 9:13 pm

Happy you got through.
Worth keeping it after all the trouble.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » May 1st, 2017, 9:14 pm

The real test is this week driving everyday all day

Will update as i go

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » May 1st, 2017, 9:31 pm

Yea man quite a journey there, all the best now on the roads

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » May 2nd, 2017, 6:37 am

Did you replace the thermostat?
Looking to do this also. Yesterday I change the transmission fluids, colour still looked red when it come out.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » May 2nd, 2017, 5:28 pm

Removed thermostat....im not able with it sticking again and with the heat we are getting, its bound to stick again.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » May 2nd, 2017, 6:36 pm

747 TECHNOLOGIES wrote:Removed thermostat....im not able with it sticking again and with the heat we are getting, its bound to stick again.

You sure this is the best idea bro? Correct me of I'm wrong, but remember without the thermostat, the engine will probably never reach optimum temperature or it will take a lot longer to get there. Considering the operating principles of a diesel engine, these are not the most favorable conditions for same..

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » May 2nd, 2017, 6:45 pm

I actually been two minded with diesel and thermostat so im still undecided if i might run with it off.....considering my wife will use it for work it will be hard to sit in town idling for 10 mind to get it to temp so i might get a new one from the company

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » May 3rd, 2017, 6:13 pm

747 TECHNOLOGIES wrote:I actually been two minded with diesel and thermostat so im still undecided if i might run with it off.....considering my wife will use it for work it will be hard to sit in town idling for 10 mind to get it to temp so i might get a new one from the company

OK cool bro, that's what I'm thinking. I paid approximately $145 for my thermostat in Massy. Speaking of Massy, I went to find out about the water trap sensor yesterday..the woman said $445 yes..didn't someone say it was like $285 or so in SSL?? Tried enquiring via phone yesterday, its like pulling teeth..But if people's $300k vehicles don't matter to them, my $300 part..pssh.

Return to “KIA”