2008 sportage diesel

Sportage, Sorento, Soul, Rio, Cerato, Optima

Joshie23

Re: 2008 sportage diesel

Postby Joshie23 » January 24th, 2017, 10:04 am

SNIPER 3000 wrote:Yeah dude, I have never tried it, the bottle looks cheap and fake.

Proof that looks can be deceiving..lols. Speaking of engine bay, I could do with an engine wash but I don't trust myself..or anyone else for that matter but a partner with a Hilux pointed me to a place in Fyzabad (for the southies) so if he trusts them I guess it'll be fine..

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » January 24th, 2017, 1:17 pm

That i will trust to only me!
I do it every 6months. Make sure and remove the battery pole and cover the alternator. Ensure the engine and tranny dip sticks is covered. After i am done i spray the connectors with electrical contact cleaners.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » January 30th, 2017, 6:51 pm

747 it was you causing all that trouble for real?? Ched gone quiet since you got sorted out :lol: guys how essential is a boost gauge in our vans?? Getting one for a great price in the am Jah spare, so I'm querying its purpose.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » January 30th, 2017, 7:47 pm

I would be interested in knowing my boost!

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » January 31st, 2017, 1:09 am

SNIPER 3000 wrote:I would be interested in knowing my boost!

Roger copy..lols I just need to know what goes where when installing..I'll also be buying a turbo timer tomorrow.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » January 31st, 2017, 7:15 pm

OK guys..so turbo timer is up and running..the only thing..I'm catching my royal to install the boost gauge..where exactly do I tee-off from..

UPDATE: So I found the tee-off point, on the wastegate actuator line..the needle was vibrating a bit, so I took her for a test drive. Needle moved up nicely, till I pressed a little harder and then 'POP'..the hose off of the turbo popped off. I moved the clip to shift the pipe to get more room to work (still didn't get the room :roll: ) and I didn't have a pair of pliers big enough to squeeze it back onto the piping so I'll have to get a big screw type hose clip in the am God spare.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » February 1st, 2017, 7:00 pm

Nice work , post some pics nah.
Did you install an after market temperature gauge also? Its on my list of stuff to do. If you did share some specs.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » February 3rd, 2017, 10:03 pm

No temperature gauge yet, I plan to install one though. The boost gauge is fluttering while idling and vibrating while boosting because of the surging in the line from the pressure so I need to install a reducer in the line to dampen the flow. Next step-install an alarm..not doing that one myself though :lol: the vehicle had an alarm but idk wth the previous owner did to it because some of the infrastructure is still there i.e. the LED indicator, there's a sensor on the windscreen, bonnet sensor..idk where the 'brain' is though so I can't identify the type or model of the alarm to just reprogram the two remotes, which might cost more than a new alarm itself. $650 installed for the GPS and $375 max to remove and reinstall a new alarm..looking through Amazon for a decent alarm in a budget..
20170203_063139_opt.jpg
Tee-off from wastegate actuator.
20170203_063139_opt.jpg (27.32 KiB) Viewed 5023 times

20170203_063236_opt.jpg
Boost gauge and turbo timer.
20170203_063236_opt.jpg (34.31 KiB) Viewed 5023 times

cressida_override

Postby cressida_override » February 4th, 2017, 8:19 am

Joshie23 wrote:No temperature gauge yet, I plan to install one though. The boost gauge is fluttering while idling and vibrating while boosting because of the surging in the line from the pressure so I need to install a reducer in the line to dampen the flow. Next step-install an alarm..not doing that one myself though :lol: the vehicle had an alarm but idk wth the previous owner did to it because some of the infrastructure is still there i.e. the LED indicator, there's a sensor on the windscreen, bonnet sensor..idk where the 'brain' is though so I can't identify the type or model of the alarm to just reprogram the two remotes, which might cost more than a new alarm itself. $650 installed for the GPS and $375 max to remove and reinstall a new alarm..looking through Amazon for a decent alarm in a budget..20170203_063139_opt.jpg

20170203_063236_opt.jpg

https://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_20 ... 5-LCD.html

very good alarm, my frontier came with one installed previously and i never had any problems....i bought the same alarm and had the same installer to do the install in my sportage...still no problems.
Its one mile range, turbo timer, remote start designed for diesel with pre heat, rechargeable battery via usb, internal temp sensors, 2way lcd....if you buy it i can link u with the same installer, he does it at his home right infront of you within one hour.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » February 5th, 2017, 7:52 pm

How much boost do these engines run from checking the gauge?

Lol, I went beach yesterday and some more driving....no loss of water, no smoking, no issues really......works really nice.

Im just losing oil from it smoking as the turbo is throwing oil, so I also believe im losing power but to me, vehicle works pretty damn good, getting the kick I need for overtaking etc lol. Hits 140 very easy, have no felt the need to speed with it so I stick to 100-110km/h max, and I really don't care about that speed limit, bcuz I aint gonna pedal my foot everyday, when I go town and back twice a day lol

Time to upgrade the music system next :D

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » February 5th, 2017, 7:53 pm

Oh also....I rip tyres EVERY time I am coming out a road from a stop and I press out LOL

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » February 6th, 2017, 10:40 am

747, how much oil do you add between oil changes?
I use Shell R6 full synthetic. I do not add any between oil changes, only a top up after the first 2000km which is about under half quart. I change at 10,000km some times around 8k, but I very rarely cross 100km when driving. Avg around 80km. Try not to cross the full mark, I used to top up a little pass full but it used to smoke.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » February 6th, 2017, 11:25 am

Cressida override that alarm looks good, where did you buy yours?

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » February 6th, 2017, 11:45 am

I only add when it goes below the mark. I only use max half quart if so much and its good til oil change. I change oil every 3 months and put about 500kms or more every week.

The turbo outlet has oil if i pull out hose by throttle body u will see oil settled there so its just to change turbo and im good overall. Currently the blue smoke is not much and doesnt really smoke much when driving, well at least i don't see it but on idle i see lil hints of blue smoke.

No big deal

cressida_override

Postby cressida_override » February 6th, 2017, 8:32 pm

SNIPER 3000 wrote:Cressida override that alarm looks good, where did you buy yours?

bought mine on ebay for 140us in 2015, think the final price landed was $1250...paid $500 to install.

just look around for the same model to get the cheapest price.

nutty4u2c

Postby nutty4u2c » February 15th, 2017, 9:39 pm

UP date on my Sportage. Haven't driven that vehicle since October 2016. Engine job then cracked head now awaiting Shocks from Germany. Imagine a used head for $8,000 TTD and a New Head imported from Ireland landed with duty in Trinidad $6,300. Shocks taking some time to reach because it coming by Ship, but still costing a lot less that the local price. Just waiting on them then is Tyres then back on the road I hope. Ah missing the diesel line. is only Premium and super with the other vehicles. Pressure

cressida_override

Postby cressida_override » February 16th, 2017, 12:15 am

nutty4u2c wrote:UP date on my Sportage. Haven't driven that vehicle since October 2016. Engine job then cracked head now awaiting Shocks from Germany. Imagine a used head for $8,000 TTD and a New Head imported from Ireland landed with duty in Trinidad $6,300. Shocks taking some time to reach because it coming by Ship, but still costing a lot less that the local price. Just waiting on them then is Tyres then back on the road I hope. Ah missing the diesel line. is only Premium and super with the other vehicles. Pressure

Germany you say....what kinda shocks you buying bro?

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » February 16th, 2017, 7:57 pm

Lets group buy and put down our engine and other parts?
Who willing?

ADONI

Postby ADONI » February 17th, 2017, 10:48 am

^^ Fuh real, I was thinking rather that rebore, buy from Korea or something. I saving to buy two front shocks at the moment...

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » February 19th, 2017, 9:52 pm

What price?

ADONI

Postby ADONI » February 20th, 2017, 11:05 am

I was looking at original from the firm, $3,000 for a pair of front shock. I might get a discount...

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » February 22nd, 2017, 12:08 pm

Cleaned inside, washed outside, purple blast and scrubbed tyres, dried, shined tyres and polished whole vehicle.Image

ImageImage

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » February 23rd, 2017, 9:38 pm

Looks great. Did the s spoiler thingy came with it?

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » February 24th, 2017, 8:03 am

yup

Same night after cleaning, saw a leak....checked it up and the radiator hose had a cut....got one from bobbys and fixed it.

Also EGR like its giving trouble, and check light comes on, so I blocked off egr for the time and so far it works good. A lot of power all the time now and torque. I see my engine temp drops a little bit than before, which seems to be a good thing

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » February 24th, 2017, 6:00 pm

747 TECHNOLOGIES wrote:yup

Same night after cleaning, saw a leak....checked it up and the radiator hose had a cut....got one from bobbys and fixed it.

Also EGR like its giving trouble, and check light comes on, so I blocked off egr for the time and so far it works good. A lot of power all the time now and torque. I see my engine temp drops a little bit than before, which seems to be a good thing

How did you manage to blank the EGR without throwing on the CEL?

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » February 24th, 2017, 7:24 pm

747, share that info dude. I wanted to block my egr valve a while now. Always thought would go into fail safe if I did. Did you block on both sides? Any wiring needed?
Did it on a frontier and the overall performance was excellent.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » February 24th, 2017, 8:13 pm

No, I said my check light has been coming on and off due to faulty egr, and I eh got cash to buy one....So I blanked it off lol.

Check light not really making the van feel any slower of wasting diesel, so I don't think fail safe does anything really.

But I removed the egr, two 10 bolts and two 12 nuts....made two plates to block both ends, put silicone to make sure it doesn't slide, installed and bolted it back down. I left the vacuum hose back on as it can interfere with the throttle valve that closes when u switch off.

I realized my canister is clogged with carbon again so I don't think I wanna kill the head with heat using the EGR again.

Currently, the vehicle is taking off insanely quick, accelerating with torque when I ask for it, slightly lower engine temp and I realized my diesel needle is not moving as much as before....I wanna see how much kms I get now.

Im planning to buy those little management/booster boxes which supposed to tune the vehicle for best performance and also remove the check light. Trying to locate them tho.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » March 1st, 2017, 9:31 am

747 ah have a EGR for sale.... :mrgreen:
When I blanked my EGR, the van felt normal, but by the next day the check light came on. Van worked as normal, just couldn't take on the check light being on.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » March 1st, 2017, 11:23 am

LoL.....we one have more power, and mostly torque, a difference to feel lol so we might leave it off so and get a chiptune box. Currently looking to see how they reprogram to remove check light with blanked egr valves.

If all fails, will just check u for the egr and run the chiptune box

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » March 1st, 2017, 7:36 pm

747 TECHNOLOGIES wrote:LoL.....we one have more power, and mostly torque, a difference to feel lol so we might leave it off so and get a chiptune box. Currently looking to see how they reprogram to remove check light with blanked egr valves.

If all fails, will just check u for the egr and run the chiptune box

That's the thing. I've seen where people left a very small hole..big enough to 'fool' the sensor, small enough to prevent the exhaust gas from recirculating and this prevented the CEL from coming on, which is sensible, because ignoring the light we know we caused, might prove to be detrimental, as one wouldn't be able to tell if there are other issues unless you're scanning your van everyday.

By the way, does anyone have a full Workshop Service Manual?? Those things come in verryy handy.

Return to “KIA”