Tucson

Creta, Elantra, Santa Fe, Accent, Tuscon, Veloster, Sonata, i30

Postby Gem_in_i » June 16th, 2008, 1:22 pm

Heard that the shop in Penal opposite Bakal ground, in vicinity of Gopie Trace have Tucson accessories.
Its near GnN supermarket I think.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » June 16th, 2008, 1:43 pm

x2floor wrote:Unlike the SGV, this has rear disc brakes!

The 2009 SGVs coming in August with all wheel disc brakes.

Interestingly though x2floor, all the 2005/08 SGVs globally were front disc and rear drum, not just Caribbean and Latin-American markets. What is the down fall to this type of braking system? In other words, what made them go with that? Cost?? I can't find any SGV tech info on this.

Thanks.

DW

Postby DW » June 16th, 2008, 8:38 pm

x2floor wrote:but ent Kazim Ali have them thing also or he just installs it? which one?

I saw one on Frederick St. and boy it look real good. Its the single muffler version so I'm guessing it was the 2.0 DOHC 16V petrol engine. It had sunroof, spoiler, leather seats, side steps (chrome), chrome tail lights and the front semi-bush bar and the rear lower bumper bar with reflector lights mark "TUCSON". The door mirrors and handles were all chromed as well as the rear wiper and it was the 4WD version. That model is around $230k I believe. Not bad, oh the sunroof GLS models have side and head protection airbags, a more powerful audio system with in-dash 6 CD changer and auto climate control. No wonder they flooding the market. Unlike the SGV, this has rear disc brakes!

Don't let anyone fool you...its a real stretch to call the audio in the GLS "more powerful" and as for "climate control"...it tries..but its no luxury sedan.

I could swear that the GLS is a bit lower than the GL model...I am not sure if its because of the tire profile or the GLS is actually lower because its marketed as having "sport" features.. :?

DW

Postby DW » June 16th, 2008, 8:40 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:Heard that the shop in Penal opposite Bakal ground, in vicinity of Gopie Trace have Tucson accessories.
Its near GnN supermarket I think.

I am not too familiar with Penal, is this place on the main road, do you know the name of the shop ?

Postby Gem_in_i » June 16th, 2008, 8:43 pm

I was wondering abt the height. Don't know which is which but one looks lower than the other.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » June 16th, 2008, 9:06 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:I was wondering abt the height. Don't know which is which but one looks lower than the other.

GL - 215/65/R16
GLS - 235/60/R16

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » June 16th, 2008, 9:14 pm

The 2009 SGVs coming in August with all wheel disc brakes.

Interestingly though x2floor, all the 2005/08 SGVs globally were front disc and rear drum, not just Caribbean and Latin-American markets. What is the down fall to this type of braking system? In other words, what made them go with that? Cost?? I can't find any SGV tech info on this.

Thanks.

I don't see any advantage of having rear disc brakes in such a class of vehicle as outlined in comparison tests in the USA, even with rear drums the SGV does post very respectable stopping distances without any fade to talk about. Its more marketing than anything else. It'll be a plus more so since its a RWD based 4WD vehicle and equipped with a semi-body on frame chassis. It should dissipate heat more consistently over that of drums under heavy braking but thats pretty much it.
Now since the SGV is becomming equipped with such then we should get even surer stopping power especially for the 1% of owners who'll take it for circuit racing!

Personally I'll take the SGV over the Tucson but wrt our local market and pricing......I'll lean more towards the Tucson GL or even GLS. Now if N&M could bring down those 2.7 DOHC 24V V6 models with cruise control and call $300k tops......it'll be a good buy as I am aware that there are a few 2.7 V6 SGV's with sunroof around as well......price is what I'm not aware of though.

DW.....the Tucson GL has 215/65R16 tyres while the GLS trim has 235/60R16.......as we can see the aspect ratio of height is decreased in the GLS therefore you don't need to swear :lol: .....good observation though. Its only shorter because the GLS is supposedly the "softer" model to pamper you. :?:

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » June 16th, 2008, 9:21 pm

here are the prices of the 2008 Hyundai Tucson:

GL 4x2 petrol $182,000.
GL 4x4 petrol $207,000.
GL 4x2 diesel $222,500.
GL 4x4 diesel $236,000.

GLS 4x2 petrol $199,500.
GLS 4x4 petrol $233,000.
GLS 4x4 diesel $264,000.

GLS 4x4 V6 $300,000. (hopefully)

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » June 16th, 2008, 9:28 pm

Then you're gonna like this x2floor, the 2009 SGV:

2009 SGV. Coming in August 2008 to our region!

There is a slight facelift and a few new features:

- Signal lights in the side mirrors.
- Revised front bumpers.
- New alloy wheel options/designs.
- New digital climate control panel.
- New driver information centre in instrument panel.
- Two new engine options: 2.4L VVT I4 and 3.2L V6.
- New metallic pearl colors - red, green and purple.
- Rear disc brakes (no more disc/drum).
- All Leather models also get Smartkey, S/Roof, HID, Cruise Control & 6CD w/6Sp+Sub.

Trims:
5 Door 2WD - 2.0L - JLS – Fabric, 16" Alloys - $225K
5 Door 4WD - 2.0L - JLX – Fabric, 16" Alloys - $245K
5 Door 4WD - 2.0L - JLX-AH – Leather, Smartkey, S/Roof, HID, Cruise Control, 17" Alloys - $270K
5 Door 4WD - 2.4L - JLX-EL – Leather, Smartkey, S/Roof, HID, Cruise Control, ESP, 17" Alloys - $330K
5 Door 4WD - 3.2L - JLX-EL – Leather, Smartkey, S/Roof, HID, Cruise Control, ESP, 17" Alloys - $425K
Last edited by NorStar2K on June 16th, 2008, 9:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » June 16th, 2008, 9:28 pm

GL and GLS 2WD models come with Radio/Cassette CD/MP3 Player with Tweeters

GLS 4WD comes with the above plus Amplifier, Subwoofer, Equalizer and in-dash 6CD changer so the sound system in this grade would be more powerful.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » June 16th, 2008, 9:31 pm

norstar2k

Well done buddy........looks like my decision will be made by August when I test drive it........PCK for sure :twisted:

3.2V6 :shock:

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » June 16th, 2008, 9:51 pm

norstar what you think about these:

Hyundai Santa Fe $367,000. 5-speed auto, 2.2 DOHC 16V VGT CRDi, 17"rims, dual front/side/curtain airbags, ABS/EBD/BA/TC/ESP/TPMS, in-dash 6CD changer with equaliser/amplifier/sub woofer, steering wheel mounted audio and cruise control, leather, wood, self leveling suspension, electro chromatic digital compass rear view mirror, roof rails, sunroof, fogs, spoiler, cool box, power seats, mud guards, keyless entry with antitheft/immobiliser etc.

Mazda CX-7 $392,000 2.3 DOHC 16V SV-T DISI Turbo with 6-speed Activematic, dual chrome tipped split exhaust, dual front/side/curtain airbags, computer controlled active torque split AWD, power seats, fogs, sunroof, leather, steering wheel mounted cruise and audio controls, premium in-dash 6CD MP3 stereo, 18" rims, vented 4-wheel disc brakes with ABS/EBD/BA/TC/DSC/TPMS, xenon projector beam HID headlights, optitron guage cluster, full auto digital climate with trip computer and o/s temp display etc.

and

Chevrolet Captiva 2.4 DOHC 16V $269,000. and 3.2 DOHC 24V Alloytec V6 $349,000. with leather it would be $279,000. and $359,000. respectively. All with 5-speed automatic.

and

Honda CRV 2.4 $395,000. with sunroof, leather, 17"rims, 5-speed automatic, HID head lights etc.

and

Subaru Forester 2.5 Turbo $387,000. with 17" rims, 4-speed auto, dual front, side and curtain airbags, HID headlamps, leather, fogs, sunroof, cruise control with audio controls on steering, ABS/EBD/VDC, S-AWD, roof rack, spoiler, dual split exhaust etc.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » June 16th, 2008, 11:15 pm

IMHO........ :faint:

1. Subaru Forester 2.5L Turbo :onfire: (finally its a true SUV, no longer a sport wagon)
2. Mazda CX-7 2.3L Turbo
3. Honda CRV 2.4L
4. Hyundai Santa Fe 2.2L
5. Chevrolet Captiva 2.4L

Postby Gem_in_i » June 17th, 2008, 9:59 am

DW wrote:I am not too familiar with Penal, is this place on the main road, do you know the name of the shop ?

It is on the main rd. The SS erin main rd.
I don't know the name of the place but its on left side when heading to Penal.
After you pass Lall's(left side of rd) and MS supermarket(right side of rd) and the bridge, then another supermarket GnN( leftside of rd) and Trinshine hardware( right side of rd) you come to this place.
So its not to far after you pass the bridge.

Postby Gem_in_i » June 17th, 2008, 10:01 am

LOL. Oh gosh look how I does give directions.
I haven't checked the place out yet but I was told they have accessories.

Postby Gem_in_i » June 17th, 2008, 10:56 am

Anyone who dealt with N&M, did an Insurance broker get in touch with you and found you best rates for Insurance?
And I was told this is a free service.

SS007

Postby SS007 » June 17th, 2008, 3:50 pm

Colfire gave me a quote for $5,400 that is for the vehicle valued at 198,000
they have discounts for baby on board, if you have an annuity with Clico, distance from work, if you play with a republic C.card etc etc ..... Check them out.

Postby Gem_in_i » June 17th, 2008, 4:37 pm

The broker doing the checking for me and I must say I getting quotes of $4000+ difference from wht I was going pay. If tht so so am very happy.
I need to get a no claim letter from old insurance though and tht not so easy. Is from tht bankrupt insurance company. Stupes!

So nobody knows if they drive down vehicles from Morvant? Why don't they use those big trucks anymore?

Wht was the price of the Tucson couple years ago? Was there significant price increase?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » June 17th, 2008, 5:23 pm

SS007 wrote:Colfire gave me a quote for $5,400 that is for the vehicle valued at 198,000
they have discounts for baby on board, if you have an annuity with Clico, distance from work, if you play with a republic C.card etc etc ..... Check them out.

:shock: :shock: Take that and run. Make sure you get waiver of excess added for a few more dollars.

Postby Gem_in_i » June 17th, 2008, 5:35 pm

I got a quote of $5900 but I need tht no claim letter.

If you member of Eastern Credit Union you get 15% discount from one of the Insurance companies to.

DW

Postby DW » June 17th, 2008, 6:21 pm

Unfortunately, I did not have any "no claim" to apply when I purchased the van, darn I should have insisted my name put on the insurance all those years.

I ended up with Colfire, their figures were lowest of all the companies..unfortunately the premiums since I am now building the "no claim" is like a car downpayment itself :cry:

Thanks for the directions Gem_in_i , I will make a pass and check that place soon

Postby Gem_in_i » June 17th, 2008, 6:31 pm

No problem DW :) Tell us prices when you do check them.

My first insurance premium was $17K+
I was under 21, first time car owner, first time driver and had licence less than 2yrs. No insurance wanted to take me becos they said they considered me a liability.
I eventually got one company to take me and the rest is history.

SS007

Postby SS007 » June 18th, 2008, 8:15 am

Gem_in_i wrote:
DW wrote:I am not too familiar with Penal, is this place on the main road, do you know the name of the shop ?

It is on the main rd. The SS erin main rd.
I don't know the name of the place but its on left side when heading to Penal.
After you pass Lall's(left side of rd) and MS supermarket(right side of rd) and the bridge, then another supermarket GnN( leftside of rd) and Trinshine hardware( right side of rd) you come to this place.
So its not to far after you pass the bridge.

All this dread and yuh still ent tell we the name of the shop.........

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » June 18th, 2008, 9:14 am

Maritime rates are not as cheap as Colfire's but when it comes to a claim.........they are fully accountable when it comes to figures and they pay quick especially when yuh business in order. They can settle an insured's claim in less than a week to 1-2 days...they give discounts besides no claim, for being a member of the T&TAA, TTARP, TCM, Anti-theft/immobiliser (3 point) and ofcourse if you already have an existing life/medical/pension policy with them. The latter is 15% and the anti-theft is 10% and T&TAA is 10% thats all I know of. They quote my Uncle $6700. for a $182k Tucson.

Postby Gem_in_i » June 18th, 2008, 1:53 pm

How do you go abt joining the automobile association? And anything else tht wud get me a discount.

I am unable to get my no claim letter since the ******* company went into liquidation last year May. So now no No claim discount for me.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » June 18th, 2008, 5:55 pm

^^That sucks, sorry to hear that. Not sure about TTAA rates, give them a call:

Trinidad and Tobago Automobile Association
41 Woodford Street
Port of Spain
Trinidad, West Indies
Tel. (868) 622-7194 or (868) 628-9047
Opening hours: 7:30 am to 2:45 pm, Monday to Friday, except public holidays

x2floor, have provided a very good list to help reduce your premium.

Research carefully cuz in addition to the list x2floor mentioned, many insurance companies have addtional benefits, so a broker is the best way to go rather than direct. Remember to ask about 'waiver of excess'. It's worth it.

If you're buying the Tucson from GFC (N&M finance), they propose Guardian General insurance. Financing with GFC is a lot less headache than a bank.

Postby Gem_in_i » June 18th, 2008, 6:15 pm

Thanks norstar2k I would look into it. I got a broker thru NnM so he should be able to guide me best.
I would speak to him on Friday and sort thru all this since am hoping to get my vehicle by next week or month end by latest.

Wht # they reach for registration? I think I saw 4700+ ytday.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » June 19th, 2008, 11:53 am

just be careful about COLFIRE's cheapish rates because their Excess is very high across the board. You feel the bite only if you have a claim with COLFIRE.....and their settlement figures just doh add up IMO.

Goodwill and Citizen Insurance still issued No Claim Discount Letters through their liquidator, Mr. Hackett however I don't know if that is still being done today. Most clients from those 2 companies seeked insurance from Motor One, Motor & General, GTM, Great Northern, Bankers, Gulf, Presidential and Capital. Some actually came across to Maritime, Algico, Sagicor, Colfire, Guardian General and Beacon!

If you're buying the Tucson from GFC (N&M finance), they propose Guardian General insurance. Financing with GFC is a lot less headache than a bank.

very true...same thing when buying a VW, BMW, Audi, Mazda, Kia, Isuzu & Mini from Southern Sales Group....their finance company CFC is less stress than any bank. Even Fidelity Finance & Leasing Co. Ltd. of Maritime......less stress than a bank. Don't forget ANSA Finance too. Scotia of all the banks have bess rates though :mrgreen:

Postby Gem_in_i » June 19th, 2008, 12:20 pm

I went to Citizen in Sando ytday and the lady there told me that I can't get any no claim letter. And I been with them 7yrs. She said as of May last year they went into liquidation.
I had gone with Presidential after last year. But they quoting me $10952 for this vehicle.
Last edited by Gem_in_i on June 19th, 2008, 12:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » June 19th, 2008, 12:26 pm

x2floor wrote:Don't forget ANSA Finance too. Scotia of all the banks have bess rates though :mrgreen:

The only issue with ANSA is they like to push their lineup of vehicles - Honda, Mitsubushi, FORD, Land Rover, etc. A friend tried to buy a SGV from them and it was endless headache as they tried to force the CRV and Triton on her. I guess that's to be expected from any auto/finance company.

Damn right on Scotia, hassle free! The yfinance for a few of the car companies including Lifestyle, with onsite banking and pre-approval. You get a MasterCard credit card included too.

Return to “HYUNDAI”