COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Novel Coronavirus - Wuhan, China strain

Postby paid_influencer » February 8th, 2020, 6:01 pm

Redman wrote:And the recoveries passed 2300
Still no cases in South America,Central America ...and Africa.

Despite there being a decent amount of traffic between those spots and China.

that is worrying AF. it means there could be early stages of an outbreak, but the carriers have not been detected or quarantined.

Postby Gladiator » February 8th, 2020, 9:46 pm

87 People died today.... total death toll 813

37552 Confirmed Cases

The virus is one concern, but has anyone in Govt even addressed the supply chain problem we will soon be in if China cannot manufacture. Almost everything we consume and use is made in China. In fact the same goes for the rest of the world. This virus can impact us before it even reach.

Postby MaxPower » February 8th, 2020, 9:57 pm

gastly369 wrote:Backwards tribal Island

Hahaha

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » February 8th, 2020, 10:17 pm

Don't worry, everything that we using for carnival (costume, feathers, promotional material) none came from China. If the ppl don't have it is small thing.......virus cya spread in fake feathers or anything that is manufactured from China

Gladiator wrote:87 People died today.... total death toll 813

37552 Confirmed Cases

The virus is one concern, but has anyone in Govt even addressed the supply chain problem we will soon be in if China cannot manufacture. Almost everything we consume and use is made in China. In fact the same goes for the rest of the world. This virus can impact us before it even reach.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » February 8th, 2020, 10:56 pm

mamoo_pagal wrote:Don't worry, everything that we using for carnival (costume, feathers, promotional material) none came from China. If the ppl don't have it is small thing.......virus cya spread in fake feathers or anything that is manufactured from China

37552 Confirmed Cases

Uhm, what makes you think China shutting down supply chains? Trust me, while things are bad and a bit chaotic in China, they know they can't let this destroy their economy.

The virus is bad, it isn't apocalyptic bad. Also, most costumes already in-country or at least in shipment. China will survive this. Not downplaying it just adding some semblance of realism to you conspiracy theorists and alarmists.

Postby Gladiator » February 8th, 2020, 11:11 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
mamoo_pagal wrote:Don't worry, everything that we using for carnival (costume, feathers, promotional material) none came from China. If the ppl don't have it is small thing.......virus cya spread in fake feathers or anything that is manufactured from China

37552 Confirmed Cases

Uhm, what makes you think China shutting down supply chains? Trust me, while things are bad and a bit chaotic in China, they know they can't let this destroy their economy.

The virus is bad, it isn't apocalyptic bad. Also, most costumes already in-country or at least in shipment. China will survive this. Not downplaying it just adding some semblance of realism to you conspiracy theorists and alarmists.

Not Carnival I talking about you dimwit..... food, clothes, pharmaceuticals, car parts, hardware etc...

If the virus continues at this rate of infection then forced quarantine would be the only method of controlling it. How would they go to work? who would drive the trucks and run the factories???

Or are we so one track thinkers that we can't process beyond the virus reaching and Carnival.... this small island $hit hole yes!!!!

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » February 8th, 2020, 11:31 pm

Sigh..... simple minded ppl claiming to be big minded. How many products ship from China that increases the risk of the virus spreading? I guess that's thinking apocalyptic and irrational. Buh doh worry nothing go stop fete, that's all piggy for brains ppl studying........it will be interesting if someone could update the number of deaths we had last year for the H1N1 and Trinidad's real capacity to deal with any health crisis. Be honest your entire argument is because you want to enjoy Carnival..... purely selfish
Dohplaydat wrote:

37552 Confirmed Cases

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » February 8th, 2020, 11:34 pm

Guess you too smart to sense a lil sarcasm.......TT mentality can't see after the next rum and roti event. We can turn a blind eye cause is carnival, is we ting. Let's not look at the bigger picture.......
Gladiator wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

37552 Confirmed Cases

Not Carnival I talking about you dimwit..... food, clothes, pharmaceuticals, car parts, hardware etc...

If the virus continues at this rate of infection then forced quarantine would be the only method of controlling it. How would they go to work? who would drive the trucks and run the factories???

Or are we so one track thinkers that we can't process beyond the virus reaching and Carnival.... this small island $hit hole yes!!!!

Postby Gladiator » February 8th, 2020, 11:38 pm

Nah I got your sarcastic tone.... my comments was not for you but for the idiot who cannot think beyond Carnival since he done buy ticket and cyar wait to skin out he bam bam.

mamoo_pagal wrote:Guess you too smart to sense a lil sarcasm.......TT mentality can't see after the next rum and roti event. We can turn a blind eye cause is carnival, is we ting. Let's not look at the bigger picture.......
Gladiator wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

37552 Confirmed Cases

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » February 8th, 2020, 11:47 pm

Lol.......it's sad where Trinidad has reached where a wine and fete takes precedence. But, that's why we have ashes. A quick fix for everything! Stupidsticious mentality......when would ppl attempt to ever rise above their animalistic nature and strive for better, make an attempt to make a simple sacrifice, as a precaution. Say what......life goes on
Gladiator wrote:Nah I got your sarcastic tone.... my comments was not for you but for the idiot who cannot think beyond Carnival since he done buy ticket and cyar wait to skin out he bam bam.

mamoo_pagal wrote:Guess you too smart to sense a lil sarcasm.......TT mentality can't see after the next rum and roti event. We can turn a blind eye cause is carnival, is we ting. Let's not look at the bigger picture.......
Gladiator wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

37552 Confirmed Cases

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » February 8th, 2020, 11:51 pm

Wait for the virus +2

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » February 9th, 2020, 12:15 am

Are you guys drunk?

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » February 9th, 2020, 12:16 am

I guess that's intelligent as you get......
Carry on shelock
Dohplaydat wrote:Are you guys drunk?

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » February 9th, 2020, 5:27 am

god is a trini we aint go get that here. party on b1tches.

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » February 9th, 2020, 7:03 am

BBC News - Coronavirus: Newborn becomes youngest person diagnosed with virus
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-china-51395655

Postby aaron17 » February 9th, 2020, 8:08 am

daring dragoon wrote:god is a trini we aint go get that here. party on b1tches.
We shall see.

Postby MaxPower » February 9th, 2020, 10:00 am

God aint no Trini at all.

Allyuh just lucky.

Postby paid_influencer » February 9th, 2020, 4:56 pm

Postby pugboy » February 9th, 2020, 7:43 pm

gone from 800 to 900+ dead now in a day

Postby Dizzy28 » February 9th, 2020, 8:52 pm

Ship banned from coming in tomorrow

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/tt-bloc ... g.facebook
killercow wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:That's the MSC Preziosa. Its on a Southern Caribbean circuit originating from Martinique. MSC cruises primarily serve Europeans from France, Germany and Netherlands. Its previous port of call was St Georges, Grenada.

And on Monday we have the Caribbean Princess arriving from Miami also dropping 1000s of passengers into POS.

FrankChag wrote:Apparently, this ship just dropped tourists in POS
Happened to be in POS and walking by a few of them this morning
Are these ppl being guaranteed?

some FB person said it was 1000's passengers.. unconfirmed.

Now here's something interesting to note. The infected boat mentioned in the vid below (the Diamond Princess)
hydroep wrote:

is actually a sister ship of the Caribbean Princess (both of which are under the Princess Cruise Line). The Caribbean Princess is arriving bright and early Monday morning btw.

paid_influencer wrote:think of a cruise ship as a big soup where people and viruses mix around in

And to add to this. That same Caribbean Princess is also coming back bright and early again on Carnival Monday. And even bigger potential soup!

Postby paid_influencer » February 9th, 2020, 8:54 pm

on the plus side, cruise ship tickets should be really cheap later this year :drinking:

killercow

Postby killercow » February 9th, 2020, 9:04 pm

paid_influencer wrote:on the plus side, cruise ship tickets should be really cheap later this year :drinking:
Cruise Liner stocks have already started to plummet.

Postby paid_influencer » February 9th, 2020, 9:16 pm

I give the ministry credit. Many of the smaller islands have denied docking to cruise ships since last week. The fear is if even one case gets confirmed, the tourism industry on the island will be decimated.

Better to be safe than sorry, imo.

Postby shogun » February 9th, 2020, 11:47 pm

Chinese government needs to finally address those markets that have all these animals (exotic and not) in such close quarters with humans and other animals. Virus cocktail factory.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » February 10th, 2020, 1:38 am

Published: February 9, 2020 3:54 PM UTC
Billionaire Whistleblower: Wuhan Coronavirus Death Toll Is Over 50,000

The official coronavirus death toll in China is a little over 800. But an exiled Chinese businessman says crematoriums are leaking the real figure.
A billionaire whistleblower alleges Wuhan has crematoriums working 24/7. He claims they’ve cremated some 50,000 coronavirus victims.

Guo Wengui is a Chinese billionaire living in exile in the United States.
The official coronavirus death toll is some 800 people in China. The current official death toll worldwide, outside of China, is 774. But a Chinese billionaire with a history of blowing the whistle on his former government says the real figure is much higher.

Exiled Chinese businessman Guo Wengui recently revealed leaks from Wuhan crematoriums. He claims based on the number of bodies their furnaces are burning, the death toll could be as high as 50,000. Wengui made the bombshell allegations in an interview with former White House chief strategist Steve Bannon.

https://www.ccn.com/billionaire-whistle ... ver-50000/

https://twitter.com/TScelzo/status/1226246680435097601

screwbash

Postby screwbash » February 10th, 2020, 4:40 am

Miktay wrote:
Published: February 9, 2020 3:54 PM UTC
Billionaire Whistleblower: Wuhan Coronavirus Death Toll Is Over 50,000

The official coronavirus death toll in China is a little over 800. But an exiled Chinese businessman says crematoriums are leaking the real figure.
A billionaire whistleblower alleges Wuhan has crematoriums working 24/7. He claims they’ve cremated some 50,000 coronavirus victims.

Guo Wengui is a Chinese billionaire living in exile in the United States.
The official coronavirus death toll is some 800 people in China. The current official death toll worldwide, outside of China, is 774. But a Chinese billionaire with a history of blowing the whistle on his former government says the real figure is much higher.

Exiled Chinese businessman Guo Wengui recently revealed leaks from Wuhan crematoriums. He claims based on the number of bodies their furnaces are burning, the death toll could be as high as 50,000. Wengui made the bombshell allegations in an interview with former White House chief strategist Steve Bannon.

https://www.ccn.com/billionaire-whistle ... ver-50000/

https://twitter.com/TScelzo/status/1226246680435097601[/qu

cud be true. a this is part of "the man's " plan. first scare the world and then say it getting better to drop we guard. first was bat den was some tatto looking animal. remember when "the man" take out a south amerikan leader and trow an entire county into sheit creek and half of them citizens here in TT.. recently "the man" threatened china an impose sanctions and all sort of wickedness even attacking other countries that use chinese products and not "the man" brand for telecom den boom sickness in the people country, trade disrupted, every country in the world ban dem, so jus now we go stop driving nissan and toyota and start driving ford and chevy.

Postby MaxPower » February 10th, 2020, 6:11 am

Lmao @ Trinidad “banning” anyone.

piss poor pathetic border protection.

Postby Gladiator » February 10th, 2020, 6:23 am

Some researcher released a white paper saying that this virus can live on a surface for up to 9 days. How is that even possible... That's why the videos of the Chinese fumigating everything make sense.

More and more I believe the Russians are correct and this is a man-made virus and not no freak of nature bat/snake market virus

I mean if the Chinese forcing quarantine and taking full control how the hell 2500+ still getting it everyday?

Miktay

Postby Miktay » February 10th, 2020, 6:54 am

Gladiator wrote:Some researcher released a white paper saying that this virus can live on a surface for up to 9 days. How is that even possible... That's why the videos of the Chinese fumigating everything make sense.

More and more I believe the Russians are correct and this is a man-made virus and not no freak of nature bat/snake market virus

I mean if the Chinese forcing quarantine and taking full control how the hell 2500+ still getting it everyday?

The largest annual human migration iz due to Chinese New Year. It was reported that 5 million people left Wuhan to return to their native villages to celebrate the New Year before the city was sealed off on Jan 23

Officially therere are 7 cities and 23 million ppl currently under quarantine in China. But the Telegraph reports that it iz effectively 400 million.

Let’s hope that famous last words wont apply here: too little...too late...

Postby pugboy » February 10th, 2020, 8:01 am

so what going to happen when the millions of folks who went home for chinese new year head back to their work places?